We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to unwind”
Review of The Black Dolphin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Woolamai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Black Dolphin
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very relaxing place to stay at any time of the year. We LOVE the decor with the cosy wooden cabin feel to it. The kitchen is a great size and would highly recommend a gang of friends or a family staying here.
We love the views from both the bedroom and the balcony. Speaking of the balcony, I even got engaged here at the weekend and will definitley come back and celebrate an anniversary here.
The beach is a walk away which is perfect if you want to have a nice walk or picnic by the water. The spa bath is a great size for us and we are both over 6 feet tall! LOVE IT. Very private as well and great for a romantic weekend, relaxing break or.. even to get engaged :) Bernice

Room Tip: Cosy, warm, quiet and relaxing.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernice_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel F, Owner at The Black Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Bernice & Richard,
Thanking you for your kind comments about the Beach Penthouse we are so glad you enjoyed your stay again.
To get engaged was very special & we wish you best wishes & many years of happiness together.
Hope to see you again.
Kind Regards Nigel & Lydia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for The Black Dolphin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

I was pleased at the quality of the kitchen and appliances, with everything needed to wash, dry, cook etc., and a great coffee machine. The decks have lovely views over to the bridge and the location is fine for visiting the various "must sees" on the island. We felt that the furnishings were not as on the web-site and seemed a little dated: the TV old and the bed and linen needing updating. However, what shocked us were cockroaches: one in the bedroom and one crawling from the bathroom bin. This was the only time in 5 weeks of hotels, B&Bs, lodges etc that we encountered these creatures.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel F, Owner at The Black Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your comments we were concerned you saw a cockroach. We have since organized a pest control control person to make sure they are eradicated. It has been a dry summer and we do have these pests in Australia and occasionally they can get inside. Our apologies.
The TV in the lounge is a 42`` Sharp LCD flat screen which is not that old and table setting changed from 4 to a 6 setting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Very relaxing property. Very close to the beach. Awesome spa bath, beautiful surrounds.
The bed was so comfy!

We stayed for 4 nights and were very relaxed, only seen the owners once! We even had a magpie sit on the lounge room balcony for a couple of hours. The view was simply lovely.

We really enjoyed our stay and would also recommend The Big Wave Cafe for breakfast/lunch and Woolamai Pizza for take away.

Thank you Nigel and Lydia!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb7108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel F, Owner at The Black Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Many thanks Debbie, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The place was more than what we expected. It is a great place to unwind - with 5 minute walk to the beach. The house was cozy, together with complete amenities. My family and I really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel F, Owner at The Black Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hi Grace ,

Thanking you for taking the the time to give us a comment & rating.

Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Black Dolphin accommodation.

This helps our business & bookings.
Greatly appreciate this feed back .

Thanking you

Regards Nigel & Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Have stayed at Nigel's accommodation twice. Find it very comfortable, quiet, fresh and every thing at hand. Made our trip to the Island classic motorcycle event very relaxed at the end of each day. Would highly recommend for groups or families.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel F, Owner at The Black Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hi,

Thanking you for taking the the time to give us a comment & rating.

Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Black Dolphin accommodation.

This helps our business & bookings.
Greatly appreciate this feed back .

Thanking you

Regards Nigel & Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Our stay was wonderful the cottage was very clean and close to everything. Nigel was very helpful and only very happy to help and is very close by to accommodate your every need. I took my family there and was very happy with the outcome i recommend it very much would be happy to use the place again for my next trip up to Philip island thanks again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel F, Owner at The Black Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hi,

Thanking you for taking the the time to give us a comment & rating.

Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Black Dolphin accommodation.

This helps our business & bookings.
Greatly appreciate this feed back .

Thanking you

Regards Nigel & Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

the cottage is welcoming. environmentally friendly design which lets daylight in. a good array of amenities and conveniences which made our 2 nights stay comfortable and restful.
the location is ideal, being close to the cape and also to the nearest township to philip island.
landlord Nigel is very helpful and easily contactable. thank you!

Room Tip: this cottage is away from the busy and touristy side of philip island, making it a plus for people w...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beyondFOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel F, Owner at The Black Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hi,

Thanking you for taking the the time to give us a comment & rating.

Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Black Dolphin accommodation.

This helps our business & bookings.
Greatly appreciate this feed back .

Thanking you

Regards Nigel & Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Woolamai
1.4 mi away
San Remo Hotel/Motel
San Remo Hotel/Motel
#3 of 3 in San Remo
40 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island
1.0 mi away
BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Silverwater Resort
Silverwater Resort
#1 of 3 in San Remo
949 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Island Accommodation
7.4 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Dolphin

Address: 40 Seaspray Ave, Cape Woolamai, Phillip Island, Victoria 3925, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cape Woolamai
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cape Woolamai
Price Range: £124 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BLACK DOLPHIN::: Accommodation provides three quality properties . All fully self contained with well equipped kitchens. Well located close to beaches and Penguins::: THE BEACH PENTHOUSE::: Panoramic Ocean Views. Peaceful location. Large living area with balcony. Relax in a beautiful double spa. Suitable for one or more couples. Has three Queen bedrooms. Safety Beach 200 metres & only a short 2 minute stroll to the waters edge. Cape Woolamai Surf beach 5 mins drive. THE WATERFRONT TOWNHOUSE::: Ocean Views. Spacious open living. Two Queen bedrooms, two bathrooms, large double spa. Balcony setting with lovely sea views. Suitable for one or two couples or a family::: THE WATERFRONT APARTMENT::: Open living at ground level. Faces north with courtyard. Sleeps 2/3. Bathroom with spa:: Just a short walk along the waters edge to the San Remo jetty, cafes, restaurants & shops::: Check our website for rates & more information:::: BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE MONEY ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing