We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise, perhaps!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Paradise, perhaps!”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

September 2012 we returned to Hudhuranfushi for the fifth time since our first trip in 2006!
We have seen a few changes over the years, water bungalows, change in management, refurbished rooms, but come Xmas every year when we plan our next holiday, one place always stands out as a great location for tropical luxury and great surf! Now that Thomson no longer feature this hotel, the price has rocketed and I guess will continue to do so and it's not 4*, more like 3.5* with the beautiful Indian ocean, great surf and peaceful beaches rated 10*!
The surf is perfect for the mature surfer (52) and son (14) to enjoy relatively safe and fun world class waves, without being dragged over fire coral reefs and delaing with violent locals!
Our waiter, Abdullah has been looking after us each year for 4 years, as indeed have Rich and Amy, the surf guides! Rich has a passing resemblance to Kelly Slater and probably would give him a run for his money in those waves!
Ignore the negative reviews on here, chill out in paradise, enjoy the relaxed vibe, tip the guys working in the bar area and don't go taking photos of the grouting and plumbing!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    533
    234
    105
    72
See reviews for
241
1,091
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

we stayed for a week at christmas time and we loved it!the staff was amazing.very clean room.the food was delisious .i havent see such a choice of food .non of it repeated for a week.
the water is christal clear.amazing colours.
white sand
its great island to go on a holiday!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GINCHONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

I came here for a scuba diving break amazing diving and sunsets here. As I visited with a mate in a dive holiday evenings were quiet as only the hotel bar to visit as everyone's on honey moon. Small gym that's adequate. Food was ok became a bit repetitive but was ok. Rooms spacious we had front sea view which was nice and the bathrooms unusual with the shower being outside felt strange going to the bathroom in daylight but noone could see you. Staff friendly and the transfer from the airport is by speed boat this is like a free excursion in its self. Had a great time and met great people here. Maldives is a must for diving n snorkeling.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandyibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We had a lovely honeymoon at the Hudhuranfushi resort. We loved the welcome we received ( a cold towel and drink), and always felt welcome and treated excellently whilst there. Our waitor (Wisam or 'Sam') was brilliant, treated us brilliantly and led us to really enjoy our mealtimes. The resort was well kept, well looked after, we felt comfortable in our room, and all the room staff/maintenance staff worked very well and very hard.
Our villa (number 200) was on the 'nicer' side of the island, where the water is calm, and is close to the nice beach and sea. Any of the villas from 175-220 are in this great position. The bars are nice, a good amount of food options in the restaurant (although after 2 weeks did get a little repetitive!). We did a whole load of the watersports (including jet skiing, snorkel excursion, crazy shark, canoeing) and we loved every minute of them. The staff were wonderful here too. We also went on the Dolphin Search Cruise, but alas, no dolphins were found! Only go on that excursion if you know you can cope with not seeing it! We also went on the excursion to 'Kuda Bandos' which is advertised as an 'uninhabited' island, and it's not quite what we thought. It seems to be an old holiday resort that is no longer used (still a beautiful island though!), so don't think it is a fully deserted island! Scuba diving was also very fun (if not a tad expensive!), and it's definitely worth a visit to the Coconut Spa for some treatments there too, to aid the relaxation!
It's not the most expensive, or most upmarket island in the Maldives (from what I gathered through chatting with others), but still paradise for us, and a great way to spend 2 weeks,

Room Tip: We were in Number 200, the quieter side of the island with a nice piece of beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrAndMrsPokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We spent our honeymoon in hudhuranfushi and stayed for a week in March 2013. Here are the some important hints;

Ocean Villa:
We stayed in ocean villa 836. It was amazing! Our villa was facing to sunrise which I will strongly recommend because sunrise villas has cleaner, turquoise sea.

Food
I am afraid there are very limited food. Breeze restaurant breakfast was marvellous which is avaible for ocean villa visitors. Chargable seafoods were also good.

Pool.
Horrible!

Insects:
I know we were in a tropic island but when I call reception and say "Emergency!" I would wait for a staff came to our room as soon as possible. An enormously big, black insect was on my wall! The staff came after an hour and told me not to be afraid because it is not harmful. And then he left! There are no disinfection of any bugs or flies. They bite you all the time.

It was our honeymoon, nothing could make us down. It was a great trip but there are things that should be upgraded immediately.

Room Tip: Ocean Villa 836 was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SerendipityDMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Absolutely fantastic holiday, everything we expected and more. Take extra cash for the trips as we found these very expensive. Celebrated our Wedding Anniversary and the staff could not do enough for you. Flowers on the lovely candle lit dinner table and when we got back our room it was decorated so beautiful with different flowers and love hearts, it ended our day on a high. We stayed in a beach bungalow which was always kept clean (best ones are from 180 - 220), I loved the outside shower it was amazing ! (e-mail the resort to book the rooms.. it can be done). The snorkling was amazing from a variety of small and large fish.. sting rays etc. The views sensational both sun rise and sun set!!! However, the food after a while was samey... but adequate. This information is based on fact and not reading good and bad reviews... each to their own! How can these islands not be beautiful x

Room Tip: We stayed in a beach bungalow which was always kept clean (best ones are from 180 - 220), I loved th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivien_Ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

2011 we spent a very enjoyable 15 days at the Adaaran Meedhuparru Island, where we found the staff to be very friendly, the Island and rooms very clean, food excellent, and really had no problems at all.

This year as my partner was turning 40 we thought we would try another of the Adaaran Islands and selected the Adaaran Hudhuranfushi, as we thought that the Meedhuparru was probably a benchmark for all the Adaarans. We booked it (paying more than last year), and I started emailing the Island, seeing about organising a few things for a 40th, I arranged a private dinner on the beach and enquired about upgrading to a water villa for 2 nights, the representative was very helpful on email, and these were all put into place, asking me if when I got to the Island I could confirm and pay in person.

We arrived on the island Tuesday the 27th November, and the first thing that struck us was the pool, instead of a lovely clean well presented area, the water was a murky green, there was chunks of the tiling on the bottom missing and some edges were jagged, we felt a little disappointed, but as we have the ocean on the doorstep, it wasn’t that much of a problem.

The staff when we arrived again very helpful, and we didn’t have to wait long for our room, as mentioned I confirmed all the details around the birthday and was very pleased with the arrangements.

We were not shown to our room, just given the key and a point in the general direction, the rooms are a lovely size, but we felt in a little need of a face lift and the bathroom, was not appealing at all, in our words, the outside bit seems like a bit of an afterthought with gravel laid down and little bits of flagging, which were lethal on your feet, however with this aside, we unpacked and started to enjoy the island and our holiday.

Our first night in the room was fine, but we awoke with quite a few bites around our ankles and shins, and knowing that these were not mosquito bites, thought maybe they were sand mites after sitting out on the decking at the front of the villa, this carried on for another 3 nights, and on the 3rd night I actually awoke with something crawling on my face, I sat up and switched the light on and was horrified at what was on the bed/pillows etc, now having stayed in thousands of hotels all over the world for business and for pleasure we have never encountered anything like this, we killed one where it oozed blood, and then we knew exactly what they were, the bed was crawling with bed bugs.

We trapped a couple under a glass and I called the front desk, advising them that they needed to come and move us, we started packing straight away. The front desk arrived and looked at the bugs and looked at our feet and legs, and said no problem, we were then moved to a garden villa (which in our opinion was a garden shed), we asked him to ask the manager to come and see us at 0900 when he arrived for work, we then spent the night NOT sleeping.

The next morning no-one came to see us, and we had to go hunting for the manager (who we were advised was at breakfast!), in our eyes again this is not acceptable as a manager, at 0930 he finally came into reception to talk to us, and we advised him of the problem, he was reluctant to move us, but we stated that we were not spending another night on the island, as now reading about these bugs they are not easily killed and spread like wildfire, on clothing, linen etc..we asked to speak to his manager and Priya came to see us, again she said it was unfortunate but as I had paid for 2 nights upgrade to a water villa, when we returned from the water villa she would put us in a better beach villa!!!!.....we advised again, that this was not acceptable and we wanted to move Island as didn’t feel comfortable in any of the beds on the Island and if Priya couldn’t do this, then could we speak to her manager, where we were advised he lived in Sri Lanka and we couldn’t talk to him, we asked if there was anyone above the general manager and was told there was no-one above who we could speak to.

We went to our ocean villa feeling very sick and tired, and very itchy, but in saying that, the ocean villas are very nice, but still we were very restless and uncomfortable about sleeping there and I was sick to my stomach at the thought of spending another 11 nights on the island and having more bites.

So I did send an email to our tour operator and to this email, as we were not happy with the whole incident, and feel that the staff were brushing this infestation under the carpet, within the hour, Priya had called and advised us that she could move us to the Meedhuparru, but we would have to go within the hour and our villa would be overlooking the construction work for the new wall defence, this did not bother us at all, and we agreed to be moved, happy to be off the island i’m sorry to say.

We were then asked to sign a disclaimer, stating that we had asked to be moved, which is fine, but is not a disclaimer in talking about the problem.

We are yet to hear back with what you have done on the island to rectify the pool and most importantly the bed bug infestation...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank moo0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lhohifushi Island
0.6 mi away
Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas
Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas
#1 of 1 in Lohifushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
10.7 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives
#1 of 1 in Farukolhufushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
11.3 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi

Property: Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi
Address: Goalhi No. 3 Majeedhee Baazaaru, 203141
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > Lhohifushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lhohifushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi Hotel North Male Atoll
Huduranfushi Island
Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing