We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Med Opio Provence
Nearby Hotels
Chateau de la Begude(Opio)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (2,318)
Filter reviews
2,319 results
Traveller rating
763
860
407
190
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
763
860
407
190
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini clubenglish speakerszen poolkids clubfamily holidayfamily poolplay tennischef du villageadult poolhiring a cargreat holidaygolf lessonscrazy signsbeautiful fireworksevening activitieshole golf coursedu loup
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 2,319 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We just came back from a week with our baby in Opio. Here is our honest opinion:

Positive:
- Our little one was entirely happy. He loved the attention, the pool. We kept his schedule for nap times and food and he was very, very content.
- In the end we figured out a food planning and the kitchen prepared all his purees (fresh instead of the jarred ones - Blédina)
- we had quite a lot of happy memorable moments as it should be on a first holiday with our 10 month old.
- restaurant du Golf - our only enjoyable meals
- at reception Stéphanie and Alp are so nice and helpful
- transfer from airport was impeccable

Negatives:
- chef de village Vincenzo absolutely disappointing - quite old, never to be seen, never greets and did not make a positive impression. For a week he hasn't said hi to us once which for clubmed standards is just unheard of. He is also not running a tight ship, nor is he creating 'ambiance'. He is not well travelled and has stayed with Clubmed a looooong long while but always in Villar in France with slight exceptions.
- dirty - rooms are really dirty - dust in the bathroom, floors are not swept (or not properly), spider webs everywhere in the village, leaves, extremely dirty curtains with mosquitos smeared all over. Monday morning you will find glasses and plates from the evening before everywhere in the village if you are an early bird. Cigarette buds everywhere on the floors (seminar people invade the premises in herds and there is a cloud of smoke surrounding them) - we get it, a cigarette break, but it does not go well together with the 100+ children below 3 years old in the village.
- extremely stressful meals and disappointing food- restaurant is crowded and buzzing. There are queues for everything else than pasta and pizza and it takes ages to get food. Don't expect ripe fruit, nor fresh vegetables - you are going to be served the same food every day with slight changes like roast chicken recycled into chicken curry. Desserts are below average for France.
- staff's attitude - talking back at customers is obviously not considered rude here. Lots of confused people forgetting that they are there to provide a service with a smile, not to give attitude. Worst are restaurant waiters.
- saving money - the wrong way: Saturday and Sunday all baby food jars are taken away from the biberonnerie and sometimes even the restaurants because guests might take them while leaving. This is scandalous! Baby food should be available at all times. Another way of avoiding theft is the card against towel system. What a ridiculous thing! No bottled water at the pool - for supposedly ecological reasons.
- Pseudo ecological - you can find no water for the pool but you get plastic plates instead of bamboo for instance
- mosquitos - extreme. A lot of mosquitos and no solution provided again for pseudo ecological reasons - there are so many things one can do. It is more than annoying to come back from holidays with over 50 mosquito bites and swollen legs (from the bites). The sight of children with huge red pimples from the mosquitos on their faces is also not acceptable. Our baby was not bit - otherwise I would have gotten ballistic.
- rooms - dark, dated, with so many fixings needed - doors squelching (when you have rooms communicante this is just awful, moisture on the ceiling. You see that too little goes into renovating and upgrading. The furniture is way too big for the small rooms and there is basically no space around the bed.

All in all we were OK for the week and had a good time despite all of the above but we are just shocked to find this level of mis-management and money saving. A shame! This club does not do Club Med justice. This is our second Club Med. Our first was also 4 Trident but the difference is drastic...not in favour of Opio.

I would never pay the price again for this not worthy of 4 Trident village.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SwissFamilyWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The vacation was very good, The stuff was very helpful and welcoming. The rooms were nice (especially for Club Med) but the house keeping quite lousy. All in all it was a very good experience, yet expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afridenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is my third or fourth trip back here in Opio. If you´re looking for the Club Med experience in the south of France, then this is what´s on offer. The rooms have been upgraded (now a 4 trident Club), and I can confirm that they are a definite improvement on previous occasions, with an upgraded (if small) bathroom and lots of storage space.

Make no mistake, this is a Club for children, so expect a lot of noise in the restaurants and around the main pool. But they´ve made the effort to construct an adults-only pool away from the centre, in the middle of an olive orchard, closer to the golf course. There´s also a second restaurant (small) in the area, if you want a quieter evening. Otherwise, it is a typical Club village with all that you may love or loath.

The real interest in this village is it´s proximity to towns like Grasse, St Paul or Vence, which are required viewing. So hire a car. Then for the more mondain there are Antibes, Nice and Cannes, if you fancy that. Definitely not a village for simply sitting around the pool, unless you family responsibilities require it. But that´s what the mini-club is for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SwissFrenchBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I thought that the mini-club was great and the GO, Céline, is very good with kids and she is very serious with her jobs and is a hard worker. She was probably my favorite GO.

Le mini-club était GENIALE et la GO, Céline, est très bonne avec les enfants et elle est très bien avec ses emplois et est un travailleur acharné. Elle était probablement ma préférée GO.

Smilla <3

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was the 4th trip to a Club Med for our family so we generally knew the Club Med drill and Opio did not disappoint. We were there the second week of July 2013 and on property for Bastille Day which was really a well timed visit. I would generally agree with many of the comments below - do NOT come here for a deluxe visit with big fancy rooms - the rooms are OK but we did not mind as we only slept there mainly. You come here to just relax and not have to worry about paying for anything unless you want to take some trips or upgrade your wines at night We have a family of 5 - two 6yr old boys and one 9yr old. We were the only americans on property for the visit while most of the people we met were from France, Belgium or Holland and a few from the UK. That said we had no prob communicating in my broken french and our use of english. Guests we found delightful and the staff very helpful and accommodating. Unlike the Club Meds we visited in Mexico and Dominican Republic, this Club Med IS a place you want to do a lot of off property excursions as you are in an amazing place. We had a GREAT afternoon taking their open air buggies with a guide to visit a town on a cliff (Gordon is gorgeous) and to take in some amazing local waterfalls. The kids are still raving about the trip complete with winding roads, cute villages and many stops to explore. We had a day on the beach in Cannes and a dinner in close by Valbonne village where the Tour de France passed through only days before our arrival. The area is just lovely. The kids liked the club overall and the free fanta but did not really want to go to the kids club during the day as they were in the minority as english speakers (this was a bummer but not totally unexpected as they did not like the club in Punt Cana where most spoke french too). I played a ton of tennis and there were many good players at the club (4.0+). I hit with some men who used to play in Euro Universities and some women vacationing who were ranked when they were younger. There were always courts available - they have about 15 of them and 13 of them are painted red carpets with sand that play sort of like clay and hard court combined. You slide a bit and the points are a little longer than hard court. I found most of the courts in great shape and the tennis staff - especially Cris and Mattieu awesome. Those guys are funny and always helpful with your kids or in finding you some good competition to play with.
Cris is French but played for U Texas and is very cool. Almost every day there is some kind of match tournament and every morning the advanced drills were good. What I recommend if you are a good tennis player is go to the early advanced class on your first day (9:15)- meet some other good players, and then set up matches with them through the week.
Food was very good and every night they rotate the menu. One night they served lobster and they had a huge pile of live lobsters for the kids to see which was just wild.
As Club Meds go this was a great one in an awesome location and the tennis facilities are WAY better than the other two clubs I have visited. Food was very good but the wine was way over priced if you buy your own vs drink free house wine (no surprise that they mark up). We wished we'd had more time for more excursions to other villages and the kids loved the pools and the chocolate croissants and the shows every evening. I am very comfortable with the French and used to communicating in French, but I could see that if you were not you might not like this place. We did not mind being the only americans - I think our kids would have like to have more english speakers - but we did not go to France to see more americans. - :-) If you like to dance and have a sense of humor Mussa is the guy you need to find as is Cedric - they both are hilarious and are always in great humor with you and your kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews