We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Club Med, Love France, Like Opio” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Med Opio Provence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Opio Provence
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Opio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love Club Med, Love France, Like Opio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

We love Club Med. We love France. We liked Opio, but didn't love it - not sure why. I'll do bad points first:
The layout is not good. Its built on a hillside, its spread over a wide area with steps everywhere. The main restaurant is on the 3rd floor, the childrens one is on the ground. Most parents with young children just use the main restaurant. Dinner time is a chorus of screaming from toddlers too tired to eat and too hungry to sleep, so we tended not to linger. Breakfast was only available at the main restaurant, which was a long walk and 90 steps up from our room, it was then back down 90 steps and a walk to the older children's mini-club. Any one with younger children then faced a long walk and climb to the other side of the club. Forget cycling about, too many steps and it costs over 30 euros day to rent a bike! Tennis and archery are down a slope that would make Andy Schleck wince. No problem if you've booked a court, but you don't pop down on the off chance. Transit facilities are the worst of any club med I have ever stayed at. One tiny room with a shower, with spa users continuously in and out. The conference centre has 31 meeting rooms, 100 people suddenly arriving in the bar mid afternoon dressed in business suits creates a strange atmosphere as well as a long queue for drinks. As does people sitting round the pool with a diary yelling into their phones, obviously trying to make appointments.
The good points:
Very modern, bedroom are spacious, very well equiped and very comfortable. Its like a very good quality business hotel. It is worth paying extra for a balcony, as otherwise it doesn't feel like a holiday hotel.
Very clean, I have mild OCD and I felt very relaxed.
Excellent pools, and golf facilities.
Fantastic range of mini club activities including tennis,circus,golf and archery.
Food in the restaurant was outstanding even by Club Med's high standards.
The circus school facilities and staff are amazing. My shy,timid 7 year old learnt to swing onto a trapeze and dangle by her knees shouting "I love the circus". I didn't even think she would climb the ladder - I certainly wouldn't.
Les spectacles are much slicker and more professional then most camps, courtsey of the circus team- who showcase their skills.
Usual outstanding service from GO's (club med staff), you always feel looked after,which I think gets taken for granted.
Quite a few staff speak English, camp chief doesn't. Language no problems, it tended to be the Italians shouting "English please" as they seem to speak no french.
Its well-positioned for visits to coast and surrounding area.
We has a very good 10 days, but if I was returning in the summer to France Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique ticks all my boxes, except circus. I would return to Opio for a half term break though.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Surreymum_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    661
    296
    145
    80
See reviews for
909
323
73
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Having read some of the reviews on Trip Advisor about CM in Opio we (two adults and three kids – 6, 9 and 13) set off to Provence in some fear and trepidation. By the end of our week we were CM fans (with a few caveats). This review picks up on and responds to some of the criticisms voiced on Trip Advisor.

First, we were impressed with the CM ‘machine’ which in our experience was extremely efficient from a charming and fast pick up at the airport to the check out procedure. Staff were almost without exception delightful and helpful and especially lovely to the kids. The location is stunning and it's an easy ride from Nice airport. It’s a French resort in France so expect to speak and be spoken to in French. Most of the young GOs (staff) speak some English though often it’s not fluent but there is at least one fluent English speaker somewhere if a crisis arises. If you want staff from the Home Counties then go to Mark Warner.

The rooms were excellent. Spacious enough, well thought out and much better equipped than many fancier places we have stayed in – plenty of well planned wardrobe space, excellent bedside reading lights, nicely done out decently lit bathrooms and separate loos. We had two inter-connecting rooms, a double and a twin each with a balcony (two upright reclining wooden chairs and a small table, great views) and a twin with a door that opened on to a space which wasn’t big enough to sit out on. The double felt more spacious than the twins (although it occupied the same overall footprint), especially the bathroom which was much bigger. The twin had a tight shower room with a large walk in shower and less wardrobe space but did not compromise on room around the beds. It’s possible to see why two adults staying in a twin room without a proper balcony might feel hard done by. Certainly as a family with inter-connecting rooms we did not feel cramped. No fridge in CM but air con, decent black out curtains and fresh bottled water every day.

The food was wonderful. Very fresh and inviting, it was the highlight of the holiday – even for the kids who could have (delicious wood fired oven) pizza as a starter before trying a range of other more exotic dishes. Most of all you can eat well and healthily – a salad and some poached fish or five courses, it’s entirely up to you. Presentation was excellent but CM seems to steer clear of those lavish - but not to be eaten - displays of some hotel buffets. The food was there to be enjoyed and it was often at the luxury end – foie gras, extensive shell fish etc. You can also eat your way through the day. So if you miss breakfast, by 10am you’ll find pastries, fruit and baguettes and jam by the bar and if you’re happy to forgo the pancakes or bacon and eggs of the main dining room you can make a very pleasant culinary start to the day on the terrace. Unless you want a few premium drinks all alcohol and soft drinks are included and both are extensive. (Interestingly we witnessed virtually no drunken behaviour - which we understand is not tolerated well by CM.)

Our kids had a ball in the Mini Kids Club – trapeze at the Circus School, archery, tennis, golf, swimming. The two younger ones went in the morning and did three activities. They refused to eat lunch in the Kids Club – they wanted the run of the buffet in the restaurant. The 9 year old flitted in and out of the afternoon options, the 6 year old insisted on a another hour or so of archery with us and the pool. Our teen loved CM but at the end of the season the organised activities were less successful and she never quite got into the group (it’s a bit more free and easy). However when she did hook up with the various teens around the pool one day she had a blast (until the small hours). The teen stuff is difficult to negotiate generally but if you’ve got a fairly independent, self sufficient child they can have a go at all the adult group activities, sleep, eat, drink (non alcoholic) cocktails to their hearts content and generally have a good time. A fairly young 11 year old without kids of the same age / gender might have more of an issue once the teen numbers are down. A separate room was also a real boon – the twin rooms would have been a disaster for us with a third bed squeezed in.

Adults who want to escape can do so very well. Once away from the main pool / terrace the site is positively serene. The olive groves near to the adult pool (a bit of a disappointment design wise) are a world away from the CM buzz and very beautiful. Perfect for reading or snoozing quietly but bring a drink with you as no facilities in this area.

CM is very strong on themeing – one theme each night for aperitifs on the terrace, another for the evening dress code (you really don’t have to follow it but take some black and white clothes and maybe a touch of red and you’ll have covered most bases!), a theme for dinner. It does mean that meals are far from repetitive. Some of the CM rituals like the ‘Crazy Signs’ dancing does at first seem bizarre but go with the flow. The beauty of CM is that no one forces you into anything. It’s OK just to observe. Some of the entertainment is a bit ropey but a lot of it is really quite good (the indoor circus show was amazing). When you realise that these are not ‘professional’ entertainers but the guys who have been teaching you golf, or your kids archery or serving behind the bar you cheer them on. Basically it’s not the West End or Broadway, it’s just good fun. And they really go out of their way to give you a sense of fun. We were so impressed that after the kids did a show one night (two hours rehearsal, costumes, make up, lights, special effects) they led them out with the GOs clapping them to a transformed beautifully lit terrace with balloon arches and Superman and Spiderman (costumed GOs) perched on high, exotic ‘cocktails’, sweets and a ‘champagne’ (sparkling apple juice) fountain poured especially for them. It was late enough to have sent them straight to bed after the show but this ‘surprise’ was a bit of extra magic. CM are fond of ‘surprises’!

OK, so for the caveats and advice. The big one first. We went at the tail end of the summer season (August 30th to 6th September). We rarely queued for meals but equally we rarely could come up with a lounger around the pool – especially one in the shade – after about 11am. We can therefore understand how the criticisms voiced by those going to Opio in high season might be valid. Some areas of the site and amenities do seem underpowered for the numbers. While we never experienced the buffet running out you do need to get there fairly promptly to see it in its full glory and secure the dining table you want. (Incidentally as a party of five we usually took a six seater table and were never joined by a GO or anyone else except particular friends we made.) Second, the site is hilly with lots of steps and we can understand the problems for parents of babies in buggies. If you don’t book your little kids into the clubs (and you must reserve a place in advance for the smallest – read the small print too about vaccinations and health) then your options for entertainment are limited. Yes, the water in the pools is cold! There are however lots of small people and their parents around! The boutique at Opio (unlike others elsewhere we gather) just stocks fashion items. It doesn’t stock essentials (including as we found out kids goggles). So don’t expect to be able to get toiletries etc without a trip outside the complex. Finally, our experience suggests that a Sunday to Sunday holiday is the best arrangement. Kids clubs are shut on Sundays and the climax of the week is Saturday night. (We went Monday to Monday and were fine though).

All in all, we had a great time. Don’t go expecting a five star hotel with obsequious service.That’s not what it’s about. We found more than pleasant rooms, friendly, efficient staff, fabulous food and drink presented in a way that satisfied everyone in our party and all our kids had a brilliant holiday (and therefore we did too).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank flybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

We had a terrible experience in this hotel. It was extremely overbooked, the facilities did not reflect a 5 Trident Club Med rating, and the service was awful. It took them well over an hour each time to deliver our suitcases upon arrival and pick them up from our room upon departure. Our travel companions, who were a family of four with two young children, were told they had to lug their own suitcases across the village upon check out because there was no one available to do it. There was only one main dining area (and a smaller Golf restaurant) that was always overcrowded giving one a feeling of being in an airport eatery. I was stunned when I saw a staff member combining the half empty bottles of wine behind the bar at the Golf restaurant to re-make 'full bottles' presumably for re-use! In the entire village, there was not a single computer terminal customers could use. While in one of the best countries for coffee, there was not a trace of a freshly brewed cup, all machine made. The main pool was always extremely full and to enter it one had to 'wash' ones feet by stepping into a little area filled with stagnant water that was not running so practically everyone had to 'wash' in the same water. The adults only Zen pool was small and surrounded by a glass window that took away from the beauty of the scenery. Also there was nothing available except for a water fountain to eat or drink at the Zen pool. All in all an experience that I would not want to repeat and definitely do not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank chiefmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

We spent 1 week at club med Opio.2 adults and a baby.
First the food was fantastic...seafood, foie gras, french cuisine, breakfast, Golf restaurant lunch etc...really incredible!!!!
The bar is really nice and the terrace with amazing views. We loved the views!
Very nice staff.
Baby club med: outr10month old was left for the very fist time at nursery at the baby club med and got a great experience there.The staff was friendly and professionnal and our little one had a big smile when we got him back each evening.highly recommended!!
Entertainment: the GO was very active and lots of good music

Activities: the walks were fun, we also did some golf, zen pool, ping pong and massages.

Room: small but very clean and bed was very very confortable!!!bathroom was very nice.

We explored the area.St Paul de Vence, Gourdon etc

The weaknesses of Opio:
The main pool is too small and too busy in the afternoon. The quiet pool is very good but for adults only so if you have your children with you will struggle at the main pool.Also not enough space around the pool. The pool is overall not good! they should add another pool with more seats and space or ask people to tell their kids not to be rude. Kids jumping in the pool and screaming is not great !

Discotheque: not practical for families or middle aged couples. Should do open air disco instead of indoor so that everyone can join or in the main bar.Only teenagers were enjoying the discotheque.


It was overall a very good club med and we had a good time!! Good atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elisabeth036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

We have great experience in the different Club Med visited around the world. Opio en Provence was in the expected Club Med level, however could be improved in some areas .The food was good and varied on the lunch/dinners, except for the breakfast where just a basic meal was offered (no cakes, no natural fruits, one type of cheese, etc). Room clean and practical. But the reception was disappointing. Upon arrival is not allowed to go by car until the reception which was far away from the parking. After few minutes, you start to feel lost waiting for a van ride to the reception. In the departure we expected more than 10 min alone without any GO appeared to our farewell. The pool had a rule absolutely wrong with a protection against the use outside the allowed time. It is a prison? At noon you start to watch a truly guest´s fight to guarantee chair/umbrellas against the sun. The restaurant was too hot, perhaps a fan would be welcome. The attendants were rude and do not mind making noise during meals. The shows were within the standard Club Med

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afsousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

After hearing so much about great club med vacation from others, I was very surprised by the "can't do" attitude that the staff demonstrated. We were supposed to be able to check in by 3:00. We arrived around 3:30. The desk clerk said we now could not check in until 6:00 p.m. When I asked what I should do until then, he simply shrugged. While the ground were lovely, and the food delicious, and plentiful, the hours were definitely not conducive to early risers. For an all inclusive, they should minimally have coffee available before 7:30 a.m. and the pool didn't open until 9:30 a.m.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globallyyours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

We have been to Opio Club med with our young children and were completely dissapointed.. This place is recommended one of the most children friendly places on tour operators however we found staff and people staying in the hotel very very children unfriendly.. unless you want to give your children to nursey from 8 to 8 and enjoy your holidays on your own with your partner which I dont understand. At some point we were the only family in the pool with children as everyone else have given theirs t nursery and poor children were screaming inside when we were passing by.. missing their families. I wont recommend thsi place at all. Plus it is far too expensive to what they are offering.. If you want a great resort , WITH GREAT EXPERIENCE Lykia World Oludeniz Turkey..You wil see the difference.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gezginAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opio
1.3 mi away
Chateau de la Begude
13.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
3.5 mi away
Le Mas Candille
Le Mas Candille
#1 of 13 in Mougins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Sophia Antipolis Hotel & Suites
7.0 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
14.4 mi away
Hotel La Perouse
Hotel La Perouse
#4 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Opio Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Opio Provence

Property: Club Med Opio Provence
Address: Domaine de la Tour 21 Chemin de Tourreviste, 06650 Opio, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Opio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Opio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Opio Provence 4*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the hills above Cannes, the Valbonne plateau reveals a preserved Provence, whose landscape is covered with olive groves and pine forests. The recently renovated Village offers soft coloured rooms in Provencal-style accommodation dotted around small streets and shaded squares. Opio en Provence is both family and sports-minded, with its 9-hole golf course, 3 swimming pools and tennis courts. It also places emphasis on the quest for tranquillity which can be found in the relaxing Club Med Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Opio Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Opio Hotel Opio
Club France Med
Opio Club Med
Club Med Opio Provence Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing