We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect oceanfront retreat!”
Review of Owen's Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mokuleia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Owen's Retreat
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is our third visit to Oahu and by far the best. Perfect location, view, and place to rejuvenate. You are on the opposite side of the busy city of Honolulu. Very reasonable price for an oceanfront house. We stayed in the Orange beach house and it worked well for my wife and I. If you want more room check out the Pink, Yellow, or White house. We saw turtles on the shoreline, surfers, waves, and sunsets. You can walk along the coastline 'forever', there is always a private spot for you. We can pretty much paraphrase what Chang808 said. Just remember, you are there to relax and have fun. The caretakers, Bernie (Bernadette) and Reuben were so friendly, very helpful and attentive. Thank you to Deedee and the Owen family...we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yrrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

We came to Oahu to celebrate my birthday for a week. We had originally planned on camping but decided that a house would be more daily cost effective. We found the orange house on a website and called to leave a message. Deedee picked up and said the orange had been booked but would be able to accommodate us in the yellow house. Score!!

The yellow house was big for the two of us, had a couple futons in the living room, 3 twin beds in the far bedroom and a queen in the master. We were so tired each night we never made it to the master bedroom and instead just slept on the futons. They're comfy!! The kitchen was well equipped for us to cook our meals and the patio furniture outside made for comfortable dining. With the windows open, there is a very pleasant cross breeze that keeps the house cool, and a little chilly at night!

The location was great, away from the north shore traffic but convenient to town in a matter of minutes. It's in the country and the stars are AMAZING at night. It's a sky full of stars, as bright as daylight poking through a holey bedsheet. It's beautiful and tranquil. The ocean waves were thundering but relaxing, made for a peaceful setting to sleep in.

It is located across from the airfield, the planes weren't that noisy and the army only did one training exercise for an hour one night. Other than that no noise from across the street. It was neat to watch the skydivers float down every morning. The cars tend to speed on the road late at night and some go so fast it can shake the house. But there's minimal car traffic throughout the evening so don't worry about it.

The beach behind the houses is relaxing and completely uncrowded. There are kite surfers that frequent the area which is fun to watch and we saw a sea turtle swimming as well. The waves were pretty wild the week we were there, but I'd imagine in the summer it would make for amazing snorkeling.

From start to finish, Deedee was helpful & accommodating. The yellow house would be perfect if you had 5 other people to go with, the pink or the orange seemed a good size for a couple. The white house was rented out and they had about 8 people there. Even with all the houses rented out, it was very quiet the entire time.

We've already talked about planning a trip for the summer (fingers crossed) to get some great snorkeling and diving in while the waves are calmer. We will definitely stay here again without a doubt, there's no other place in the north shore that we would rather be!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennjennavl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Renovations have spruced up Owne's Retreat from our last stay to our pleasant surprise. Yes, it's not the Ritz, but neither are other beach houses on the North Shore which cost a lot more. There is no air conditioning, maids, towels, or room service. It's a North Shore beach house at a decent price. Let's get real as to why we go to a beach house. It's for the beach, a warm shower, a bed at night, and place to fire up the grill. If you want hotel amenities, stay at Turtle Bay or find another hotel. The individual kitchenette and shared gas grill was perfect for our weekend long BBQ with family and friends. We loved the fact that each morning about 10 turtles came to the shore line to feed on the seaweed. We had fun fishing, free dive spearing, snorkling, surfing, catching sand crabs, and playing in the sand.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chang808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Owen's Retreat is not the Ritz. It never pretends to be. Its accommodations are neat, clean and serviceable. The houses are equipped with the basics for bed, bath and cooking. But its what's outside that is the real prize. This northwest shoreline compound is just steps from a beautiful beach where turtles and seals live. Most days you are alone on that beach or sitting peacefully on your deck. There is a beach park next door where the windsurfers, kite-surfers and board surfers gather. The wind comes up around 3 but is refreshing as opposed to bothersome. The photos on the website are an accurate depiction of the property. It also has a communal BBQ and coin-op washer and dryer. The caretakers Jimmy and his wife are attentive but do not hover. If you are looking for a place to unwind, read, sip a drink and/or explore small surf towns, this is it. Amazing value for the location. This orange house is a bit small even for just 2 people. It would be better fitted with a sofa bed rather than the (really comfy) queen.

Room Tip: Orange house is tight but sits in the sand. Pink house and yellow house have an amazing view and bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barelykim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

If you are looking for a sterile pristine hotel environment for your next holiday and not being annoyed by turtles and whales viewed from your room, don't go to Owen's Retreat. However if you are looking for a beautiful beachside location, with the rolling waves practically at your doorstep and the sound of the surf lulling you to sleep every night, you have to check this wonderful place out. It is not in the center of activity on the island, but is ideal for those who want to escape the rat race and bliss out for a while.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank esprittraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

would never stay here again. not for the cost. although very nice shoreline, it was not very clean. sparsley furnishished with poor furniture. not worth the cost. Still waiting for damage deposit to be returned 1.5 months later.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank snowmanmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mokuleia
18.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oahu North Shore
17.9 mi away
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oahu/Kapolei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,437 reviews
18.2 mi away
Tiki Moon Villas
Tiki Moon Villas
#1 of 2 in Laie
158 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging
Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging
#1 of 1 in Sunset Beach
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owen's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen's Retreat

Address: 68-945 Farrington Hwy, Mokuleia Beach, Mokuleia, Oahu, HI
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Mokuleia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mokuleia
Price Range: £54 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing