We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun Island Serenity”
Review of Sun Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sun Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sun Island Serenity”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This resort is a mixed environment Island. Multiple nationalities. couples and family groups, although limited activities for the under fives. We stayed for 10 nights in March and apart from two rainy sessions, (which were quite welcome to be honest), the sun shone down with a vengeance. There's the first warning, factor 50 for the fair to middle tone skin types (European and Mediterranean), else the first day will spoil the rest of the holiday. This resort is very well equipped for the accomplished and budding diver. Diveoceanus is run by Ali Shafiu, an excellent instructor along with a multilingual staff (English being the primary language). We did our PADI confined water and basic training with the Oxford Dive Centre in the UK to take full advantage of the referral path to Open Water Diver. I would recommend this path for anyone staying 7 nights or less, else your diving experience in the Maldives will be taken up with training and not a lot else. This was a fantastic experience and is like swimming in an aquarium. The water was warmer than the 2013 English summer! 32c. There is a free bubble maker taster session at the resort, so you wont find yourself financially committed to trying this and hating it. All gear is supplied for training and all is available to rent. If diving deep is not your thing, snorkelling along the house reef will certainly open your eyes to the undiscovered world under the surface. again, all gear is available to hire or the shops on the Island have gear to buy. (Fins, mask and snorkel... or bring your own, we did). I bought a second hand 5 mega pixel underwater camera for £20 on e-bay and with the superb visibility even at 18 mtrs,(viz 50mtrs plus) got some superb shots. Higher spec gear is again available for hire at Diveoceanus.
Along with the warning about factor 50, I would also recommend getting a rash vest which gives an additional factor 50 protection, whilst snorkelling. (second warning) You very quickly lose track of time and a blistered back is no fun... do your tanning on the beach or by the infinity pool.
We went for the full board package (non-drinkers). Loads of food, although the main restaurant menu did become a little repetitive after a week.. but that's only to be expected. Fresh fruit, vegetables, hot and cold choices, cakes, pastries.. . Be aware that drinks not available at the servery are extra at meal times.
There are themed nights and several other restaurants on the Island at extra cost but are well worth the visit. They are discounted for the all inclusive holiday guests. Pool side bar for the drinkers. Bottled water supplied to your room each day. Free internet access at public areas, golf, gym, spa and pamper sessions.
Rooms, even the bottom of the range, are spacious, clean and well equipped. Seclusion is there if you want it, your own private beach section, in amongst the tropical canopy, the occasional screech from the birds or bats... that's quite a sight, seeing the bats flit between the Islands in the twilight...
Go swim with Whale Sharks, go Island Hopping, visit the villages on nearby Islands.. or laze in the sun. Go feed the sting Rays .. they eat out of your hand..

Learn basic sailing skills and take very stable catamaran dinghy's out in the lagoon.

We came back with a shed load of memories and photos and really miss the place and especially the people. They certainly know how to make you feel welcome. Its where the politicians go for conferences, so even the Maldivian hierarchy holiday here.

This is a Muslim country, so don't expect to go topless here. Ladies, do bring a lose shirt or blouse and a thin wrap around skirt or knee length shorts for the restaurant.

If this is the most expensive trip you ever take in your life, then pick the right season ( march - april), come prepared to try something adventurous, second honeymoon? This is the place. It wont disappoint.

Total spend for two for 13 day holiday, ten nights on the Island, £4800, which included our diving costs. You can make it cheaper half board and still wont go hungry. This is probably the better bet for those using the dive centre throughout the stay.

Room Tip: Bring good sandals trainers as some rooms are a good 10-15 minute walk from the restaurants, althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,178
    754
    249
    88
    82
See reviews for
421
1,507
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for our anniversary. We had booked the water villas and it was the most beautiful experience of my life. The rooms had complete privacy, direct access to the water and a sun deck. Their water sports offering were also great. My husband and I went on a 2 hour Jet Ski Tour and it was amazing. We went with a guide and got of on a floating island...we actually saw dolphins also. One must try the couples massage that they offer and be sure not to miss the orientation where they explain the facilities of the island and also give you a 30% discount vouch for the spa.

Room Tip: If you aren't an early riser, ensure you select the sunset villa. Also, the distances on the isl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RNG2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 10 days. It was an amazing stay. You can did there anything you want - solitude or fun. In wonderful beach bungalows you have your own beach. Lots of water sports. I liked very much to move around on bike. The territory isn't small and is not too big either, but very beautiful both in design and nature. I put 4 for cleanliness only because there were some construction works, but it was out of season anyway and wasn't bothering. Just that it attracts your attention. Liked the food very much, even took some recipe ideas home. But the best part of course is the sea. It's color is always different and always wonderful. Great pictures. It's good both for snorkeling (at the house reef or just around) and diving - it's around 50 locations, the boat goes everyday twice, every time another location or safari. Guys in the diving center are really good - friendly and proficient. Overall it's great value for money. I would definitely like to come for a second time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surat, gujarat
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Visited sun Island with friends & not one bit less of what we expected.
This place is excellent - lovely place, food, staff & ambiance...
Apart from the hotel meals, indulge yourself in bar & restaurants; water-sports or just laze around on the beach!
A number of spots offer wi-fi connection - do take advantage of those.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrakashHathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

It is ok, but only average. I expected more from Maldivian island. It cant be compared to Holiday island whic is much better. For Sun island can only say that food, stingray feeding (free of charge), is perfect. All other things, activities, shopping and ect is more expensive then on Holiday island. Here you get 'key card' whic is a paper card with your room number, and ID detailes. Bad idea when you think that you are in very humid area and on the sea. You al pay with key card, they dont like if you tell them youre room number or even show them room key.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borut G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We went 2 couples in September, Spent almost 18 hours of our travel time waiting at airports for flight changes (12 hours waiting time for 50 minutes flight in empty airport at Sri Lanka Colombo!) but thats a Virgin Holidays issue not resort.
About the resort, booked all-inclusive experience and was expecting at least the same as we get when going to Dominican republic but no- its very very limited.

Thins that's gone wrong:
- Location - we expected it to be far from main atol island with airport mamagili or something but it was actually so close you could see it all the time in the distance, still much more exotic than Domincan Republic
- Deluxe Bungalows pretty poor standard, ants everywhere found one cockroach
- Food very limited comparing to what you get in Dominican Republic (good deserts though)
- Staff unfriendly, you will get full mini bar in your room but they wont tell you that some things are not free for all-inclusive and you will find that out next day when a surprise bill comes in
- Cheeky move with cheap underwater camera on a table looking as free but when you open the box they will charge a bill of 25$, refuse to pay that bill
- island is huge and to get anywhere you really need a bicycle which is 5$ a day( or more fo one with a bucket in front)
- all inclusive drinks are very limited, forget about free coktails etc.
- we arrived as 4 people but initially were told we are not allowed to sit together at the dinner, which i made allowed after expressing my anger for this funny policy
- views are beautifull unless you dont mind bags of sand visible after shore being washed, it stayed like that for the whole stay
- waiters pretend to be friendly, you wont get a good service untill making a complain
- not really much to do in the evenings, aprat from shark and stingray feeding, no entertainment


Good things:

Beautifull Views, had a good weather (week of storms before our arrival as we were told), great location for pictures, sunsets, swimming pool, deserts, free internet in coffe bar

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Phillip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
393 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 712 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Sun Island is a very good resort, a little bit distant from Male airport (3h by boat) when you already had travelled for a lot of ours, but after this 1st day...everything is there. The water bungalows are amazing, and the island is very good. Snorkeling is a must. Service is competent. Lowlight: restaurant staff.

Room Tip: Take your snorkel material. It's too expensive to rent. Look for 'the' sunset spot: amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miguel2770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nalaguraidhoo Island
1.7 mi away
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Maamingili Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
15.0 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
24.8 mi away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
6.6 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Resort

Property: Sun Island Resort
Address: 2100
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Nalaguraidhoo Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nalaguraidhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island measuring about 1.6 km in length and around 380 meters in width has 350 elegantly furnished guestrooms, including 72 water bungalows, out of which, 4 are Presidential Suites, 218 Super Deluxe Beach Bungalows and 60 Deluxe Beach Bungalows. All Deluxe and Super Deluxe Beach Bungalows are built on the beach ensuring a direct view of the shore and sea. All Water Bungalows are built on stilts in the lagoon overlooking the vast horizon of either the sunrise or sunset view, from your private deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Sun Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel South Ari Atoll
Sun Island Resort Maldives
Sun Island Maldives
Hotel Sun Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing