We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Island Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have spent 8 days on this wonderful island with my love. The weather was great we had no rainy day! The island is quite big and beautiful. It is goodmidea to rent a bycicle for some days, with that you can discover this island. Intersting is the daily shark and sting ray feeding. Snorkeling near to the beach is disapointing. Local people say that 10 years ago the sea was rich with fishes and corals and shells, but tourists took them to home during the past years. But at the italian restaurant you have chance to look under the big sea!!
The best beach we found at the sport centre, there is no such wind, and the water is clear and hot.
We could not sleep in the room because it was near to the disco, so if you want to sleep at night you should avoid rooms 178-200.
The meal could be better ( more various dishes), butnit was ok. The staff is polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms are noisy between 178-200
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ildiko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 2,514 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

The resort is amazing.Me and my husband travelled last week for our anniversary.Its the perfect place for couples looking for a private getaway to a little paradise on a budget.For the most part we felt like the only ones on the island .The only time you realise that there are so many people on the island is when we went for the buffet breakfast and dinner.The beautiful scenery along with the hospitality of the staff made our stay worthwhile.The superior beach villa rooms are just as good as any five star hotel.Its kept clean and well mantained
Since the island is huge we got around using cycles which we rented out.The snorkellling excursion was the best part of the trip.We chose the island discovery eccursion where they take you by boat to a local island first to see the life of the locals and then to a private island where you can snorkel to your hearts content and they gave us lunch also on the private island.It was like the movie finding nemo watching the fish underwater.The dolphin trip turned out to be a waste as the weather wasnt that great so it just ended up being a bumpy sea ride without seeing any dolphins.Theres stingray and shark feeding every night which is free and we quiet enjoyed it.The view of the ocean from the beach villa is simply great.You feel so relaxed just looking at the views with the gentle breeze flowing while sitting on a beach chair sipping your tea.The meals at the main restaraunt are quiet okay as it comes along with the half meal plan.Although sun star restaraunt serves some better and yummier dishes.But I would advice those travelling to sun island to confirm their flight transfer details in advance with the hotel.In our case the hotel booked us with "flyme" and the flight from male to villa airport was delayed by three hours.It was frustrating as we had already been travelling for more than twenty hours.After the flight we were put in a boat to take us to sun island.Though,the hospitality and the great rooms made us forget the long wait at the airport.Dont forget to take loads of sunscreen, sunglasses and your snorkeling equipment!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sauz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We are here right now and this resort is amazing. I've traveled a lot, including fiji etc. but this hotel brings peace into your soul. I recommend water villas because the view is soo stunning :) the island is larger then other islands and that's good. You can go for a walk or running. Water activities are very good along with diving oportunities. Food is delicious especially indian cusine!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pistoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The Maldives are a beautiful destination.The hotel is great but all inclusive concept is very weak.
Afternoon snack is very terrible. For that money I expected a little bit more of ice-cream, fruits...The staff is friendly and in this respect is all right. I recommended this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuzmanovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

An amazing location, starting with the sea plane transfer an experience not to be missed, then arrived to a small platform just off the resort and collected by speed boat. Resort is not small, our Room was beach front, just step outside and within 10 meters your in the sea, plenty of fish and good snorkelling around just off the beach or jetty! Food is great plenty of choice! Would like to go back someday!

Room Tip: Beach front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 554tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Loved it, absolutely wonderful... the resort its super, great spa, nice and clean bungalows... the staff was just AMAZING, very kind and helpful and sweet. I stayed 15 days in this hotel on a all inclusive bases and I had a wonderful time. The breakfasts were just delicious with a huge offer and variety, fresh fruits...really really good. In the afternoon, they would serve us a coffee and cake and cookies... The place it's paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClaudiaDeSousa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Whist the place is beautiful and we have no complaints about this or the accommodation, the food is awful. We went on an all inclusive basis enticed by the prospect of eating in any of the restaurants but found out that all meals must be taken in the main restaurant. The value they put on this food is 20% of eating at the other restaurants. The main restaurant is like a canteen but much worse. The cooked food is warm at best and always overcooked and you have to be quick if you wish to have any choice. It was an awful experience. We complained and had a meeting with the Duty Manager but he did not even have the courtesy to come back with a response to our complaints. They also restrict all inclusive customers to where you can drink. In effect for us there was one bar.

Room Tip: make sure you choose a beach front room - the garden rooms have no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SUSANGORDON48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nalaguraidhoo Island
15.0 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Maamingili Island
645 reviews
24.8 mi away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
915 reviews
6.6 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
3,149 reviews
10.6 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Resort and Spa

Address: 2100 (Formerly Sun Island Resort)
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Nalaguraidhoo Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nalaguraidhoo Island
Price Range: £111 - £580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Island Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island measuring about 1.6 km in length and around 380 meters in width has 350 elegantly furnished guestrooms, including 72 water bungalows, out of which, 4 are Presidential Suites, 218 Super Deluxe Beach Bungalows and 60 Deluxe Beach Bungalows. All Deluxe and Super Deluxe Beach Bungalows are built on the beach ensuring a direct view of the shore and sea. All Water Bungalows are built on stilts in the lagoon overlooking the vast horizon of either the sunrise or sunset view, from your private deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel South Ari Atoll
Sun Island Resort Maldives
Sun Island Maldives
Hotel Sun Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing