We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed for two weeks late November/early December 2013.

Room was basic but comfortable.

Restaurant overlooking the pool was excellent.

All staff very attentive and friendly.

Swimming in the sea is like entering a fish tank - lots of sea life with exotic coloured fish all around.

We went on holiday to celebrate a birthday and special thanks to the restaurant staff who all contributed to making it a special evening.

Many trips available but we decided to switch off and do nothing.

Normally I do not have time to do nothing, so this holiday felt extra special.
I can not remember ever feeling so relaxed in my life.

The boat trip from Male to the island is excellent - even at 5 in the morning on the way home!

Flying from Manchester took 26 hours there and 33 hours back.
Along time due to Doha airport - not ready for a world cup me thinks.

Will return. Promise

Room Tip: Most are good, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Piers657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Manager at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Hi Piers,

27th December 2013
Warm Greetings From Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.
Thank you for sharing your review “Paradise found” on Trip Advisor. It is our grate pleasure to hear that your holiday was wonderful in our paradise.Yes ,our reef is one of famous dive site from the world.Even the resort is full house most of the time and having high turn over in day today ,we are always strive to be a best from the suburbs.we warmly appreciate your numerous support and comments to change the ellaidhoo value to a next level.
Till we meet again,cheers from management and the staff of ellaidhoo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

I thought i'd write this review whilst waiting for the seaplane to arrive after 7 glorious days of sunshine we were woken up be rain and thunderstorms nevertheless we had a wonderful week at chaaya reef. We flew via emirates which was a long flight on arrival at male we were on the seaplane within half an hour of collecting our luggage I would definitely recommend the seaplane as the views are one worth seeing. On arrival we were offered a room upgrade to the water bungalows and we took it costing us £50 extra per night and it was worth it we had water bungalow number 412 which in our view was best situated to watch amazing sunsets every day. As a water bungalow guest you have exclusive use of the restaurant allocated to it and the food was amazing. The staff really couldn't do enough for you and my husband was a very fussy eater and they catered to him on the AI package. We lazed around ten pool and beach most days and went to the beach party on our last night where there was a live singer and games for everyone! It was truly a relaxing week now off to dubai for week 2 of our holiday!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ShamialaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Manager at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Hi Shamialak,

26th December
Warm Greetings From Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.
Thank you for sharing your review “A WONDERFUL WEEK AT CHAAYA REEF” on Trip Advisor..Even the sea plane company is a third party we strongly linked together on customer service aspects which we are trying our hard to deliver the success to all our guests.we all grateful on your valuable comments with regard to our staff.Till we meet again cheers from management and staff of chaaya reef ellaidhoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We had a fantastic 2 weeks here in November , from the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome.
We stayed in a standard garden room (106) great room spacious comfortable and spotless, cleaned twice a day what more could you want.
Food was fantastic lots of fish and curries but plenty of other meats ,salads etc to choose from,service in restaurant great.
Spa was good not the best I've been to but fairly priced and I enjoyed my treatments so thank you.
Both bars were a great place to relax an get to know others great service from the bar staff lots of choice on the all inclusive menu to choose from low key entertainment which was good a singer most nights who was very good,crab racing, cocktail night, this is not party island but we had a great time here,very relaxed chilled out holiday.
What makes this island great is the fantastic friendly staff,they make your holiday special all of them from the room boys to reception staff and especially the bar staff,even the manager (prem) was really friendly guy I was hoping he would give my husband a job ha ha ( kevs turtle tours) so we could stay but sadly we had to come home .
I hope to go back to this island I would recommend it to everyone thinking of going to the Maldives who wants a value for money fantastic relaxing holiday,on an island that is beautiful and friendly.
I nearly forgot the main reason we went here was for the fantastic reef and we were not disappointed,it really is a great place to snorkel or dive, with so much to see too many fish to mention but the turtles are out everyday about 3pm in front of the water bungalows, have fun.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank roseandkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Manager at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Hi Bobby,

13th December 2013

Warm greeting From Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.
Thank you for sharing your review “WONDERFUL HOLIDAY” on Trip Advisor.We glad to hear that you have enjoyed your Holiday and it was made real worth of your money.We strive to delicate precious experience for guests on their Holiday. Thank you for adding immense value comments towards chaaya family where it is always our courage to bring a property to next level.All your comments would discusse with the staff as our part of service standards.
Till we meet again,cheers from management and staff of Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We went to Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo for the second time now and we had an amazing time there!
The staff is super friendly, especially the bar staff at the main bar, the rooms are spacious and clean (our bed has been made with much attention to detail and every night we had a new, amazing floral decoration) and I would definitely come back any time. The island has a great reef and snorkelers and divers will not be disappointed. Whilst I didn't spend much time in the sea I saw a turtle, dolphins and my boyfriend saw a Manta ray. Dive centre staff are very helpful and especially Amjey's night snorkeling sessions are definitely worth doing!
Wish I could go back again tomorrow!

Room Tip: any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobby_2768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Manager at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Hi Bobby,

05th December 2013.

Warm Greeting From Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.
Thank you for sharing your review “AMAZING HOLIDAY” on Trip Advisor.We all delight to know that you've had a “amazing time with us” and found Ellaidhoo to be perfect for you. Looking forward to 'treating you like royalty' once again.. Until then, Cheers from the Management and all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just returned from a repeat visit to Chaaya Ellaidhoo and had to write a review. From the moment we stepped off the seaplane to the minute we left we had the most fantastic time. As has been said by many reviewers, the staff are the true credit to this island. From the room boy to the front desk staff, from the waiter to the chef, every one of them went out of their way to ensure our holiday was the best yet. Credit has to go to the Island Manager Prem too - its clear his staff love and respect him and he will be a loss to the island in the coming months.

This time around we tried some different trips - the highlight of which was the island hopping trip. The deserted island visited was absolutely stunning, the reef around it very different to Chaaya but the icing on the cake was the dolphins following us home on our boat. There must have been about 12 of them and they followed us for a good while. Amazing! This trip is a definite must do!

I can also recommend the beach disco on a Thursday night and if you are feeling romantic (we were two sisters travelling but still loved the experience), the candlelit beach dinner is thoroughly recommended. The fillet steak was to die for!

If you are looking for a relaxed, friendly, picturesque island with great staff and fantastic snorkelling, look no further

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 11AnnieW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Manager at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Hi Annie,

04th December 2013.

Warm Greeting From Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.
Thank you for sharing your review “BLISS” on Trip Advisor.We all glad to hear that you had a fantastic Holiday with ellaidhoo Team.Yes it is our routine task to more focused on customer service and make sure whether every thin run smoothly as guests expectations.As you mentioned we do promoting stunning and expressive excursions for in house guests. Thank you once again for your valuable comments with regard to our staff.We will discussed with our whole staff.Then till we meet again cheers from management and staff of chaaya reef Ellaidhoo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have returned from a 2 week stay on the most beautiful Island. The staff were exactly as most reviews say excellent couldn't do enough for us. It was my birthday and we chose a Beach candlelit BBQ. We had our own waiter and chef, more food than we could eat and birthday cake.Our bed was decorated with petals and balloons looked gorgeous. Unfortunately my husband was taken very ill whilst away but the Doctor and staff couldn't have been more helpful it was the hospital who let us down with not giving the necessary report to the Insurance company. It made our holiday very stressed but the staff and other guests couldn't have helped any more. My husband is now on morphine which is easing his pain, on the 2 week rule expecting oncologist apt this week.

We have travelled all over the world but honestly say that this Island and it's people is the most idilic place we have been.


I will keep in touch as I know so many people were supporting us.It ended up a nightmare in Paradise. Linda from Eastbourne.

Room Tip: We read reviews then looked at map and decided which rooms we would be happy with, then emailed Dine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindah20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Manager at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hello Lindah,

03rd of December 2013.

Warm Greeting From Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.
Thank you for sharing your review “PARADISE” on Trip Advisor.It is our grate pleasure to know that you have enjoyed and it was the best Holiday that ever you had. We all wish your husband to get well soon and hope he will recover his fit state soon. Thank you for all your valuable comments about your Holiday. Near future Hope to see you soon at ellaidhoo.Till we meet again cheers from chaaya reef ellaidhoo management and the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We went here for my wife's birthday,having been to the Maldives before but the 1st time at Chaaya reef.We can honestly say after arriving by Seaplane and being greeted by the resort management the cold towel was most welcome.Paper work completed now time to enjoy the island,our beach bungalow was fine although a little dark but with the help of our rep we managed to secure a water villa upgrade which was fab overlooking the ocean.The staff are amazing,we felt like royalty as nothing was too much trouble.Jane's Birthday suprises from the staff like her bed decoration,the balloons, the table happy birthday writing and the suprise cake made it a very special day. We must say a big thank you for an amazing holiday and given the chance we would come back to this Island in the sun.

Room Tip: Go For a water villa 411 - 416 If a beach villa go the the beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellaidhoo_Team, Front Office Manager at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hi Malcolm,

03rd of December

Warm Greeting From Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.
Thank you for sharing review "Jane's Birthday" on trip ad visor.As a one of leading Hospitality partner we assure to cater best to all our guests up to their prime expectations.We happy to hear that you have enjoyed our service and all your positive feed back would always assist us to enhanced our service standards every day. Till we meet again cheers from management and staff of the chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellaidhoo Island
4.5 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
563 reviews
17.3 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,131 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bathala Island Resort
Bathala Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bathala Island
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
19.9 mi away
Gangehi Island Resort
Gangehi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Gangehi Island
882 reviews
17.3 mi away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon

Address: Ellaidhoo Island (Formerly Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo)
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Ellaidhoo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ellaidhoo Island
Price Range: £163 - £571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon, like all nature's wonders, is blessed with a spectacular offering for marine enthusiasts, is known the world over as the dive island in the Maldives.In the shade. Under the palms. On the Beach. Over the water. There are plenty of stylish types of living spaces to choose from at Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon. The 112 rooms are delightfully designed to blend in with the tropical backdrop and its natural environment.A stunning location combined with star-class facilities and outstanding levels of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo Hotel North Ari Atoll
Chaaya Reef Ellaidhoo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing