We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Filitheyo Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Went here on our honeymoon after a whistle stop tour of India. Great surroundings lovely beaches. Great snorkeling and dive school was friendly. Food in main restaurant was excellent, as it was our honeymoon we decided to go for a romantic beach meal one night, had to pay extra for this but the food was not upto the same standard in the restaurant and had a bit of gut rot afterwards so not ideal. All-inclusive is not the same as anywhere else in the world you had to pay for the drinks in your room and those drinks that were included were meant to be drank at the bar. Bottled water had to be paid for int he room also, which I think is especially tight - the tap water didn't agree with my bowel either. All this said though I think this is general across the Maldives. After traveling through India where you are made to feel special by everyone whether you are on honeymoon or not, here was a bit of a disappointment. Again a product of the Maldives in general where everyone is on honeymoon I guess you are the same as everyone else, but still you hopefully only go on honeymoon once so expect a little more effort. When we first arrived we where in a room next to a family with small children and the rooms aren't exactly sound proof, so it doesn't require a lot of thought to think a couple on honeymoon wouldn't want to be in that room. Fortunately it wasn't too much trouble to be moved though. Where the island did excel is in its surroundings on land and sea. The spa was pretty good too. Not wanting to end on a negative.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squirrel_doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    329
    82
    23
    16
See reviews for
175
692
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My first trip to Maldives was a good one. We traveled as a couple May 2012, and stayed for 10 days in a water villa. The villa was spatious, clean and had a romantic set. All good, after you got used to sleep with the constant sound of water underneath.
Meals were good and various. The island is beautiful, quite and this must have been the most relaxing trip I have taken so far.
Different activities are offered for those interested, from fishing to snorkeling and diving, or visiting and inhabited island.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illogan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed on Filitheyo mid Feb 2013, and had a good time, We flew with Emerites via Dubai,which was OK but you just want to get there and don't really want to be sitting at an airport waiting for a connection which was delayed for an hour. When we landed at Male, we were running late and were wisked over to the seaplane terminal loaded on a plane and we were off.
Check in was swift and we were shown to our rooms. We were given room 114, which is at the top end of the island, with on direct entry into the sea due to the waves and solid coral, so we asked to be move and were then given 84 two days later. The rooms are good but the rustic look has been streched and some are boardering on tatty especial some of the roofs which are thread bare and some even have tarpaulins on, the beds are firm with nets around, the wardrobe is in the bathroom area outside which works well water pressure is good. Ants were a bit of a pain and resiliant but no match for the spray provided, were ever you go on the island there are sandflies which bite, we did have a cockroach but he was no match for the spray either. There is a TV but not very good.
We found the food to be very good, as other reviews have already said there was always something different to try. Our waiter CD soon learnt that we liked water with evey meal and who drank what, Red wine, fanta and Tiger Beer you keep the same table and waiter which I prefer. We were all inclusive which suited us as we could have what we wanted without thinking about the cost, but my main niggle with this was no cocktails...... We have been to Reethi Beach and Meedhupparu where they were so not having them was a bit of a shame, The barmen at the sunset bar were very good and would sometimes make some for us, We found a couple of dollars here and there were always a help and they were a bit more attentive when the bars got fuller.
The Sunset Bar was our favorite place, we would often get up early and go and have a Latte before breakfast, have a pre lunch drink with a swim, an afternoon just chilling then watch the sun go down before dinner then a late drink before bed. The main bar is quite all day untill just before dinner when people stop of for a pre-dinner drink and then one after. There is table tennis and table football for free and a pool table which you have to pay for, on our second week the only cue on the Island was damaged so the was no pool for a week. The barmen here were also very good, pop corn dished out when you got a drink. There is a small pier here where you can see rays and watch the sun go down but keep your feet out of the sand so the sand flies don't get you. The island is dusted from time to time but there will always be mosquitos.
We went night fishing (in the package) which was fun but not a great deal was caught, when I have been else where before more was caught, what you do catch can be cooked up for you the next day. We also went to another Island to see the locals(in the package), which if you haven't done before is quite good but if you've been else where it is probably very similiar.
The island its self is keep neat and tidy, the pathways near reception have white soft sand where as the rest are compacted sand and not always very comfortable to walk on bare foot.
The reef is good and full of life I was lucky enough to see a small manta ray on the house reef as well as sharks, turtles, octopus and all the usual fish. The tides can be a bit odd, if you start at one end you might have a slight tide against you but by the time you are at the next entry/exit point its going the other way, and sometimes the time will whisk you along at a rate of knots and other times it no existant so just be a little bit careful if you aren't confident. The dive and sailing school are run by helpful people, we took some canoes out for half a day and went over to the sand bank on a day when the sea was glassy smooth and no wind it was beautiful.
There is a local band that plays at the main bar one evening a week, but they turn up play and leave promptly so don't expect too much. Luckly they don't have crab racing or karaoke.
Our return journey started with a 4.30am call breakfast at 5.30 then of on the boat to the seaplane in the dark, by the time you get there and the piolts have checked the plane its light enough to fly and you're off.
All in all we had a great holiday, some bits better, some bits the same and some bits not as good as other Islands we've been to, but thats probably true of where ever you go and these are only my views... everyone is different and want different things and have different expectations. Would I go there again...? no but I would return to Reethi Beach.

Room Tip: rooms 40 too 100 are best... not 113 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLJBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

After reading all reviews an after months of detailed reasearch, we decided for Filitheyo. Bingo! Barefoot for entire stay, walking on powderlike sand, swiming among thousands of colorfull fishes felt unreal. Full privacy due to almost invisible, but always there when needed incredibly professional stuff. Main restaurant food fully natural, with permanent offer of local dishes plus daily changed theme nights like italian, greek, mexican...Sunset bar restaurant has a kitchen that can compare to Michelin recomended restaurants. Lobster dinner on the beach was the ultimate pleasure. Millions of stars, shining over indian ocean waves, gently hitting the beach....food above expectation, wine list to satisfy all true wine lovers. Above all, the prices of everything were much lower than we've prepared ourselves when researching and planning our Maldives trip. We were in a superior bungalow. Rooms a bit old, but still inline with natural look of entire island. Reef is close, and full of all possible fishes. We had pleasure to see almost every single spices, including small shark, small baracuda and on our last day, we swam with a turtle. I sincerely recommend this island to all true, unspoilt nature lovers, not looking for a luxury of artifical resorts, but still people who like to endulge themselves with good food and wine, while being in unspoilt nature, having both active vacation, both enyoing silence and lying on the beach . What magic combination it is! The only objection is not to the hotel, but to few tourists who did no research, and came there with kids. The current along the island is very strong and too dangerous for kids (except for kids accompanied by diving instructors or experienced diver/snorkelers parents). We will for sure try to use the opportunity to go there once more, before the renovation brings new looks and higher prices.

Room Tip: Superior villas: For wild and more intimate ambient choose rooms above 90, for wider beach, more con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 011-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk England
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

After a hectic tour of Sri Lanka this was a lovely finale .This is a mid price and therefore middle quality resort which gave good value and better than average food and service.The water sports were above average attested by the number of people on return visits, some for five &six times.The all inclusive package was good value. All the wines, spirits & mixers were named brands and we enjoyed both the included excursions to a neighbouring island to see Maldivian life and night fishing.If you want cocktails on your sunbed you probably need to go elsewhere.The semi detached bungalows were fine & had an outdoor shower. You learn to keep the door to the bathroom closed so that the air conditioning can work well to keep your room cool.The mosquito nets were good quality & "fogging" took place night and morning but you will still need industrial quantities of Deet.Mosquito spray and high factor sun cream. We enjoyed the meals in the main restaurant which provided good choices at each meal. The sorbets and icecreams were different each time and delicious.Overall we loved our four days and felt we received great value for money.

Room Tip: Best are probably 90s but any between70&100 would be fine.Water bungalows didn't seem to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneE68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed at the Filitheyo Island Resort in January 2013 for a week after touring India for 10 days, and have to say it was a fantastic place to stay. The rooms was great. We stayed in a semi detached room, which I have to say I think are better than staying in a water bungalow. We went for the half board option which we think was better value than doing the all inclusive option, even though we ate & drank alcohol at lunchtime daily. The choice of food in the evening was excellent and there was different choices daily. The staff was great at all times throughout our stay. I would recommend Filitheyo as a place to stay and it is definately a place I would return to in the future. Thank you for a very enjoyable & memorable holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynsey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We went to this island having been missold an all inclusive package by Thomsons. On the all inclusive package we were not allowed to take the drinks away from the bar, not even to our beach bed - which was the other side of the island from the bar, so each time we needed a drink we had to walk to the bar, drink it and then walk back again, we were not allowed bottles of water unless we paid for them. We were not allowed two drinks at a time, so could not have a cocktail unless we paid for it as it had more than one component in it. When we went to discuss this with the manager he spoke of "all inclusive" packages with great derision and almost made fun of us saying that we were in the minority on the island as people don't do all inclusive on his island, at best he was extremely arrogant and rude.
First day into the holiday I was struck down with diarrhoea and spent the next three days in bed being visited by the doctor, the manager did not visit, nor any of the reps, the phone did not work in the room so we were unable to summon help without walking over the island to find the doctor. he siad it was a regular occurrence to have diarrhoea on the island, very worrying information.
We saw rats, plenty of cats and were bitten constantly by sand flies. We were unfortunate enough to have a room with no beach and a rocky sea.
We have been to other Maldivian islands and this is the worst.
Thomsons were not interested in our complaint re the all inclusive package not being what it is advertised at, and we note that it is still advertised as it was when we went. Shame on them for not listening to the customer, I will never book another holiday with them or any of their subsidiary companies again.
The bar staff were very good and did actually give us bottles of water to take back to the room but we were asked to hide them in our beach bag. Good on them, they could see how unfair and unjust it all was.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank LellyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filitheyo Island
14.6 mi away
Sun Aqua Vilu Reef
Sun Aqua Vilu Reef
#3 of 6 in Dhaalu Atoll
786 reviews
23.3 mi away
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Maamingili Island
627 reviews
23.5 mi away
Oliva Palm Cottages
Oliva Palm Cottages
#1 of 1 in Dhigurah Island
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Sun Island Resort
Sun Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Nalaguraidhoo Island
2,441 reviews
22.0 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
2,999 reviews
16.1 mi away
Angsana Velavaru
Angsana Velavaru
#1 of 1 in Haa Dhaalu Atoll
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filitheyo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filitheyo Island Resort

Property: Filitheyo Island Resort
Address: Faafu Atoll, 20188
Region: Maldives > Faafu Atoll > Filitheyo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Filitheyo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Filitheyo Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a breath-taking island paradise of leafy jungle foliage and sparkling white sand. Filitheyo resort is situated in Faafu Atoll, one of the most pristine atolls in the Maldives, abundant in colorful marine life and vibrant coral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Filitheyo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filitheyo Island Hotel Faafu Atoll
Hotel Filitheyo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing