We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really what you expect from all-inclusive”
Review of Sun Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sun Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not really what you expect from all-inclusive”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We went 2 couples in September, Spent almost 18 hours of our travel time waiting at airports for flight changes (12 hours waiting time for 50 minutes flight in empty airport at Sri Lanka Colombo!) but thats a Virgin Holidays issue not resort.
About the resort, booked all-inclusive experience and was expecting at least the same as we get when going to Dominican republic but no- its very very limited.

Thins that's gone wrong:
- Location - we expected it to be far from main atol island with airport mamagili or something but it was actually so close you could see it all the time in the distance, still much more exotic than Domincan Republic
- Deluxe Bungalows pretty poor standard, ants everywhere found one cockroach
- Food very limited comparing to what you get in Dominican Republic (good deserts though)
- Staff unfriendly, you will get full mini bar in your room but they wont tell you that some things are not free for all-inclusive and you will find that out next day when a surprise bill comes in
- Cheeky move with cheap underwater camera on a table looking as free but when you open the box they will charge a bill of 25$, refuse to pay that bill
- island is huge and to get anywhere you really need a bicycle which is 5$ a day( or more fo one with a bucket in front)
- all inclusive drinks are very limited, forget about free coktails etc.
- we arrived as 4 people but initially were told we are not allowed to sit together at the dinner, which i made allowed after expressing my anger for this funny policy
- views are beautifull unless you dont mind bags of sand visible after shore being washed, it stayed like that for the whole stay
- waiters pretend to be friendly, you wont get a good service untill making a complain
- not really much to do in the evenings, aprat from shark and stingray feeding, no entertainment


Good things:

Beautifull Views, had a good weather (week of storms before our arrival as we were told), great location for pictures, sunsets, swimming pool, deserts, free internet in coffe bar

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Phillip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,229
    774
    257
    92
    84
See reviews for
437
1,558
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 721 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Sun Island is a very good resort, a little bit distant from Male airport (3h by boat) when you already had travelled for a lot of ours, but after this 1st day...everything is there. The water bungalows are amazing, and the island is very good. Snorkeling is a must. Service is competent. Lowlight: restaurant staff.

Room Tip: Take your snorkel material. It's too expensive to rent. Look for 'the' sunset spot: amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miguel2770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

If You have a chance to choice Maldives on your vacation, for sure -Do It!
It's real miracle on earth! You will never forget the view, the bungalows on water ( so cool!) with stairs straight to the Indian Ocean, which is... most clear and so turquoise that you will get an eye pain from just looking at this powerful colour!;)
Be aware- sharks are really everywhere , even very close to the beach ( next miracle with crabs on it:!) but these are reef sharks and they 'usually' doesn't kill people ;) No words to describe the nature after seen Maldives.
But we were not really happy about waiting staff (check your bills every time - because when you drink 2 mojitos, after all it appears on a bill that You've drink 5 mojitos or sth else). The thing is ... That we've had all inclusive (!) and we've had to buy drinks:(
But if You ask me to go again - Of course I ' ll do !!!!!!! Always Yes for Maldives!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Windsor, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was our 4th time on Sun Island, and we were there for 4 weeks. It is an amazing place, everyone is friendly and can't do enough for you. This is one of the larger islands and there's alot for you to do, if you want.
The spa is excellent, mostly outdoors, there's nothing quite like having a massage listening to the ocean.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed in sun island for 7 days and they were all unforgettable .we had lot of water sports and the staff there were amazing.they always helped my kids with the sports and they were always smiling.we will definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennykats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weinheim, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is a very nice resort except for the fact that it doesn´t have that many snorkeling options. There is a huge snorkeling lagoon around the island, but you´ll mainly see sand and water, if you want to see a nice reef you´ll have to pay around 50 dollars per person for a 2-3 hour trip somewhere else. The small airport at Maamigili and the local airline Flyme (or Villa Air) are a problem as they aren´t well organized which causes delays and other unpleasant situations that might not be welcome if you´ve been flying for many hours. About the service at Sun Island, I´d like to highlight how nice and helpful the Filipino staff at Reception and Guest Desk were compared to the local staff. The great things about this resort are: 1) Its food. 2) It´s quite big compared to other Maldivian islands and you get to rent a bike for around 5 dollars a day. 3) You get to see sharks and rays being fed every night. 4) The color of the water. 5) The rooms are nice and clean. 6) It offers many activities such as a trip to see dolphins, another to see whale sharks (although it seems to me that you don´t get to see them as often as they claim), a snorkeling trip, a fishing trip, trips to the local island of Maamigili, etc. 7) The rooms have solar water heaters which are good for the environment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Odon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
no
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

After a long way to the Maldives, we arrived in a heavenly resort. Beautiful marine life, coral reef and wonderfull water. Styng ray feeding was really nice. Whale shark was worth going to see it - beautiful experience.
You will find one of the most beatiful beaches in the world and most relaxing place you can go to.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beereefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nalaguraidhoo Island
15.0 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Maamingili Island
625 reviews
24.8 mi away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
891 reviews
6.6 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
2,988 reviews
10.6 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Resort

Property: Sun Island Resort
Address: 2100
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Nalaguraidhoo Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nalaguraidhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island measuring about 1.6 km in length and around 380 meters in width has 350 elegantly furnished guestrooms, including 72 water bungalows, out of which, 4 are Presidential Suites, 218 Super Deluxe Beach Bungalows and 60 Deluxe Beach Bungalows. All Deluxe and Super Deluxe Beach Bungalows are built on the beach ensuring a direct view of the shore and sea. All Water Bungalows are built on stilts in the lagoon overlooking the vast horizon of either the sunrise or sunset view, from your private deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sun Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel South Ari Atoll
Sun Island Resort Maldives
Sun Island Maldives
Hotel Sun Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing