We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must stay in the overwater bungalows!”
Review of Sun Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Must stay in the overwater bungalows!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent a week here over Christmas. It is important to point out that we got a good deal and had read previous reviews. Therefore, weren't expecting a super luxurious, five-star hotel. We booked an overwater bungalow and were on half-board. So now the details…

FOOD: I would NOT recommend this hotel unless you book a water bungalow. The guests staying in the water bungalows have their own restaurant which is more intimate and civilized, especially for those on meal plans. There were a few occasions (Christmas Eve Gala, Maldivian Gala Night) where we were forced to eat at the massive main restaurant with the entire resort (1,000 people) and it was a mad house. The buffet opened at 8pm, and by 8:10 half the food was gone. People were grabbing multiple plates and stacking them sky-high with food. Not my style. This never occurred at the smaller restaurant and there was always plenty no matter what time you showed up for dinner. As for food quality, my husband and I found the food to be quite good. Based on past reviews, we had very low expectations going in to it and instead were pleasantly surprised. Was it fancy? Nope. Did it taste good? Yep. We especially enjoyed the Indian food. I ate curry almost every night and was in heaven. We did try both the Italian restaurant and Thai which were also quite good.

ROOM: While not fancy or modern, it was sufficient and always clean. We did get ants in the bathroom after sunset, but it didn't bother us too much. Once again, absolutely splurge for the water bungalow. It is the only way.

SPA: A must! We loved the spa and spoiled ourselves with twice-a-day treatments. If you keep the same therapist you get 15% off future treatments, so we stuck with the same two women (which we were happy to do since they were awesome) and basically tried everything on the menu.

SERVICE: Everyone was friendly. High praise goes to our spa therapists (Kadet and another woman from Bali -perhaps Andray?) and the gentleman from Bangladesh who runs the Golf Bar/Cafe. There were a few occasion where you got the sense that the employees are trained to do only their tasks and if something pops up they are unable to handle the situation. For instance, we were waiting to see if the Whale Shark trip would be canceled due to poor weather and in the meantime tried to eat breakfast at the larger restaurant since it is closer to the lobby. They said no. In most other hotels, it wouldn't be problem (it is the exact same food at both locations).

ISLAND: The island is quite big for the Maldives, but we didn't think that bikes were necessary. We happily walked everywhere. There are sandbags on the north side of the island as the water there can be choppy due to the wind and erodes the beach. The south side, where the water bungalows are, is definitely the nicest part of the island. There is good snorkeling near the Italian restaurant. Bring your own snorkel gear and water shoes!

Would we go back? Probably not. There are simply too many places in the world to see. However, it was a nice week and we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gchiapparine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,182
    756
    249
    88
    82
See reviews for
422
1,511
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent ten days here. Originally booked into a beachfront room - they all are- we upgraded to one of the water bungalows after a few days. Not necessary to enjoy your stay, but the feeling of spoiling yourself was worth it to us. The food in the various restaurants is competent if not spectacular. Drinks can work out a bit pricey if you go out each evening. The beaches and views are incredible and the snorkeling is some of the best around if you push out from the beaches a bit. Incredibly friendly staff, always polite, courteous and friendly. A bit of advice on traveling here, pay the extra for the float plane out from Male, after the long trip, the last thing you want to do is spend another 2 1/2 hours on a boat getting there. Also ten dollars, or more, to your room boy on arrival will ensure a very attentive staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller2037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

A huge thank you to all the staff and natural beauty of the Maldives for yet another Christmas in paradise. Our third island stay across the Maldives and this resort does not disappoint. Highlights: the staff, food, amazing gala nights both for Christmas Eve and the Maldevian night, ability to find a deserted stretch of beach at any point of day and of course the fact it's the Maldives. Slight gripe - not the best for snorkelling. Only one area for house reef snorkelling which is a disappointment however, not the resorts fault so do one of their snorkeling trips if you're a first timer as you just don't see the magical representation of fish at this island. Passing on many thanks to staff (esp Ali, waiter, Lacmar main bar, Dulal beach/pool and our room boy 473. I hope senior level of management realise how lucky they are to have such welcoming, friendly and helpful staff at EVERY level. Superb staff across whole island (even gardener and sweepers made our holiday so happy). One wee thing to potential customers from all countries... Please, please show the staff this same respect. How hard is it to say "please" "thank you" or even just a SMILE when they smile at you. Wishing all staff a great 2014 and a huge THANK YOU :-)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank emandjonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is really nice place, beautiful beaches, great service, good snorkelling (especially near the Italian restaurant, I would say even better than half day snorkelling trips), various things to do etc.
We were in superior beach bungalows and the rooms are pretty basic, what is missing is a hint of luxury and some improvements in the buffet. But overall highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena_Maputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have spent 8 days on this wonderful island with my love. The weather was great we had no rainy day! The island is quite big and beautiful. It is goodmidea to rent a bycicle for some days, with that you can discover this island. Intersting is the daily shark and sting ray feeding. Snorkeling near to the beach is disapointing. Local people say that 10 years ago the sea was rich with fishes and corals and shells, but tourists took them to home during the past years. But at the italian restaurant you have chance to look under the big sea!!
The best beach we found at the sport centre, there is no such wind, and the water is clear and hot.
We could not sleep in the room because it was near to the disco, so if you want to sleep at night you should avoid rooms 178-200.
The meal could be better ( more various dishes), butnit was ok. The staff is polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms are noisy between 178-200
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ildiko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

The resort is amazing.Me and my husband travelled last week for our anniversary.Its the perfect place for couples looking for a private getaway to a little paradise on a budget.For the most part we felt like the only ones on the island .The only time you realise that there are so many people on the island is when we went for the buffet breakfast and dinner.The beautiful scenery along with the hospitality of the staff made our stay worthwhile.The superior beach villa rooms are just as good as any five star hotel.Its kept clean and well mantained
Since the island is huge we got around using cycles which we rented out.The snorkellling excursion was the best part of the trip.We chose the island discovery eccursion where they take you by boat to a local island first to see the life of the locals and then to a private island where you can snorkel to your hearts content and they gave us lunch also on the private island.It was like the movie finding nemo watching the fish underwater.The dolphin trip turned out to be a waste as the weather wasnt that great so it just ended up being a bumpy sea ride without seeing any dolphins.Theres stingray and shark feeding every night which is free and we quiet enjoyed it.The view of the ocean from the beach villa is simply great.You feel so relaxed just looking at the views with the gentle breeze flowing while sitting on a beach chair sipping your tea.The meals at the main restaraunt are quiet okay as it comes along with the half meal plan.Although sun star restaraunt serves some better and yummier dishes.But I would advice those travelling to sun island to confirm their flight transfer details in advance with the hotel.In our case the hotel booked us with "flyme" and the flight from male to villa airport was delayed by three hours.It was frustrating as we had already been travelling for more than twenty hours.After the flight we were put in a boat to take us to sun island.Though,the hospitality and the great rooms made us forget the long wait at the airport.Dont forget to take loads of sunscreen, sunglasses and your snorkeling equipment!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sauz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We are here right now and this resort is amazing. I've traveled a lot, including fiji etc. but this hotel brings peace into your soul. I recommend water villas because the view is soo stunning :) the island is larger then other islands and that's good. You can go for a walk or running. Water activities are very good along with diving oportunities. Food is delicious especially indian cusine!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pistoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nalaguraidhoo Island
1.7 mi away
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Maamingili Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
15.0 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
24.8 mi away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
6.6 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Resort

Property: Sun Island Resort
Address: 2100
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Nalaguraidhoo Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nalaguraidhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island measuring about 1.6 km in length and around 380 meters in width has 350 elegantly furnished guestrooms, including 72 water bungalows, out of which, 4 are Presidential Suites, 218 Super Deluxe Beach Bungalows and 60 Deluxe Beach Bungalows. All Deluxe and Super Deluxe Beach Bungalows are built on the beach ensuring a direct view of the shore and sea. All Water Bungalows are built on stilts in the lagoon overlooking the vast horizon of either the sunrise or sunset view, from your private deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel South Ari Atoll
Sun Island Resort Maldives
Sun Island Maldives
Hotel Sun Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing