We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sun Island Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Island Resort & Spa(Maamingili Island)
US$670
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
LUX* South Ari Atoll(Dhidhoofinolhu Island)
US$633
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$440
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$885
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$630
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$578
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vakarufalhi Island Resort(Vakarufalhi Island)
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$555
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$542
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Maafushivaru(Southern Ari Atoll)
US$701
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$668
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$384
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,012)
Filter reviews
3,012 results
Traveller rating
1,619
905
290
104
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,619
905
290
104
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater bungalowmain barshark feedingsun island resortitalian restaurantsea planebeach barour waiterfishwater sportscoffee shopour honeymoonhired bikesroom boyper dayhalf boardsuperior beach bungalow
Filter
Updating list...
993 - 998 of 3,012 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Do not listen to people who pull this place down, If they compare it to spain and mexico then it shows what type of holliday they enjoy and should go back to 3 star hotels,
I have been to sun island 4 times in the last 6 years and have booked to go back in march 2010, Any one going here for the first time, dont worry, it is fine, you always get someone who can not be pleased nomater were they go,

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mettca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

I agree with another review about this island and firmly believe that the people that rate this island as 'fantastic ' can only be people that are use to experiencing 3 star package holidays on the costa brava and as such see this island as paradise. The sand and the colour of the sea is breath taking, but it is the Indian Ocean and that is where the beauty ended for us. Our holiday to sun island was an early hoony moon as our wedding to Mexico was cancelled due to the swine flu epidemic. We never expected to visit somewhere as exotic as the Maldives and were very excited prior to our arrival. We were very disappointed. We were horrified that on arrival we were given wrist bands to highlight to the staff that we were all inclusive. I did not expect having spent so much on a luxury holiday and being on an island that they would feel the need to do this and immediately was saddened that our photo's with us in our lovely clothes would be spoiled by these awful coloured bands. The room was extremely basic and not at all like the ones advertised in the brochures. Again, if we had paid less this would have been fine but I kept on having to remind myself how much we had spent on this holiday for luxury that we did not get. We never received our promised honey moon package despite asking for this, it never came. We were never told that the all inclusive package is very basic meaning that you can only eat in one restaraunt and drink at either a hut on the beach or the main bar. The other restaraunts and drinking places are scandalously expensive, the prawn cocktail starter being $37! Cocktails are not included in the all inclusive option either and are very expensive neither is the coffee or tea in the rooms and if you want a soft drink from the mini bar this will be around £5. The most disappointing of all is that the staff were simply awful. We had one lovely waiter that served on us for the two weeks in the buffett restaurant. He was sweet and well mannered and was a blessing to us as we were so disappointed with the other staff. They were incredibly rude and miserable and it is almost expected that you tip for everything. The boy that made our bed every morning knocked on our door on several occassions with his palm stretched out to us telling us he had made our bed that morning. On the last night they decorated our bed for us which was lovely but it was then followed by him knocking on the door that evening for a ten minute period wanting a tip. We ignored the door as were so annoyed at this by this stage. If you want a spot on the beach underneath shade you are expected to tip handsomely as if you dont someone may tip a higher price and consequently the next morning the shaded spots will all be taken,The table service at the bar was horrendous and we were very patient with them. Other couples that we befriended also complained of their upset over this. One tall man in particular with a moustache was just appaling in his manner and lack of work ethic and made us not want to go for a drink there. The women that sweep the beaches are old and practically hunched in appearance from the years of sweeping the beaches, it is awful to see and I felt so guilty lying down as they swept around us (guilt is not what you want to feel on a luxury holiday)! The food however was lovely and the sand and the sea did not make this experience totally negative however I will certainly never return and feel it will only be a matter of time before the poor service and horrendous attitude the people have in that resort reaches the ears of travel company's globally. With the political climate the way it is people splashing out on luxury holidays want just that and aside from the beach and the sea we could have easily be in a 3 star hotel in blackpool, at least we would have had friendly service here! Just to add that we have never complained about anything in our lives before!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank mole01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 9 nights and i did not regret it at all.As i know about tourism business i have to admit that it is very well organized.Private place on the beach for each room,private table on the buffet restaurant so you do not have to wait for a table.Every day there was guy who cleaned the room and he was so gentle.The nightlife included light traditional and international programme at main bar,loungr music at the beach bar and theme special nights.There are many things to do from sports to restaurants,or just enjoy for hours the sun.Perfect for couples and honeymoon!The only thing i did not expect is the <<Special Offer >>they proposed us.This included one less overnight than arranged ,but a free dinner at Thai restaurant ( as we had to pay for it because we had the <<all inclusive>>)the last night ,a free flight and hotel overnight to Male and a tour to the city.It was everything ok but the city is not worth much.It is very crowded,dirty,alcohol is prohibited and the tour was 5 hours by foot!!!Do not accept the offer!!!I wish i spent my last day on the island!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EiriniSpiliotopoulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We've just had the most fantastic fortnight on Sun island. The Island itself is a tropical paradise with lush green vegitation and amazing wildlife. On our first morning there the beach attendant Kumar introduced himself and from there on looked after our needs for the whole holiday keeping our sunbeds and beach umbrella for us no matter what time we surfaced from our bed morning or afternoon.

The bar staff were also excellent especially Naseem who would bring us fresh drinks before we had finished the ones we were already drinking. The barman of the pool bar Joseph was also very attentive and quite a character. In fact all of the staff were absolutely fantastic.

The secret is to tip the staff a couple of dollars each day and they treat you like Royalty ( Not in a Russian or French revolutionary kind of way though ).

I would also like to thank our rep Nic for looking after us when my partner developed a water infection. She personally telephoned the doctor and took us to the medical centre where we were soon sorted out with some medication at a very reasonable cost.

I have no hesitation in recommending this resort to anyone. The island is beautiful, the sea is beautiful and the staff are beautiful ( apart from Joseph who's as ugly as sin ). Only kidding mate !

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Buzzcock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

we have just returned from sun island resort and must say that it was an excellent holiday .we flew with first choice on 4th may for 2 weeks . i must praise them for the well organised transfers to & from the airport . the hotel has everything you could want , excellent food , brilliant staff & a beautiful beach . the weather was perfect . i won't go into too much detail , but all i can say is that we will return to this island . we made good friends while we were there & would like to thank Simon & Debbie & Rose & Albert for their great company . I hope if you go to Sun Island you'll leave with great memories as we have .

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews