We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of The Black Dolphin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Black Dolphin
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Very relaxing property. Very close to the beach. Awesome spa bath, beautiful surrounds.
The bed was so comfy!

We stayed for 4 nights and were very relaxed, only seen the owners once! We even had a magpie sit on the lounge room balcony for a couple of hours. The view was simply lovely.

We really enjoyed our stay and would also recommend The Big Wave Cafe for breakfast/lunch and Woolamai Pizza for take away.

Thank you Nigel and Lydia!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb7108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel F, Owner at The Black Dolphin, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Many thanks Debbie, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

The place was more than what we expected. It is a great place to unwind - with 5 minute walk to the beach. The house was cozy, together with complete amenities. My family and I really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel F, Owner at The Black Dolphin, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Grace ,

Thanking you for taking the the time to give us a comment & rating.

Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Black Dolphin accommodation.

This helps our business & bookings.
Greatly appreciate this feed back .

Thanking you

Regards Nigel & Lydia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Have stayed at Nigel's accommodation twice. Find it very comfortable, quiet, fresh and every thing at hand. Made our trip to the Island classic motorcycle event very relaxed at the end of each day. Would highly recommend for groups or families.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel F, Owner at The Black Dolphin, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi,

Thanking you for taking the the time to give us a comment & rating.

Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Black Dolphin accommodation.

This helps our business & bookings.
Greatly appreciate this feed back .

Thanking you

Regards Nigel & Lydia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Our stay was wonderful the cottage was very clean and close to everything. Nigel was very helpful and only very happy to help and is very close by to accommodate your every need. I took my family there and was very happy with the outcome i recommend it very much would be happy to use the place again for my next trip up to Philip island thanks again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel F, Owner at The Black Dolphin, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi,

Thanking you for taking the the time to give us a comment & rating.

Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Black Dolphin accommodation.

This helps our business & bookings.
Greatly appreciate this feed back .

Thanking you

Regards Nigel & Lydia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

the cottage is welcoming. environmentally friendly design which lets daylight in. a good array of amenities and conveniences which made our 2 nights stay comfortable and restful.
the location is ideal, being close to the cape and also to the nearest township to philip island.
landlord Nigel is very helpful and easily contactable. thank you!

Room Tip: this cottage is away from the busy and touristy side of philip island, making it a plus for people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beyondFOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel F, Owner at The Black Dolphin, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi,

Thanking you for taking the the time to give us a comment & rating.

Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Black Dolphin accommodation.

This helps our business & bookings.
Greatly appreciate this feed back .

Thanking you

Regards Nigel & Lydia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Black Dolphin Penthouse for our anniversary and it was such a treat. A real home away from home! We had the beach at our doorstep for a refreshing morning walk and views you'll never get tired of. The Penthouse was immaculately clean and comfortable. Nigel and Lydia were so welcoming and went out of their way to meet our needs. We will definitely return. Was a lovely, romantic getaway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our stay at The Black Dolphin was wonderful. The accommodation was first class with a homely feel. Everything was in the unit that you needed and the hosts went out of their way to help. The location was premium, walking distance down to the beach and wonderful views across the water to Kilcunda. I would definitely recommend this place as a great get away for weekend and longer stays for holidays.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Woolamai
7.5 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 10 in Cowes
226 reviews
7.3 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#2 of 10 in Cowes
221 reviews
2.8 mi away
Silverwater Resort
Silverwater Resort
#1 of 3 in San Remo
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hilltop Apartments Phillip Island
1.0 mi away
BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park
6.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Dolphin

Property: The Black Dolphin
Address: 40 Seaspray Ave, Cape Woolamai, Phillip Island, Victoria 3925, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cape Woolamai
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cape Woolamai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BLACK DOLPHIN::: Accommodation provides three quality properties . All fully self contained with well equipped kitchens. Well located close to beaches and Penguins::: THE BEACH PENTHOUSE::: Panoramic Ocean Views. Peaceful location. Large living area with balcony. Relax in a beautiful double spa. Suitable for one or more couples. Has three Queen bedrooms. Safety Beach 200 metres & only a short 2 minute stroll to the waters edge. Cape Woolamai Surf beach 5 mins drive. THE WATERFRONT TOWNHOUSE::: Ocean Views. Spacious open living. Two Queen bedrooms, two bathrooms, large double spa. Balcony setting with lovely sea views. Suitable for one or two couples or a family::: THE WATERFRONT APARTMENT::: Open living at ground level. Faces north with courtyard. Sleeps 2/3. Bathroom with spa:: Just a short walk along the waters edge to the San Remo jetty, cafes, restaurants & shops::: Check our website for rates & more information:::: BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE MONEY ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your The Black Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing