We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The seaplane lands and you are immediately greeted with a refreshing towel and a handshake from the staff.From that moment they made sure our 2 weeks on their small island was as enjoyable as possible.All are friendly and always have a "hello" for you,food is gorgeous,drink is plentiful and your glass is filled up as soon as you've finished.Apart from slight showers,the sun shone throughout the day.Well worth trying out,we would definitely go back again!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Executive at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
hello 702alang..
Greetings from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo..
Thank you for sharing your experience “A little piece of paradise” on Trip Advisor. It is our delight to know that you've had a wonderful holiday but more so cause you would definitely come back again.. :) Looking forward to welcoming you for another splendid and memorable time.. Until then, Cheers from the Management and all the staff out here at Ellaidhoo..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    436
    128
    46
    25
See reviews for
181
1,119
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just returned from our honeymoon - a week in Chaaya Reef. The resort was lovely and just what we needed - complete relaxation! The snorkelling here is AMAZING..the best we have ever experienced and we basically spent our days snorkelling, sunbathing by the beautiful infinity pool area, eating and sleeping! The main thing to point out about this hotel is that it is good value for money which i think agrees with most of the write ups here. If you want to experience the Maldives without it breaking the bank then Chaaya Reef is for you! If you want a 5 star experience in the Maldives then it is not the hotel for you. For us, the fact that we were in the Maldives, with the amazing snorkelling and feeling like you were in the middle of nowhere was perfect for what we were looking for. The all inclusive restaurant has plenty of choice and of relatively good quality. The staff were also overall very friendly and helpful. My two criticisms of the resort would maybe be the evening entertainment...i didnt think it was particularly good or well organised and the boat journey to the resort from Male. The boat journey was without a doubt horrific. I am usually a good sea traveller but i can honestly say that i was so scared on this journey - what should have been 90 minutes took 3 hours experiencing storms, the boat breaking down, no communication and no life jackets. We were told that we had a bad experience because of the waves and so i guess not everyone would experience this but be warned that it is a long journey on a boat that is really not cut out for that kind of trip i think. We decided to take the sea plane back but the sea plane is not cheap! I think the hotel should take some responsibility of the transport out to the resort...even if that is just having someone on the boat to let the passengers know that everything will be ok - a little bit or reassurance which i think we lacked. The resort was mainly filled by German and British couples.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chihiro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Executive at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
hello Chihiro1..
Greetings from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo..
Thank you for taking time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to know that you've had a wonderful honeymoon and found us to be a “Good value for money hotel”. It is a great pleasure to know that you've experienced the snorkelling in our magnificent house reef and thoroughly enjoyed every moment. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and hope you'd consider returning to stay with us during sunnier days. Until then, Cheers from the Management and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just returned from Chaaya Reef, and what a wonderful holiday it was.
This resort was beautiful.... it may have a sea wall, which i noticed other reviewers complaining about (how they didn't see it before they booked a holiday to the resort is beyond me) but this serves a practical purpose, as as anyone who has ever been here knows the marine life a few feet beyond the wall is staggeringly breath taking!!! and that's no exaggeration.
The beach on the island does not surround the entire island, but its still a substantial beach area and to complain is just being picky, which again i notice other guests have.
Regarding the food and drink options the choice and service was 1st class.
The accommodation was very nice, yes i'm sure there are more chic, posh alternatives, but they normally come with a much, much higher price tag... i honestly believe it would be difficult for anyone to complain about the rooms here which i found to be large enough, very clean, well maintained and had good amenities.
As a new diver, the dive center here at the resort was fantastic.

For anyone wanting a holiday in the Maldives which wont BREAK the bank i honestly believe you can't do much better then Chaaya Reef, it's a little gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank georgezippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Executive at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
hello georgezippy..
Greetings from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo..
Thank you for sharing your very motivating review “Amazing” on Trip Advisor. It has been our pleasure making your stay very memorable and are thrilled to know that you've had a wonderful holiday. :) It is an even better satisfaction to know that you did your very first dive here at Ellaidhoo, experiencing our amazing house reef with its myriad collection of coral and fishes. Looking forward to welcoming you for many more splendid holidays.Cheers from the Management and all the staff out here at Ellaidhoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This review is quite late as we visited Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo for two weeks this June but I wanted to share our experiences and hopefully provide some helpful tips about the island to anyone who is thinking of going.

Overall we had a great holiday and felt that the resort offered very good value for money. We booked a 2-week AI deal with First Choice for £1250 pp. It is important to remember however that this is a 3+ star hotel and my review is based on what it offers as a low-budget Maldives option. I booked this holiday first and foremost because of the snorkelling.

Island and Beach
I researched extensively before going so I knew that Ellaidhoo was not a picture-perfect Maldivian island. On the whole though, it is quite beautiful. It was nice to see how the traditional plants and trees have been cultivated and looked after so the island has a very natural feel. I have to say that the beach was a bit of a disappointment, the true bit of beach stretches from the dive school to the WVs but this was often busy and has a view of a sort of red and white radio post which spoils the outlook a bit. I realise this sounds really picky but we have seen much better beaches at much cheaper destinations (Cuba, Mexico, Antigua) so if you are going for the beach you might be disappointed. The rest of the island has concrete piers that are built out into the lagoon with small bits of beach inbetween. This is the place to see the baby black tip sharks in the shallows! If you are lucky you can get a sunbed on one of these piers which is nice and also keeps you out of reach of mosquitos.

Room
We stayed in a Garden Room which exceeded my expectations. Very large and comfortable and kept very clean by our room boy. The bathroom was spacious and quite lovely but I just didn’t like showering outside, what with the bats in the trees and the mosquitos and the occasional cockroach. It was definitely an experience! They do supply shower gel and shampoo etc. and again the bathroom was kept very clean. The room is quite dark but we were just there to sleep so that was fine.

House Reef
We thought the snorkelling was fantastic! I've never snorkelled in the Maldives before but have snorkelled in Egypt and the Caribbean. We saw so many varieties of fish including puffer fish, file fish, jacks, oriental sweetlips, anenome fish, trigger fish and groupers. We also regularly saw white tip sharks and saw the turtle just once, despite hunting for it every day afterwards! No rays except a large stingray under the pier. We tended to go out through the exit nearest the dive school and then swim up past the WVs. Once you've passed all the WVs we found that this end point was the best place to see large shoals of fish. We found the current was always quite strong and once or twice this made going in/out of the sea defence wall difficult. I think the current would be less of a problem in the dry season. We were advised to swim against the current and then when you get tired, turn around and drift back to your original entry point. Remember to wash your ears out with fresh water after to avoid ear infections.

Food
We were really very impressed with the food. We’ve stayed at five-star AI hotels and thought the food at Ellaidhoo was lovely, very good choice, very well cooked and no tummy bugs! We both loved the fact that they served more regional food (not sure if it is traditional Maldivian or traditional Sri Lankan as lots of the staff seemed to be Sri Lankan) but the curries, dhal etc were delicious. I have to add that neither of us are big fans of Indian food. I particularly liked the speciality Indian breads that they served, I liked the one that puffed up! For breakfast I would normally have a crepe or a waffle while BF would go for cooked breakfast: bacon and sausage, mini burger, omelette cooked to order. There was a good selection of fresh fruit on offer for breakfast accompanied by some tinned fruit and muesli, yoghurt, etc. Each meal would feature a choice of fish or meats that were cooked to order by the chefs. Was very impressed with the hygiene standards and all chefs were very friendly and skilled. Our waiter was nice and very swift. We also met a nice man who I think was the restaurant manager who was very friendly and chatty. The only negative point really was the cocktails available on AI. They were just not nice and I ended up not drinking them which was a shame.

Mosquitos
We got bitten pretty badly, I think some of the reviews don't reflect this as people have stayed in WVs but if you are staying in a garden room you will need to bring good repellent. We used 1.5 bottles of Jungle Formula and still had to buy Citronella in the shop. I'd advise on covering up, especially in the evening.

I hope this proves helpful, if you’re looking for somewhere peaceful to snorkel and enjoy nice food with friendly staff and don’t want to spend a fortune I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this island!

Room Tip: Garden Rooms are fine if you don't want to spend much time in them. Bring mosquito repellent and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Executive at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
hello msy24..
Greetings from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo..
We appreciate you taking time to share your experience “Good value holiday for snorkelling” in detail and thank you for the same. An even bigger thanks, cause you "wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this island!" It is our pleasure to read that you've had a pleasant and memorable stay, and have taken into consideration those areas for improvement. We are very pleased that you've thoroughly enjoyed the snorkelling, food and room facilities. Looking forward to welcoming you for a whole lot more. Cheers from the Management and all the staff. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary in style on this beautiful island the staff prepared a candle light diner on the beach and served us with a fantastic meal it was a holiday which we will never forget.This was our second trip to the Maldives and hopefully it won't be our last, this island exceded all our expectations and more, the management and staff were fantastic they could not do enough for you, we felt very humbled by there hospitalty, the food was prepared and cooked with very high standards with plenty of choice.if your looking for value and quality fro your money then this is the island is for you. Gerrard our rep was a gem he is proffecient and dedicated in his job he goes the whole mile to ensure that you have a good time, he will be greatly missed as a rep on the island and wish him every success in the future.
Met up with some truly lovely people of all nationalities and had so much fun it was magic you must give it a try as it is a wonderful experience it was "Paradise"
Monica @ Mick from Derbyshire

Room Tip: if you want peace and quite and a lovely breeze go for 321 the only advice is to take plenty of moz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmontoya51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Executive at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
hello mmontoya51..
Greetings from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo..
Thank you for choosing Ellaidhoo to celebrate your 45th wedding anniversary and for taking time to share your wonderful experience on Trip Advisor. It has been our delight making your stay very memorable and are pleased to know that this was your “Best Ever Holiday”. Looking forward to welcoming you for another vacation of pure bliss. Cheers from the Management and all the staff out here at Ellaidhoo.. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have just returned from an idyllic 10day stay on this beautiful island. A visit to the Maldives has been a dream of mine for so long, + this did not disappoint.
My partner spoke very highly of all the dive school staff-he has some amazing video footage of his many diving trips.
I recommend a visit to the Spa-not the most attractive 1 I've ever visited, but this shouldn't distract from the excellent treatments on offer.
We used the laundry service- $35 for unlimited use over your stay. Items can be returned within the day. Because of this, we could have taken hardly any clothes with us, as there is no expectancy to dress up for meals. A real bonus to not arrive home with a suitcase full of dirty washing.
The quality + variety of food on offer at every meal was fantastic. So much choice + freshly prepared. The chefs + waiters worked really hard in the high temperatures. Everyone was so friendly + cheerful, which made all mealtimes a real pleasure. The general dining room had more character than the water bungalow 1.
This was my 1st experience of an AI holiday (which was recommended by friends who had previously been to the Maldives) + I would highly recommend this option. There was no need to carry any money, + the whole holiday was excellent value.
I cannot speak highly enough of all the staff-nothing was too much trouble, + everyone was so pleasant + friendly. How the barmen remember everyones room nos is amazing.
The only negative thing about the visit, were the pesky (invisible!!!) mosquitos, which appeared to have voracious appetites-despite the frequent spraying that took place.
Thank you to everyone at Chaaya, + Amit at Simply Maldives, for giving me some wonderful memories.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Executive at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
hello StellaH136..
Greetings from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo..
We are extremely pleased to know that it was “A dream come true” vacation for you and thank you for taking time to share your experience. Also, a big thanks for the very encouraging comments and feedback, as it boosts our morale to strive higher. It is a true delight to know that you've thoroughly enjoyed every moment spent here and look forward to having you with us for many such wonderful holidays. :) Until then, Cheers from the Management and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was our 4th visit to this wonderfull island. We have visited quite a few islands over the last 14 years of going to the Maldives,some because 2 of those years we went on the Attoll Explorer visiting different islands, and this is the best by far even if we didn't dive.Sadly this year Mr Donald (the legend ) retired so his smiling face won't be there when we return this Xmas.Last Xmas was an exceptional year for diving with the sharks, as on every dive(& we did 28)we saw at least 1 shark. On the last dive we didn't see any until we were just about to do our safety stop & someone signalled us ,as we went over there was an 8-0" nurse shark under some rocks.What a climax!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TalcyChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Executive at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
hello TalcyChesterfield..
Greetings from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo..
Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellaidhoo Island
17.3 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
17.3 mi away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
20.7 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Gangehi Island Resort
Gangehi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Gangehi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
17.6 mi away
Kuramathi Island Resort
Kuramathi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Kuramathi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,736 reviews
3.0 mi away
Constance Halaveli
Constance Halaveli
#1 of 1 in Halaveli Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon

Property: Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Address: Ellaidhoo Island (Formerly Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo)
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Ellaidhoo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ellaidhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, like all nature's wonders, is blessed with a spectacular offering for marine enthusiasts, is known the world over as the dive island in the Maldives.In the shade. Under the palms. On the Beach. Over the water. There are plenty of stylish types of living spaces to choose from at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon. The 112 rooms are delightfully designed to blend in with the tropical backdrop and its natural environment.A stunning location combined with star-class facilities and outstanding levels of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo Hotel North Ari Atoll
Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing