We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing.”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Lovely island. Great weather. Super snorkelling.
Room large and clean.
Dive centre was superb. (Saved the holiday.)
Everything else wholly pitiful....Food, worst I've ever had, drinks disgusting, served in worn out plastic beakers, even your evening drink before dinner! All food and beverage offerings are very limited and of the lowest quality possible. Customer service is extremely poor. You will not be welcomed to the island upon your arrival and you certainly will not be thanked for your custom when leaving. You can't help but be disappointed with this resort even though you are trying hard to convince yourself things are not that bad, after all you have worked hard for your holiday so its important you enjoy it.
Everything is expensive on the island. if you purchase anything, on top of the price you pay for the item will be charged an additional 10% staff gratuity plus another 8% tax, be warned! Trust me, I don't mind paying for extras on holiday if its worth it but this island just felt like the ultimate "rip off".
Overall impression of this resort is management do not care to make your holiday experience enjoyable and pleasurable.
Sadly, I strongly recommend that you do not choose this resort for your holiday.
Once again a five star for the Dive Centre, they have got it right.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms between 165 - 200, they have the best snorkelling area, also make sure you take lots o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    534
    235
    105
    72
See reviews for
241
1,094
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

As with all of the islands the surroundings are idyllic. However we've been to the Maldives previously and were very disappointed by this resort. Felt a bit like buttlins in the middle of the Indian Ocean. The accommodation was acceptable. Food poor. Customer services was poor by Maldivian standards. The main bar at night is noisey and the drinks cheap, entertainment is awful and not at all what you want blaring away when you're sat in a tropical paradise. If you want to use the beautiful bar by the sea, they charge you a fortune, even if your all inclusive. Internet access is extra and expensive. The beach bar closes too early, which leaves a long walk for some people to get any kind of drink after the beach bar closes. Did we hate it? No. Would we go again or recommend it? No,

Room Tip: The water villas are best but a total rip off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KandT-036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HRF, General Manager at Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Warm greetings from Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi.
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination in the Maldives, and for the time that you have taken to share your comments following your recent stay at our resort. It was a pleasure to welcome you to Hudhuranfushi.

we deeply regret to learn that we were unable to meet your expectations. We have taken your feedback very seriously and are firmly committed to providing our guests with the best service and facilities in all aspects.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us, and we thank you for your constructive feedback. This is deeply appreciated and is instrumental for us to continue to improve and enhance our guest experience. It is our hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaret river
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Resort was ok could do with a bit of tlc but nothing we couldnt live with. Staff were freindly wait staff and room staff welcome person was not. Surf wad epic. Food and alcohol were terrible really low budget and I mean it prob cost them about 2 dollers to feed each person per day, the alcohol is discussing un drinkable really I mean really it dosnt cost much to get even a cheap juice instead of the discusting cordial used. Food and drinks were bad enough that to not go back again a real shame

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank im_not_emo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HRF, General Manager at Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and for taking a moment to share your experience of the recent stay with us.

We are glad that you were happy with the services in general also that you enjoyed the hospitality of the staff in Hudhuranfushi.

Your constructive comments about the quality of the food and drinks shall be shared with the higher management in the corporate and required changes brought for the betterment.

Thank you for once again for choosing Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi to spend your holiday and sharing your insights of the resort, we appreciate the opportunity given to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Well that's that then! 10 years and multiple trips to Hudhuranfushi, formerly Lohifushi and finally the surf management has been turned over to World Surfaris, putting it beyond the price of most of us 'average wage' Joes from the UK.
What a blast though, 7 trips, great waves, great snorkelling, beautiful island and fantastic staff. We will miss them all from Abdullah our waiter to Captain Moosa the Dhoni boat captain...
If you're not a surfer, this is a great place to visit and we cannot recommend it highly enough.
If you're a surfer and not from Australia, start saving...

Room Tip: Any room around the 200's are our favourites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HRF, General Manager at Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Greetings from Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi!

It is a pleasure to read that you had an amazing stay with us in the past and delighted to learn that you were pleased all throughout with your overall stays with us.

Since it is corporate business decision, Your concerns about the surf exclusivity has been forwarded to our corporate office for their information.

We hope to have the opportunity to be of service should your upcoming travel plans bring you to the Maldives.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the readers of Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Me and my friends wanted to surf in the Maldives but the budget was a little tight. Then, we found Hudhuranfushi. It's a all inclusive, honest, no frills-no luxury hotel. Friendly and professional staff. They have 3 types of rooms: Ocean villa (US$ 850/day - which are those houses built over the ocean), Beach villa (US$ 500/day - nice chalets on the beach - in front of the ocean - with eco-friendly no ceiling bathrooms -nice experience to shower under the stars) and, Garden villa (our room - US$ 290/day - simple and basic rooms - all of them on the inside of the island). The hotel has its own surfing point which is perfect for surfers (you don't need to hire a boat to take you to the waves). Despite the quantity, food quality and options were a little disappointing. The jet-boat from Male airport costs US$ 110 (two-way) and takes 45 minutes to Lohis Island (where the hotel is located). Internet is US$ 15 for 10 hours. Breathtaking views, sunsets and surises all over the island. Abundant sea-life near the beach (we saw small sharks, manta rays, morays, giant crabs, urchin, turtles). Excellent for scuba or snorkeling. When the hotel is not fully booked it is possible to bargain for an upgrade at very good prices (we spent 3 nights at the beach villas). Crowd: 60% honeymooners, 30% senior citizens, 10% surfers.

Room Tip: Beach Villas - if you want complete peace/silence-quality, ask for rooms 166 to 210. They are away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HRF, General Manager at Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Joe F

It is a great pleasure for my team and I to read your delightful review! We are very happy that you always did enjoy your holiday in Hudhuranfushi.

As a valuable repeater your feedback and recommendation of the resort are very much appreciated and important for us to bring our standards to a next level. It is nice to know that you loved our Water Villa, our lagoon. Surf Point and specially the friendliness of our professional staff. My team are also very encouraged by your compliments of their service.

Your constructive comments about the food will be discussed within our team and necessary changes brought for betterment.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that one day, you will return for another Maldivian vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

It was a very nice trip , I really enjoyed with my family , I guess the east side of the island is more beautiful and the beach's view in this side is more clean since there are no stones , I was in 194 beach room number , staff were kindly , smile all the time and helpful. Thank you hope one day to visit this resort again.. only on comment which is ( i hope to keep the way to the rooms with more light since its too dark to walk in in the night .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abeeryara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HRF, General Manager at Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Beeryara,

Thank you for your compliments of Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi. It is always a pleasure when our guests have excellent experiences with us.

Your comments about the walkway lighting shall be considered and brought to the attention of our engineering team.

We truly appreciate your encouraging feedback and look forward to having you with us again on your next Maldivian holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay very much! I had very good diving and the island was very nice! I really hope to come back one day! The cleaning was very good and we really had a nice time during our stay. You could go snorkelling directly from the shore

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connyswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lhohifushi Island
0.6 mi away
Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas
Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas
#1 of 1 in Lohifushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
10.7 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives
#1 of 1 in Farukolhufushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
11.3 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi

Property: Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi
Address: Goalhi No. 3 Majeedhee Baazaaru, 203141
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > Lhohifushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lhohifushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi Hotel North Male Atoll
Huduranfushi Island
Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing