We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Absolutely loved my 3 night stay in this resort! We had a nice garden villa (and a beautiful garden barthroom), staff were nice and helpful. Breakfast buffet was very varied (and even had a Gluten free section), they had a wine happy hour every day at the beach bar which was nice. I also recommend booking a treatment at the spa- such a lovely place to chill at and use the outside jacuzzi pool. Really enjoyed the beach of this resort- amazing how transparent the waters are in the Maldives.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sag79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Sag79,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor,

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your 3 night stay with us and that you have left with great memories to remember us by.

Be sure that we will pass on your positive comment about our breakfast spread to our Chef's as well as our spa team.

We hope to welcome you soon again for another short escape,

Warm Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

After being welcomed promptly at the airport, it was a short boat ride away to the resort. We were in our room ( over water ) less than an hour after arriving in the Maldives. In the morning we woke up all excited to explore the ocean and it was great being able to go from our patio right into the water. The last step and the platform were very slippery and in my rush to get into the water I slipped and fell into the water so please be aware of that. We saw so many beautiful fish, rays, sharks, corals and cuttlefish. It really felt like swimming in a tropical fish tank and the water was a lovely temperature.

I felt that the room looked better on their website, but it was adequate. We had an opportunity to see the other categories of accommodation and we thought the best were the over water bungalows and the beach cottages. It was also great to sit on the patio and watch boats and the airplanes coming into land.

The spa was excellent and the dive center is very well run. They are extremely professional and friendly. We felt safe and we had a very good time with our discovery dive. You could borrow snorkeling gear for free from the water sport center but you would have to return it every day by 5pm. When we stayed at the Four Seasons previously, they lent us the equipment for our entire stay so we thought that it was a hassle to go back and forth every day.

Looking to save money on food so we had more to spend on spa and diving, we decided to go for a half board meal plan. Breakfast and dinner was at Feast. Only on the second night , did we learn that with our meal plan included a bottle of water and sodas or a bottle of wine. That said, it was only free if we did not share it with the rest of our party not on a meal plan. We felt that that was ridiculous to give us a bottle of wine or water but if we chose to share it, we had to pay for it. There was a large variety of food and we could always find something we really liked.
On check out did we discover that our half board only covered dinner and that we had to pay for breakfast. That confused us, as we understand half board means the host includes breakfast and dinner. The front desk insisted that we pay extra for the breakfast eventhough we felt that they should have called it a dinner plan , not a half board meal plan.

At the end of our stay, we had really enjoyed our time at the beach, diving and at the spa. But the strict rules on not sharing the wine and water which was included in our meal plan and having to argue with the front desk on the definition of half board was an unpleasant experience which left a bad taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alextaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had done a 4 nights trip here about a month back (i.e. April end). This was a honeymoon trip and we left with mixed feelings about the place.
To start with, Maldives is a perfect destination for a Romantic trip. It is very exotic and beautiful. The pictures of the place says it all; I may not elaborate further. Fortunately, for Sheraton, the natural beauty of Maldives makes them hide their flaws. The one and only good thing about Sheraton is that they have constructed a nice property close to Male city and maintained it very well. This is where the positives of Sheraton ends.
As you must have already read through other reviews, they have dead corals. Snorkelling there is no fun at all. To see corals you will have to spend a bomb and take a water sports package.
Next, I personaly believe that the only reason why someone chooses to indulge into a luxurious brand like Sheraton is because they want to be taken care off very well and receive high class service. Moreover, Maldives is a very relaxing destination and there is very little that you can do while you are there. So, with the natural beauty of the country in their favour, the only thing that Sheraton needs to get it right is have well trained staff. Unfornately, the staff lacks those basic skills of being hospitable and approachable. I believe they are not well trained to handle requests of guests and be accomodative. Half of the staff can't even speak good English. Moreover, we found that Maldivians have a sarcastic sense of humour which I don't think will go well with most tourists.
This was my first ever stay at Sheraton and haven't gone down as well as I had expected it to be. I have always stayed with Taj brand and my personal expriences with Taj Group of hotels is that they make you feel so special and just pamper you a lot. I am sorry I am doing a comparison here instead of reviewing Sheraton, but couldn't resist.
However, the saving grace for Sheraton was a relatively nice staff at the Spa section and my interaction with a guy from Extreme Maldives. Rohit from Shine Spa was a very nice guy and attended us very well and a guy named Mode from Extreme Maldives (the water sports partner) was, as an exception, the only good Maldivian we met over there.
Hope the management of Sheraton takes note of all this and improves. However, I don't think I am a repeat customer for them.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kapoor_varun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Kapoor_Varun,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Maldives as your Honeymoon destination,

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the facilities of our property and we thank you for your positive comment on the design and maintenance of our island.

Our lagoon beach offers a good swimming experience, for any snorkeling we would advise our guest to snorkel on the other side of the island next to the over water rooms. As you mentioned we also offer various snorkeling trip around different reefs.

We are sadden to read that our associates have not met your expectations, our associate take great pride in providing outstanding service. We will definitely share your feedback and ensure that this situation does not occur in the future.

We hope to welcome you in many more of our Sheraton Hotels worldwide,

Kind Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Overall the stay was fantastic – the Maldives were just as I have imagined them.
But the story has a different beginning. Admittedly being a bit cheap with our room choice, we have booked deluxe room. Anywhere else in the world, say Thailand, Philippines, or Malaysia you would have been happy with this room, but not in the Maldives. The room was not in the best condition but spacious enough.
Disappointed with the choice and the outcome, we went to see the guys in the reception which were really helpful and accommodating – the senior assistant general manager (sorry I forgot your name..) immediately sat in front of the computer and came up with alternatives and managed to turn things around. From barely a pass, to an amazing experience! And thanks a million for that. The ability to listen, understand and act in real time to our problems, made the whole thing unforgettable vacation.

Read on for the full review.

Weakness:
- As we have arrived we were picked up by the speed boat with other people from our flight. This resulted in group check-in and waiting for other passengers which I did not like. I need my privacy. @Sherton, you can consider running the admin during the boat ride. So when guests arrive they immediately taken to their rooms.
- The reef around the hotel is not amazing. You ill find amazing fish but for corals and a nice reef you’ll need to take a boat ride.
- Everything is really expensive. This applies for the Maldives in general, so just be prepared. We’ve had a big breakfast and brought with us some snacks to have during the day, then invested the money in nice dinners.
- Deluxe rooms: they should really not be there. Do not settle for anything less than the water bungalow.

Strengths:
- It is just 15 min away from the airport. You get there quick after a long flight
- Beautiful resort with great amenities: restaurants, gym, bars, shops, etc
- Amazing and polite staff
- Great views (ocean, or reef)
- Many activities to select from
- Nature and wild life
- Wifi coverage across the resort

Rooms:
Deluxe room: we’ve stayed in 344, just 30 seconds walking from the sea. Once again I think you should not settle for anything less than a water bungalow, but if you are going for this category, then take the first floor and not the ground floor as you will have more privacy with the balcony.
Bungalow: we’ve stayed in room 102. I’ve loved everything about it. The room, the private balcony with access to the sea, the semi outdoor bath, working corner, bedroom, distance from the restaurants and lobby, actually there is not one thing I did not like about it! This room got the wow from us.
Cottage: we’ve stayed in 247. Despite the move from the Bungalow to the cottage, we were very happy there. The size is great, the balcony, and the outdoor shower is just amazing!!!

Activities:
- Dolphin watching tour leaves every other day. Make sure you’re booking in advance.
- Snorkelling: Firstly, the fish there are just amazing. We’ve seen everything you want to see in the Maldives: sharks, sea turtles, morena, eels, dolphins, string rays, and hips of colourful fish. We’ve taken the private speed boats which were great. I did not like the group snorkelling tour that much, but it is more economic.
- Water activities, Spa: is there and accessible, can’t comment as I did not try them.
- Shark feeding: every evening @ 18:00 next to the bar. Amazing. One of my favourites.
- Gym: just in the right size, they also provide earphones if you need.

Restaurants:
- breakfast: great, there’s always a table ready for you with great selection of food.
- Beach bar: head there every afternoon, get a shisha, a drink, and order nachos and just watch the sea and enjoy this place.
- Baan Thai: we live in Asia and eat a lot of Thai, and still we were very much surprised from the quality. My wife has returned the steamed fish as it was too dry, and the chef came to our table and thanked us for our feedback and offered alternatives. So once again, the team listens, understand and act. Book in advance!
- Sea salt: for fish and sea food lovers, although you can also find there veggie and meat dishes. Good food, too expensive in my opinion.
- Sand coast: my favourite. International selection mixed with Indian and Asian dishes. The outdoor area is beautiful. It is actually hard to choose a dish as there are a lot of options.

Once again, the service was amazing. Nothing is perfect in life, but the ability to be flexible and come up with alternatives both in the case of the room, and the restaurant made a great difference. It is also worth mentioning that we were provided with shower facilities after checking out so we can refresh ourselves before the flight. Make sure you inform the hotel staff well in advance.

Highly recommended, enjoy your stay. I travel a lot and been in many exotic locations and in very good hotels. This is amongst our top 5. And BTW, we’ve left the kids at home. Enjoy the Maldives!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ohad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Ohad H,

Thank you for such a detailed review about your stay and Maldives experience.

We are thrilled to read that our associates made it up for the weak start. Thank you for your great feedback on our front office agent who assisted you in a efficient & professional manner. We are glad that we could accommodate you with different room categories during your stay.

Our activity calendar changes daily, we are pleased that you enjoyed a dolphin cruise as well as other water sports activities.

We hope to welcome you soon again,

Warm Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Was the best of the stay ever in a Resort.
+ Nice ambience.
+ Stayed in WATER BUNGALOW rooms are too good.
+ Hospitality was good
+ Good collection of books in library
+ Bfast platter is wide spread

-less options for vegetarians
+/- Net connection only in lobby area

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank acebase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear acebase,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us,
It is a pleasure to read that you had a memorable stay with us and that you enjoyed your Water Bungalow.

Our Chef's will be pleased to know that you enjoyed their Breakfast spread.

We hope to see you again soon,

Warm Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Sheraton Maldives was a very nice experience. Staff was friendly and attentive, it was not too busy when i arrived and they upgraded me to a oceanfront room with kind of a private beach. I did not get to see any other resorts during my stay so I can't compare. One peace of advice... The Maldives is for total isolation and relaxation there is not much to do. If your hyper and don't enjoy relaxing in a beautiful, serene destination it may be too quiet for you. The room I was in was clean and quite impressive,.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Paul J,

Thank you for review on Trip Advisor,

We are glad that you enjoyed your room upgrade to our Ocean Pool Villa,
Maldives is a tropical escape perfect for relaxation yet we offer a wide range of water sports activities as well as a few excursions.

We hope to welcome you again soon,
Warm Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We spent 4 nights in a deluxe beach front room. The room was clean and well furnished but the AC was very noisy. Disappointingly the room didn't have a beach view as we were led to believe, though the beach was only a 2-3 minute walk away. The resort has 3 main beach areas, the best snorkelling spot was near the wooden sea villas on stilts. All the staff were exceptionally polite and well trained, couldn't fault the service at all. The resort has 3-4 restaurants, the food was of a good standard but overpriced (minimum of around $25 per head for a main dish), I would imagine the choice would become a bit repetitive if we'd stayed longer too. The resort has it's own dive centre run by a friendly duo, there are plenty of amazing dive locations to explore. Speedboat transfers to and from the island were punctual and a good experience as was the entire holiday.

Room Tip: Room numbers in the 200-300's are furthest away from the main breakfast restaurant (10-15 walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear David J,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor,

We are glad to read that you enjoyed snorkeling around the island and discovering the dives spots around the resort.

We value your feedback on our restaurants and on the pricing. As all goods are imported the prices can be compared with prices in big cities.

We hope to welcome you soon,

Kind Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furanafushi Island
24.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,501 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,621 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,059 reviews
18.4 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
5,924 reviews
10.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa

Address: 20-15
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > Furanafushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Furanafushi Island
Price Range: £294 - £699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa is situated on it's own private island surrounded by tropical landscaping and turquoise lagoons. With 176 guest rooms reflecting the tropical destination featuring the Sheraton Signature Bed. Facing the sunrise with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean are 20 Ocean Villas offer large bathrooms, comfortable living spaces and luxurious outdoor living areas complete with infinity edge plunge pools.Sheraton Maldives is just a 20-minute boat ride from Velena International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Hotel North Male Atoll
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort And Spa
Full Moon Maldives
Full Moon Hotel Maldives
Full Moon Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing