We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Certificate of Excellence
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What an experience”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I went to the Chaaya Reef during halfterm, so it was way too short a time to come such a long way. This was the most relaxing place I have ever been too. The staff are so friendly, from being met off the speed boat, with a complimentary drink, to leaving in the mids of a tropical storm on a seaplane the whole week shot past me way too quickly. We stayed in a water bungalow and it was great, I spent most days snorkeling and sitting in the sun, you really need to get the suntan lotion. The island has a marvelous reef which is teeming with life. I really enjoyed myself floating over the reef watching the fish and occasional moray or baby shark. There are a lot of extra trips to do whilst you are there, but I only really paid extra to scubadive and night snorkel, both which were well organised. I was quiet apprehensive about the night snorkeling but once I was out above the reef the chance to see a different set of sealife was excellent, some much bigger sharks were out and about. As a holiday for couples this has everything I needed, it wasn't too crowded, the food was excellent, so much choice. MJ the barman was so friendly and always kept me hydrated. I will come here again, but next time it will be for 2 weeks. Thank you Chaaya Reef

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Executive at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
hello 763JamesH763..
Greetings from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo..
Thank you for sharing your review “What an experience” on Trip Advisor. It is such a pleasure to know that you've found Ellaidhoo to be 'the most relaxing place you have ever been to' and that you've thoroughly enjoyed snorkelling in our magnificent house reef. It has been our delight making your stay very memorable and look forward to creating many more fabulous memories in the future as well.. :) Until then, Cheers from the Management and all the staff, especially those mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    439
    128
    46
    25
See reviews for
182
1,125
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay at Ellaidhoo. We had booked a beach bungalow but was not allocated one on arrival - we were upgraded to a water bungalow (408) for the first four nights. A nice experience and whilst we appreciated the upgrade if we wanted a water bungalow then we would have booked one. The water bungalow was comfortable but there were no steps down to the lagoon so no direct access to the water, we could not settle or unpack because of having to move after the four nights so basically we lived out of our suitcase. After four days we moved to beach bungalow number 301 (next to the dive centre). We had direct access to the only beach on the island, a beach which is only directly available to beach bungalows 301 to 311. Those guests in other beach bungalows had no access to a beach and had steps down to the lagoon. Having been to three other islands if we had been allocated a beach bungalow other than 301 to 311 we would have been disappointed - definitely request one in this range. We were not the only couple that were allocated to a water bungalow before getting their beach bungalow - there must be some issues with the allocation of accommodation but we could not get a real explanation.
The food was very good and all the staff were very friendly, especially the two main barmen (cant remember their names) in the pool bar whose attention to service was excellent. The staff also put on brilliant entertainment for Halloween and really worked hard. They all dressed up for the occasion although the evening cost us $80 for tickets (reduced from $100).
It did seem as though the island was trying to get as much money from its guests as possible by charging for items which, from experience, were free on other islands. Also they round up your room account rather then round down so will always make money from this (ie if your room account is $50.20 then you will need to pay $51 and receive no change).
A lot of reviews have commented on the wall surrounding the lagoon - yes it is a bit of an eyesore but if it wasn't there then there would likely not be an island to visit!
The beach bungalow was a little dated and needed a bit of a refurbish and very dark so difficult to put on the makeup.
However we did enjoy our stay but would not necessarily recommend it in comparison with other islands unless you are there solely for the snorkelling or diving (we do neither) which I understand it was very good for.
Finally, Gerard, the Thomson/First choice rep, was very good, always available and making sure that we were happy with everything.

Room Tip: Request rooms 301 to 311 if you want to step out of your beach bungalow directly onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Executive at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
hello 372steves..
Greetings from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo..
Thank you for sharing your review “TWO WEEKS AT ELLAIDHOO”on Trip Advisor. We are extremely pleased to know that you've enjoyed your holiday and that you relished the varied delicacies of the kitchen, the very friendly and attentive service at the pool bar and the Halloween party. Unfortunately you did not experience our magnificent house reef, as we are certain you'd have fallen in love with the water world. Hoping you consider returning someday in the future. Until then, cheers from the Management and all the staff out here.. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tranent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Now back home and settled so feel we have to write a review for Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo to let everyone know what a fabulous holiday we have just experienced.
We arrived on the 22nd October by speedboat transfer which was a bit choppy but the sea legs coped and after reading some other reviews were semi prepared for it anyway.
On arrival were greeted by the reception staff and were instantly made welcome and at home and after the formal form filling we were taken to our beach bungalow. When we got to our bungalow it was quite close to the bar (not a bad thing) and our view was mostly of the water bungalows and we asked if it was possible to change our bungalow which the reception staff did with no problem (it meant an extra day of not unpacking but no hardship).
The restaurant was fantastic! The food was in my opinion was 5*+ and the choice was excellent at every meal time and the chefs worked so hard to give us such a varied choice daily (our compliments to the executive chef and all his staff). The waiters were all well spoken and well turned out at every meal time and our waiter Amat was always so helpful and had a smile and a hello every day. They all work such very long hours and it was very much appreciated by us and again compliments to the restaurant managers for all the hard work and effort put in to make our meal times such a wonderful experience.
We were of course staying over Halloween and finally decided to go to the Halloween do that was put on for the guests. All the staff worked so hard to create the 'dark house' and we watched in anticipation as it took shape and on the night it most certainly did not disappoint. The staff involved all turned out in fancy dress and it was so nice to see that it was not special entertainment staff but the reception,waiting,catering and others who were doing so much to make Halloween a memorable one for us and this will not be forgotten for a long long time.
Special praise must also go out to our rep Gerard who was always available and we had some fantastic conversations with him and such a lovely time at Halloween being dragged up to the dance floor on more than one occasion.
Compliments to the room staff and the grounds staff who kept our room immaculate and the surrounds spotless.
The bar staff were all wonderful and kept us supplied with our drinks and nibbles and always had a smile and a story when we saw them. The selection of all inclusive drinks was fabulous and only at Halloween did we have an 'extra' from the special drinks menu.
The reef was even better than expected and we managed to count 115 different species of fish whilst snorkeling both in the lagoon and outside the wall.
This holiday we decided to try diving for the first time and were not disappointed by the experience so much so that we studied for and gained our PADI open water diver qualification. This was done through the dive school and praise and thanks to all the staff involved there especially Giorgio our PADI instructor who saw us safely graduate, Soli for taking us diving for the first time and Amjay for the 2 night snorkels (and the great pics he took for us). After passing our course we then signed up for 2 boat dives on other reefs and thanks to all the boat and diving crews for making our first trips so memorable and again thank you for the kind comments on our diving skills picked up whilst on the course.
Our last day was on the 1st November which started a bright sunny day but then got a bit stormy which made for another slightly more bumpy trip back to Male but by this time we had even better sea legs.
Often you get to the end of a holiday and you start to look forward to getting home and sleeping in your own bed with all your home comforts around you but this time we did not want to leave. It was very hard to say goodbye to such a fabulous island with all its wonderful staff and facilities but we are already planning our return trip for around the same time in 2014 so bring on the overtime!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScubaBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Executive at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
hello ScubaBat..
Greetings from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo..
Thank you for sharing your experience “Reasons to return.” on Trip Advisor. A bigger thanks for all the wonderful and encouraging comments, as it helps to motive us to strive higher. It has been a delight making your stay fabulously memorable and are extremely pleased that you've thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, especially at the Halloween party. Looking forward to welcoming you for yet another fantastic holiday. Cheers from the Management and all the staff out here at Ellaidhoo.. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here for two weeks mid October. The weather was overall pretty good, had a fair bit of rain in the evenings and a few odd showers here and there but mostly sunny and very hot. Make sure you take enough sun cream and high factors- the sun is very very strong.

We took the speed boat transfer which was quite choppy and took a lot longer than 90 mins, I would not recommend if you have back problems or pregnant as some of the landings were very hard and I was definetly aching from it the next day. Upgrading to the sea plane is $150 per person at the resort.

The resort is nice and the rooms are kept well cleaned. The outside bathroom started to smell a bit damp after a few days of rain and high humidity but you can't really help that. We had beach bungalow 320 which has a small sanded area before a wall to the lagoon, we had trees either side so only really got the sun in the afternoon.

The food is lovely, there's a good selection and always something new to try. The staff everywhere are lovely especially the first choice rep Gerard! The all inclusive cocktail menu could use updated, only a couple are actually nice and that's depending on who makes them! Ellaidho dream is my fav!

You could easily pack light, we didn't use it but they have a laundry service where you can get all your clothes washed for only $35 for your stay, as many times or items as you want!

Snorkelling is a must! Buy an underwater camera! I'm not a great swimmer so I didn't venture outside the wall much but you'll still see lots of fish in the lagoon. Be careful of the trigger fish.

Excursions are expensive, we only tried sunset fishing and failed to catch a fish!! But the sunset was beautiful and there were so many stars it was amazing!

Overall I loved it. Take a few good books,a snorkel, some sun cream and enjoy.

Hopefully we'll be back sometime...

Room Tip: 300-311 are true beach bungalows which actually sit on the main beach. 319 next door to us had sun a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennybelly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Executive at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
hello Jennybelly17..
Greetings from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo..
Thank you for choosing to holiday with us and for sharing your experience “Lovely two week break” on Trip Advisor. It has been our pleasure making your stay memorable and are glad to know that you'll return someday in the future. We are also thrilled to know that you've snorkelled in our magnificent house reef. :) Until we welcome you again to Ellaidhoo, Cheers from the Management and all the staff out here..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and myself stayed here for our Honeymoon for 10 nights in January this year. What an amazing place. We stayed in a beach bungalow which perfect. It was cleaned twice a day. Every night we came back from dinner our bed sheets were made into a pretty pattern..... Lovely touch :-)
The staff on the island were amazing and very helpful. The bar man (sorry can't remember name) even helped arrange an amazing candlelit beach dinner and made an amazing bouquet of flowers for myself :-)
Would definitely recommend and would visit this island again.
Thank you for making our honeymoon nod to remember.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lic-nick-gain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Executive at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
hello Lic-nick-gain..
Greetings from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo..
Thank you for choosing us as your honeymoon destination and for taking time to share your experience “Honeymoon in Paradise” on Trip Advisor. It has been a delight making your stay very memorable and are truly pleased to know that you've enjoyed your time spent here. Looking forward to having you with us again. Until then, Cheers from the Management and all the staff out here at Ellaidhoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

It only got 4 stars because of the staff and the restaurant, otherwise it would have been 3 .
Let's start with the staff, there was a very warm welcome, a welcome drink and towel. They are at all times smiling and ready to try and help you. Our waiter Iqobal ( not spelt quite right) was excellent. Front desk it's worth noting that for most people visiting your resort all they want to do is get to their room not sit in reception filling in forms, give them the form and show then to their room, as most have three flights and 20 plus hours of travelling.
The chefs did an excellent job with the food, in its quality and presentation. It was also nice to see only small amounts of fresh food placed out , however the trays were refilled quickly , this meant the food was always fresh and not been left in the heat for too long.
I have issues with the room.. It was a basic room but did feel that it could and done with a very good deep clean. We also had a lot of problems in the room with Mosquitos and have never been bitten so many times in the 30 years that I have been travelling to far flung places. I did bring this to their attention and the supervisor went straight to the room to check it out. He did order a complete strip down of bed and the room to be sprayed. This did bring some sort of control but not enough. I complained again and then they sprayed room twice a day. In total I encountered 7 cockroaches in our room ! The resort is overrun by Mosquitos and I felt that they did not do enough of the fogging to keep some control of them.
In general the resort is looking tired and would benefit from new furniture and a good cleanup.
We were all inclusive which to be honest is the only way to be in the Maldives ,and most people were. Why when we are on an island with no means to get off do we have to wear wrist bands? Then also sign for our drinks. Come on wrist bands are so cheap !! The extras on the island are very expensive. Their is very little to beach around the island.
To finish apart from to many bites we had a relaxing time. Would I visit this island again no Sorry !!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barnowlKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Executive at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
hello barnowlKent..
Greetings from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo..
Thank you for sharing your experience and comments on Trip Advisor. Heartfelt apologies that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us, but we've noted your concerns and will look into bettering the same. We do understand that most guests have a long journey, but filling in the registration form is a mandate requirement by the Tourism Board. However, we are pleased to know that you've enjoyed the culinary delights. Hoping you'd consider visiting us someday in the future, giving us the opportunity to delight you. Till then Cheers from all out here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The seaplane lands and you are immediately greeted with a refreshing towel and a handshake from the staff.From that moment they made sure our 2 weeks on their small island was as enjoyable as possible.All are friendly and always have a "hello" for you,food is gorgeous,drink is plentiful and your glass is filled up as soon as you've finished.Apart from slight showers,the sun shone throughout the day.Well worth trying out,we would definitely go back again!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Executive at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
hello 702alang..
Greetings from Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo..
Thank you for sharing your experience “A little piece of paradise” on Trip Advisor. It is our delight to know that you've had a wonderful holiday but more so cause you would definitely come back again.. :) Looking forward to welcoming you for another splendid and memorable time.. Until then, Cheers from the Management and all the staff out here at Ellaidhoo..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellaidhoo Island
17.3 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,015 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
521 reviews
6.3 mi away
VOI Maayafushi Resort
VOI Maayafushi Resort
#1 of 1 in Maayafushi Island
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
19.9 mi away
Gangehi Island Resort
Gangehi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Gangehi Island
844 reviews
17.3 mi away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon

Property: Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Address: Ellaidhoo Island (Formerly Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo)
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Ellaidhoo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ellaidhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, like all nature's wonders, is blessed with a spectacular offering for marine enthusiasts, is known the world over as the dive island in the Maldives.In the shade. Under the palms. On the Beach. Over the water. There are plenty of stylish types of living spaces to choose from at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon. The 112 rooms are delightfully designed to blend in with the tropical backdrop and its natural environment.A stunning location combined with star-class facilities and outstanding levels of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo Hotel North Ari Atoll
Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing