We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant and relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de la Begude
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Opio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I loved the rustic building and flowers. Our room was spacious and very comfortable with nice views to the golf course. We also took some nice walks in the surroundings. The downside of the location is that to go anywhere else, you'll need to drive. The roads tend to be busy, so it'll take a while if you want to visit Cannes, Nice, Antibes etc.

The even bigger downside for me (being a vegetarian) was the restaurant. My husband very much enjoyed his dinner but the main course of my ad hoc vegetarian 3-course menu was an omelette with tomatoes and onions! We've travelled a lot in France and normally they'll come up with some creative and delicious options for vegetarians - but not here. The omelette felt almost like an insult and they still charged us nearly the same price for both menus. But that's the only real complaint - I'd go back any time but not to the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KatiCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2011

A short drive from the centre of Nice in a lovely location on the Opio-Valbonne golf course. Our ground floor suite was very well appointed and overlooked the 10th tee and fairway. Meals are taken in the club house and we considered the half board and golf package to be good value. All the staff we met - front desk, restaurant and pro-shop - were most helpful. The golf course is a good test and in nice condition with some very interesting holes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My partner and I went to Hotel de La Begude, Opio to attend a friend's wedding. Thankfully, we only stayed there one night!

AIR CONDITIONING NOT WORKING
First impressions: the reception was hard to find as it was not indicated and when arriving in our room we soon realised that the air conditioning unit was not working. Not a complete surprise, as the AC unit looked old, stained and poorly maintained.

POOR VALUE - OUR ROOM DESERVED 3 STARS MAX - Don't be misled by their website's pics!
The room itself was OK but would have been what one may expect from a 3 star hotel in the South of France, not a hotel selling itself as a high end 4 star luxury French riviera Chateau. We then proceeded to attend our friend's wedding reception taking place in the Chateau de la Begude.

HALF OF THE HOTEL HEAVILY EXPOSED TO NOISE FROM WEDDING AREA
The wedding venue itself was OK, although it really didn't feel like a luxury venue (similar to Ibis hotel dining halls). The food prepared by the Hotel's chef was way below what you'll get served at any average French bistro/cafe. One of the main wings of the hotel was just 10 meters away from the wedding reception area, meaning that hotel customers located in that wing could hear the loud music being played and the noise coming from the wedding all night long... We saw customers from that wing complaining and saw their bedroom light on for as long as we stayed there.

FIRE ALARM TRIGGERED 3 TIMES BETWEEN 1 AND 4AM...
Fortunately our room was in the other wing of the hotel. Having dined and danced, we got back to our room in the early hours of the morning hoping we would be able to get some rest. After 15 minutes in bed, the fire alarm went off for about 20 minutes... and then stopped. We tried to get back to sleep, despite the suffocating heat. About an hour later (around 2.30am), the fire alarm went off again. And again around 3-4am for an extended period of time. My girlfriend finally went to reception to try and get someone to fix this. There she found 3 fellow hotel customers also wondering was going on. Receptionist looked confused and said someone would be looking into it...

€239.52 FOR A SLEEPLESS NIGHT
After one long sleepless night, we got up to have breakfast. Breakfast was a buffet mainly made of very old and dry croissants. Service was OK. We then checked out and were not even offered a discount to compensate for our sleepless night. We were charged €239.52 for that one terrible night! A complete disgrace...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Greg418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Golfers have above average spending power and are more discerning about their food, and this is borne out by the food and wine, which are served either on the terrasse or interior. The service is friendly and efficient and the prices reasonable. The white house wine - Gordonne - at €25 was well chosen and excellent value.

My wife had the hamburger with fries at €18 and two people could have shared it, whilst I had the Lamb Ribs (3) with Courgettes and Fries €20. Service is on proper linen.

The best part is yet to come, there is a self service dessert buffet with and excellent selection of rasberry, strawberry, blackberry tartlets, creme brulee and chocolate mousse. There appears to be no restriction on what you can eat, so puddy lovers get down there fast..

My bill for 2 came to €67.40 including €4.40 for San Pellegrino. Now that's value in the South of France.

There's plenty of free parking

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank gubgub40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

The hotel is old but modernized to today's standard. We stayed in a suite on the fourth floor of the building, the only flaw in this hotel is that there is no elevator so bringing luggages can be a problem, and for disabled person, the rooms on higher floors are not advisable.
The hotel is really charming, airy and the rooms are very spacious and cozy.
We planned to stay in this hotel for three nights originally, but extended to another 3 nights because the place is quiet and relaxing, the staffs are extremely friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant is superb even if they are a bit pricey. We love the golf course which is adjacent to the hotel! If you love the Provence lifestyle, this is the hotel for you! We will be back again for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maximilliane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2008

I stayed in the Le Château de la Bégude during a business trip to Cannes. The Chateau is set in traditional buildings in a rustic, but elegant, style. The location is absolutely fantastic with high hills and dense forests – the air was fresh and crispy. The rooms are ample and comfortable, with a nice view. We had dinner in the restaurant, which serves very creative and original dishes. The ambiance was great, it was really nice to sip some Veuve Clicquot in the tables outside the restaurant before going in for dinner. Service was very good, and in my view the prices were appropriate, although it is not a place to go on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MHSV_MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank JohnMcArthur06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opio
2 mi away
La Bastide de Valbonne
La Bastide de Valbonne
#2 of 10 in Valbonne
234 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel du Clos
Hotel du Clos
#1 of 1 in Le Rouret
149 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel de Mougins
Hotel de Mougins
#4 of 14 in Mougins
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Le Mas Candille
Le Mas Candille
#1 of 14 in Mougins
996 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seventeen Hotel
Seventeen Hotel
#6 of 10 in Valbonne
66 reviews
1.1 mi away
Les Armoiries
Les Armoiries
#7 of 10 in Valbonne
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Begude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Begude

Address: Route de Roquefort-les-Pins, 06650 Opio, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Opio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Opio
Price Range: £97 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Begude 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château de la Bégude, an invitation to relax and unwind in a superb 17th century Bastide. In the heart of the Côte d'Azur, with its gentle way of life, a privileged site combining luxury and authenticity, right in the middle of Opio Valbonne golf course. The main theme throughout the 35 rooms is modern comfort combined with a classic Provence decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau de la Begude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Begude Hotel Opio
Chateau De La Begude Opio, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing