We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water bungalows a must”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We just had five nights at the full moon and enjoyed immensely. But, our original booking was a beach front delux room, whilst one couldn't argue about its distance from the beach, we may as well booked into the local motel at home. Luckily for us the drain in bathroom blocked up, which promoted us to pay for an upgrade to the water bungalows. This made the Maldives a whole different experience.
Beg, borrow or steal, but whatever you do, pay the extra and stay over the water. Great rooms, take a bath with the windows open and listen to the water lapping underneath. It's never boring watching the fishlife from your room, snorkelling from you back step.
Service was very friendly and professional, food was ok, the diving team also deserve a special mention, overall a lovely place.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Don,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed our Water Bungalows and hope you had a wonderful stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,763)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

745 - 751 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We are currently staying at the hotel and I am sorry to say that we will not come again. Before arriving we informed the Sheraton that we were a family (two adults and two children) and that we did not want to be separated. The travel agency had booked us into two double rooms and after writing to the Sheraton the week before arriving we had assumed that we they would make sure that we were in adjoining rooms. Our surprise was that we were not placed in adjoining rooms but separate rooms, one upstairs and one downstairs. Upon arrival we asked if we could be changed but there was no availability in adjoining rooms and the cottages which are more suitable for families were all fully booked and we were offered a villa which consisted of a larger room but with just one double bed for the four of us and an extra 295 dollars a night. Obviously this was not an alternative.

Having said all this, we would have accepted the situation, but unfortunately the downstairs room has a connecting door to another downstairs room with other people in it, and since there is no soundproofing in the building we have to listen to everything from the guests next door - we can hear every word they say as if they were in the same room, even the sound of the toilet being flushed, not to mention the television, which they switch on at 7 am and sounds like we are in a public cinema.

So dear Manager, if you read this review please note that room 309 (the downstairs room we are currently in) desperately needs some soundproofing!!!!



  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear 998876,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We regret to hear of your inconvenience in the guest room allocated to you. In order for us to address your concerns immediately and in a timely manner to resolve your concerns, do reach out to our Guest Services or request to speak to our Guest Services Manager who will be glad to assist you.

Hope your stay with us was memorable and for any concerns, do reach out to the Management in the future.

Warm Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My 5 night stay at Sheraton Maldives beat my expectations, in terms of the resort and the staff overall. There were 3 of us, and we stayed at the Beach Cottage, which is few meters away from the beach. The staff were very helpful and friendly in terms of accommodating us and ensuring us that each day is great. I will break down in each category:

Food: We had buffet breakfast at Feast everyday. I think the value for the buffet is good, and they have Maldivian cuisine as well as others. There are many choices to choose from. We also had couple lunches at the Beach Bar, which was great as well. They grilled the food outdoors and serve you on the beach. We tried the Thai restaurant for dinner and couple of dinners at Anchorage bar. We loved our dinners, and although it's a bit expensive but we are on vacation and at a resort so we didn't mind paying.

Room: We had the Beach Cottage which was really nice. I was disappointed that I wasn't upgraded to Bungalow but there was 3 of us anyways so it wouldn't fit. Room was very comfortable and we have a little patio outside overlooking the beach bar and sand. We also have the outdoor shower and bath which was a real treat for us. Hot shower was great every morning.

Service: I think the staff were very attentive to us and very friendly. We were always greeted by them and were offered rides on the golf cart when we were walking from the lounge to our room. Not to mention, the housekeeping kept our room really nice and overall the resort looked really well maintained and clean. I used the gym everyday and it was also very well maintained. We also attended SPG gathering, for SPG members and get to mingle with some of the hotel staff.

Resort is a bit close to the airport so sometimes you do hear the planes flying but not very often. It didn't bother us. As for atmosphere, it is the Maldives and the island and beaches looked so heavenly. We were really happy during our vacation and can't wait to return someday :-)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cookiebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear cookiebeast,

Thank you for your wonderful and detailed review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you had a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The resort is great with nice service and the wonderful seaview. Maldives is a great place. I stayed at the water bungalow, the view and the sea is perfect. I love to swim with such lovely fishes.

The only thing which should be mentioned is it is located near the airport. The noise from planes might disturb you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chi Kin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Cheung,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you had a relaxing stay with us and enjoyed our picturesque sea view from our water bungalows.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I know I had expectations from having stayed at the Hilton on a prior visit (now Conrad), however this resort has so much good, but so much more to be done. The staff were pretty good and the service overall was very good. But the little things let this down. Stir fried bacon??? Yes, I like bacon but not chunked and looking like it stuck to the wok. The decks and woodwork were in poor condition throughout and we had to endure the sight of workmen replacing sections using power saws and nail guns with zero safety other than flip flops on their bare feet. The room we stayed in had no insect screens in the bathroom (hello mosquito bites at night....) and we had to keep the door closed so our bathroom was always wet. But my greatest disappointment was the very very average meal we had at Sea Salt who somehow murdered my steak twice. Baan Thai was just average but a USD140 experience for two people with a couple of drinks. Sand Coast was, well, just ordinary. My best experiences were with a wonderfully refreshing waiter in Drifters who was always happy and offered great service. The rest of the resort was great but this place is just average and dare I say it a lazy effort from the SPG group. Being SPG Gold I'm not going again but I will still think of going back for more Indian Ocean Sunsets.

Room Tip: We would not recommend the deluxe rooms, even the SPG ones we stayed at. Perhaps try the cottages or...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Peter,

Thank you for being a loyal member of SPG and for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor.

We are dissapointed to read that we have not met your expectations during your recent stay with us.

We carry out regular maintenance work to maintain the condition and well being of property and we will certainly look into your feedback regarding safety observations.

We are surprised however that you found our culinary experience a dissapointment. We would have welcomed an opportunity to attend to your concerns during your stay and assist you.

We hope to welcome you in one of our Starwood properties worldwide.

Kind Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed for 4 days in this resort and were very satisfied. We got this package from Emirates Holidays at a very good rate and we are aware that this is not the top-end Maldives resort that you see in travel mag pics so we don't have very high expectations. We are however pleasantly surprised that the resort is actually very nice. We had a villa a few steps from the beach (but not beachfront) and which is near the pool and the Feast restaurant where breakfast is served daily. We loved the room especially the outdoor rain shower and tub which gives you the feeling of being in a real tropical resort. We loved the beach (the calm waters seems to be always warm no matter what time of day) and there is a huge variety of fish in the shallow waters itself (there are also rays and reef sharks). We also went on a snorkelling trip (off Bandos I think) but actually there are more fish in the resort's beach itself than in that reef that we went to so the money spent on this trip is not worth it. No need to go on this snorkelling trip offered by the hotel. We also liked the hotel's gift shop which has beautiful souvenirs (much much better than the ones in the airport). Overall a very memorable experience. We would love to come back for a longer time.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms near the pool are the best but price of course would be a little higher
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anna Kerima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Anna,

Thank you for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us on your short break.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We picked this hotel because we are SPG members and we know Starwood actually owns this place rather than act only as operator, this ownership ensures this resort maintains certain level of Sheraton service standard. The second reason we choose it based on the fact of we were travelling with a child and a senior citizen, being close to Male made us feel comfortable because we prefer not to fly the water airplane just in case for bad weather . I know some people complained about the airplane noisy which lasted until later nights and there were frequent flights, but it wasn’t bad at all in terms of visual and noisy distribution for all 5 days.

Very professional service: it didn’t take long since we found the reception desk at Male airport until arrive at the hotel jetty/check in lobby. People offered us water and life jackets when we boarded, luggage have been looked after properly. Ten minutes boat ride was pleasant. Check in was efficient and friendly. We have been transferred on a golf buggy to our rooms and the driver gave us a tour about the hotel. Check out was efficient as well. Whenever we asked for help, there was people respond promptly. It was over 90% occupancy when we there, but we never waited too long for transportation.

We booked one water villa and one beach front deluxe, both rooms were very nice. Rooms were spacious and clean, with plenty of drinking water and fresh towels. Although there are hug distance between two rooms, transportation was never an issue. I have to mention the in room coffee machine (at our water villa) which made delicious cups. Comfortable beds. Well air-conditioned. TV has many international channels. The only problem was internet; even the paid one wasn’t very fast. However the business center’s computers were good enough as we only responded to some messages.

In general F&B were good, very typical resort style. Breakfast was busy, food selection was OK, and coffee could be better but truly enjoyed fresh orange juice every morning. Sampled every restaurant, the most expensive one was the one with fresh seafood BBQ, the rest were around US$ 50 per head. We loved relax at the beach front bar with beer special deal to watch sunset and shark feeding at 6 PM every day.

Swimming pool was a bit dirty especially at the deep end. We spend most of them at the back of water villa. There are live coral right underneath, we didn’t need to swim far for snorkeling, unbelievable amount and variety of fish almost at touching distance. We even spotted a reef shark. Life jackets in the rooms were very helpful for not so confident swimmers especially when the sea was wavy.

The sunset dolphin cruise is a must activity—we saw a whole group of them and spend quite a while to enjoy such a wonderful experience. Crew members looked after everybody well, cold drinks were provided and they tried hard to make sure we saw as much as we could.

We thoroughly enjoy our 5 days at this resort and would like to come back. This place may not be the best choice for people who are looking for quiet and romantic hideaways in Maldives, but for someone who wants to experience this country with convenience, this resort can be truly enjoyable.

Room Tip: Choose water villa or water banglow if you can afford,this may save you some water actitives money.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MinibearX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis R, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear MinibearX,

Thank you for the wonderful and very detailed review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that your family had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our beautiful resort and many activities that it has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Jean-Louis Ripoche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furanafushi Island
24.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,488 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,572 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,035 reviews
18.4 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
5,761 reviews
10.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa

Address: 20-15
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > Furanafushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Furanafushi Island
Price Range: £272 - £666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa is situated on it's own private island surrounded by tropical landscaping and turquoise lagoons. With 176 guest rooms reflecting the tropical destination featuring the Sheraton Signature Bed. Facing the sunrise with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean are 20 Ocean Villas offer large bathrooms, comfortable living spaces and luxurious outdoor living areas complete with infinity edge plunge pools.Sheraton Maldives is just a 20-minute boat ride from Velena International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Hotel North Male Atoll
Full Moon Maldives
Full Moon Hotel Maldives
Full Moon Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing