We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All handled with aplomb!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stower Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stower Grange
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drayton
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“All handled with aplomb!!”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

During my first stay at the Stowergrange in 2013 In addition to having a pretty full hotel for guests they also had two seperate event dinners with 50 and 18 attending respectively which they handled beautifully without affecting the normal guests. I can't imagine many hotels of their size being able to do the same.
as always my room (the wonderful Sorrell) was imacculate and the linen spotless.
The Wherry (beer) was excellent, just as Cask beer should be.
Food, both dinner and breakfast was as to be expected - exemplary!
if you're in the Norwich area look no further.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, however the Sorrell, Mint or Fennel are just something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Revbev69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    31
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
79
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterbrough, Cambs
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We fancied a couple of days in Norwich at the start of the year and found Stower Grange listed in our dog friendly book. We were told that on our first night the restaurant and bar would not be available as staff had a break after New Years Eve but this suited us fine. we received a phone call to tell us of arrangements made for our arrival as there were no other guests and we were well looked after when we checked in. our room at the front of the hotel was enormous as was the very comfortable bed. Everything was immaculate and the hotel is in a quiet area with plenty of parking. Breakfast was delicious and everything locally sourced. All the staff we met were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. After two very peaceful nights we were sad to leave but will definitely return. next time we hope to try out the evening menu too.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I arranged a stay at Stower Grange for my one year anniversary off the back of personal recommendations and we weren't disappointed. When we arrived we had a personal greeting and shown to our room which was beautiful, spacious and immaculate. Dinner was served in the dining room which had an intimate setting and the service was again personal and efficient. The food and wine was superb, one of the best meals we have had and the service added to the overall dining experience. After a delightful nights sleep we came downstairs at 9:30am. We had understood that breakfast finished at 9am and were extremely grateful when we were shown into the dining room where we ordered a bespoke breakfast, it was the icing on the cake for us and brought our stay to a wonderful conclusion.

Throughout our stay we enjoyed a welcoming, friendly and attentive atmosphere and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay from start to finish. We will definitely be returning. Many thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

We are lucky enough to go here at least once a year, if not more to dine and stay. It is a family run business, their hospitality is second to none and the food is amazing. The rooms are very comfortable and a couple have massive baths, im 6ft 5" tall so staying here is a real treat.

Then you go down for breakfast. The tea is served in proper tea pots that don't spill and so is the coffee. My cooked breakfast was made up of local produce and it was delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardSalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The theme seems to be as little food as possible for a large price. Recent experience and similar to a year ago. No green vegetables or carrot with venison….just parsnips and mash (boring), smallest coffee cups in Britain, smallest mince pies disguised as MINI petit fours, mean with butter and cream. Inexpensive touches could have made an average meal quite good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wddw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We have eaten here twice before and have been very happy with the food and service. We stayed the night and it was so comfortable and peaceful, I would highly recomend it. We had Tarragon room at the front, huge bed no bath but big shower. The only moan is that there is nowhere to put anything in the bathroom, a shelf would make all the difference. Once again really lovely food for a large party it was very well done.Breakfast was good with plenty of fresh toast and refills of coffee. Very nice place in deed

Room Tip: ask for your desires they can probably match it!!A few four posters
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_kent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed at Stower Grange recently when in Norfolk to visit our sick grandchild. The staff knew the reason for our visit and were both caring and professional. We had a beautiful, spacious room and fabulous food using obviously fresh ingredients. The grounds are peaceful and gave us a welcome space for a 'breath of fresh air'. We will be returning soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drayton
6.6 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,074 reviews
4.5 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,084 reviews
7.9 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
193 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.6 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stower Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stower Grange

Property: Stower Grange
Address: 40 School Road, Drayton, Norwich NR8 6EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stower Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former 17th-century rectory 4 miles from Norwich city centre. Ideally placed for exploring Norwich and North Norfolk. With 11 individually decorated en-suite bedrooms you will have a comfortable stay with us. Our restaurant serves lunch and dinner and the menu reflects the seasons and the food is prepared using as many local ingredients as possible. Our professional, friendly staff will look after you from the moment you step through the front door until your departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stower Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stower Grange Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing