We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”
Review of Giravaru Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Giraavaru Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Giravaru Resort
Reviewed 11 March 2007

My wife and I spent a nice and relaxing week in Giravaru in March 2007. Giravaru is a very small island very close to Male's airport. This is both a good and a bad thing : it's only 15mn speedboat transfer but the east end faces the city of Male which is very industrial. Not really paradise...

The hotel is quite old and could use some refurbishing (planned for late 2007 ?). The rooms are simple but clean. The bathroom is average (low water pressure in the shower !). Small TV sets with 5 Indian channels and 1 US movie channel. No safe, so bring lockers.

The quality of the food varies: breakfast are minimal, lunch were not good, buffet dinners were ok.

The main beach on the west side is very nice. Snorkelling is OK, lots of nice and big fishes, corals are not very colourful. Saw a stingray once. There is a bar (cocktails are average), a nightclub (very noisy until 2-3am 2-3 days a week so try to get a room far from it), a tennis court that can be lit at night for $10 (free of charge during the day) and a small swimming pool (useless).

We did a couple of boat trips: dhoni trip to Kodiparu where we saw sharks, a stingray and a turtle in captivity and cata sailing trip to the Sand Bank (a bank of sand in the middle of the ocean which is quite paradisiac). On both occasions we went snorkelling near the edge of the reef which was really good. Don't forget a strong suncream. Didn't do any scuba diving.

Probably 90% of the hotel customers are Italian (lots of pasta and pizza at dinner). Some staff barely speak English (but good Italian).

Giravaru is probably one of the cheapest hotel in the atoll that was available at the time we booked but in absolute terms remains quite expensive. Are Maldives overpriced ? I don't know but would not recommend this hotel unless you are on a budget. Would probably not recommend the Maldives if you are on a budget.

PS: direct Sri Lankan Airlines flight from London to Male was very convenient on our way in. connection in Colombo on our way out was a lot more painful.

Stayed: March 2007
5  Thank cmuyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2006

My wife and I went to Giravaru as independent travellers to the Maldives. Independent travel to this destination is expensive as resorts charge high prices and in most cases its more expensive booking directly with the hotel. That said we chose Giravaru as it offered a "cheap" deal with $80 Full board per night (for both of us) and return transfers of $45 each. The resort has mostly Italians and French guests with one or two Brits.

However, the resort was dissapointing. The pictures on their website are from long ago and its not like that now. Im sorry to say it but the resort is in dire need of refurbishment. The rooms are dated and you can tell they havent been upgraded in the last 15 years or more. The bars and dining area are darkly lit and the only entertainment was a live band on Friday night (albeit we were there off season).

The saving grace was that the food and the staff were great and even some of them realised that we were disspoinyted with the actual place. The beach was OK (notice I say not amazing as you would expect for the Maldives) but there was a rush in the mornings for deck chairs as there wasnt enough of them.

In the end we stayed for 5 days (only because of the staff and the food) before changing hotels. I also heard stories of other UK travellers who refused to even stay one night on the island and changed hotels.

If you want a nice room with modern decor and bars of a good standard then this is not the place for you. I suppose its OK for a short time if you are on a budget but having gone so far you dont want to be dissapointed. I also understand the place is to be renovated in the next year, so things could change. I would recommend the place we changed to though which was Eriyadu where the rooms were similarly priced (please see my review for Eriyadu).

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank ASyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2006

I had a fantastic vacation at the Giravaru Resort. I walked from my room on to a white sandy beach and straight in to crystal clear waters. The resort is small and has a family feel to it. I did my first dive off the house reef and saw a Manta Ray, Octupus and masses of other marine life - also, because the island is small, the Dive School gives you more of a personal touch. The food is great and the dining room spacious so no queueing etc. My holiday was perfect and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

However, Giravaru is not for everyone! The resort is in dire need of a refurbishment and all entertainment is in Italian. If you are looking to be pampered in luxury and want to be entertained, then this isn't the place for you. To me the natural beauty of the island more than compensated for its shortcomings.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MaxYerevan_Armenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
India
113
Reviewed 13 December 2005

Giravaru is a very small island (200x300sq.mt approx) and I can say that my stay in the island was the best time I had in my life. The reefs are abound with marine life, the water crystal clear and the sand white. The only complaint I had was the heat during the daytime. But once you get into the water, it is heaven. Make sure you wear proper sun protection.
The rooms are average, but who cares. You dont spend much time in the room anyways. The resort staff are very friendly and can speak Italian, French, Divehi, Hindi, English. The food is also very good.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016
3  Thank Marta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Claudio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Samuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Giravaru Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giravaru Resort

Address:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > Giraavaru Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giraavaru Island
Hotel Class:3 star — Giravaru Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giravaru Tourist Resort presents you the opportunity to experience the unaffected charm of the Maldives in surroundings that have been developed to give you the best of modern comforts, while in no way detracting from the island's natural beauty. Giravaru, the island of your dreams, is easily accessible, located just 15 minutes by speed boat from the Male' International Airport. It offers you a choice of over 20 of some of the world's most talked about diving sites, with experienced international divers to escort you and guide you to some of the best kept secrets contained in the depths of these sites. Giravaru wraps you in comfort, provides you with the best of culinary delights, and leaves you to have some of the most exhilarating experiences you have ever had in your life time - either on land or at sea. So, why wait? Take the opportunity to realise your dream at Giravaru Tourist Resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Giravaru Hotel South Male Atoll
Giravaru Resort South Male Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing