We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Giravaru Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$2,168
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$1,509
US$1,241
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Amilla Fushi(Baa Atoll)
US$1,478
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$2,096
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$183
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dusit Thani Maldives(Baa Atoll)
US$690
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kihaa Maldives(Baa Atoll)
US$817
US$357
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Island Resort & Spa(Horubadhoo Island)
US$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Dhigufaru Island Resort(Dhigu faru Island)
US$754
US$359
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Star Tree(Dharavandhoo)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
14
19
15
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
19
15
9
7
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2009

This was our last minute honeymoon booking for a very short period - the main reason was to get away from the routine and relax for a couple of days. This was also our first resort holiday and it was a reasonably good experience.

The rooms were not as clean as one would expect and the WC stopped working on the morning of the check-out but overall it was not bad. The coffee shop and the restaurant had a good ambience.

The views are amazingly good, the beach is shallow and waves mild - good fun! The water is very clear and if you are patient you can see lovely fish swimming by. You can also catch a few baby sharks lurking near the main entrance.

The tennis court and table tennis table are not worth writing about, but who cares, this is supposed to be a island getaway and not a sports holiday - avid sports fans will be disappointed.

Excellent diving and snorkelling facilities though we didnt find enough time to make use of this. There is one spa as well.

Would I visit again??? May be...if I need a budget getaway again...

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RoboboyDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

My wife and daughter made the biggest mistake we could have we didnt book in advance as we were holidaying in Sri Lanka and took a chance to visit the Maldives on arrival we were met by a travel agent who after asking for a 4 star resort were sent to this hotel we paid a premium and booked for 6 nights I stayed only 1 night it is the worst place I have ever been to it is old run down and depressive to say the least please consider very carefully before you decide to visit this so called resort it needs knocking down and rebuilding even the manager agreed with me that this would be the best thing to do, the Island may have the Maldivian Charm but the hotel looks like a Tsunami has hit several of the hotel rooms I kid you not windows broken and the sea and sand has entered the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank CocopopsThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2008

We made a last minute (at the Male Airport) decision to stay at this hotel based on a kiosk sales rep. It was one of the cheaper island hotels. $180/pp/do + $160 boat transport (do not book hotels @ the last minute).

By regular boat (45 min.) by speadboat (18 min.). The hotel was just OK. A typical 3-star. The rooms were clean (avoid the room near the pool as music from the disco will disturb you.). There was a disco, only my husband & I were there to dance - music was old. The rooms - basic, but clean. Nice veranda with walkout to the beach. The pool was kinda small, but heated. The cocktails were worth it. The buffet dinner and breakfast was pretty good - 3-1/2 out of 5. My husband & I were there only for 2 days/1 night. We did not see any of the construction another reviewer mentioned. The island is near some kind of refinery, and you could see smoke plumming, however, the wind direction was in the opposite direction from the island. Beautiful water, excellent service.

Pros - reasonably priced for Maldives; close to Male;

Cons - The King beds are 2 twins pushed together, not very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lacalif11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2008

My name is Mourice Nissan and on april 3 till April 8 me and my wife stayed at Giravaru Island Resort.

As soon as we get there on April 3rd the hotel is not worthy to be called a "hotel". The place is facing a massive renovation starting May 1st 2008 and therefore it doesn't even present on the resorts list published by the Maldives tourism authority.

We can't understand how you booked us to such place more likely to call a dump and spoiled a dream we had for years to tour the Maldives?
You charged us for 1,600$ while this is the amount you asked 2 weeks prior to the reservation for Paradise Resort which is one of the finest and luxurious resort in the Maldives.

The food was bad and was given cheaply, all the other guests that we discussed with them were complaining about the quality and the quantity of the food.

Along the small docks there is a lot of iron and building's blocks garbage and it is very dangerous to walk along the island barefoot.

The only wooden floor is about to break and from the three sun shades seen in the resort pictures only one rusty and broken was left.

The rooms are old and poor, the mattresses are spring mattresses and for our opinion are at least 15 years old and where never in that time were replaced. The room amenities are poor and for example there is no light sugar for diabetes guests.

Bathroom and toilets is partly roof less and lacking elementary amenities such as shampoo and bath oil, towels are poor.

The resort restaurant opening hours are strange and inconvenient:
Breakfast is from 07:30-09:30; where as in every normal hotel breakfast lasts at least from 06:30-10:00. Dinner starts at 20:00; where as in every normal hotel its start at 18:30.

Five miles north-east of the resort there is an industrial island and the resort suffers from the smoke and the smell of the burning gases.

All the above problems have been fotographed by me and i can send you or any one else the pictures to prove my complains.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank mourice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

The moment you reach theGiravuru Resort you shall be welcomed with a warm and friendly staff. If you are looking for a family type environment; simplicity; relaxation; flavour of the local taste;warm and cozy rooms then Giravuru is the place to be. An island maybe less than a kilometre makes you feel that you are really in the middle of an ocean..then be it any sort of activity from diving to snorkelling to island hopping to night fishing they make sure that you enjoy each and every moment you spend there. At night the place resounds with the music played by the energetic Italian DJ who makes sure that you have a fun filled evening by making you play several interactive games all through the night.
If you really want to feel that you are on an island then this is the place to be...least commercial very simple but this is how you would like to unwind from your hectic lives in big cities!!!! CHEERS!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank triptipathak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews