We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Gem in a stunning setting -the perfect...”

Review of Marathon Blue

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Marathon, East Attica Region, Attica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
lwlunches
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in a stunning setting -the perfect place to wind down”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Marathon Blue is a stunning residence set atop a hill in a nature reserve, close enough for Athens, but far enough away from the crowds heading for the Islands. It is a hop skip and a jump away from the ancient sites of Marathon just 5 mins to the nearest beach and 15 mins to the bustling seaside resort of Nea Makri and the Port of Rafina beyond.
I went in search of peace and relaxation in the form of a short yoga break which Spyros kindly arranged for us. From the first morning, waking up to watch the sun rise from the other side of the hill and azure seas sparkling in the distance got the day off to a prefect start.
The yoga break was tailored to our needs and was led by the wonderful Martha who coaxed and encouraged us to push beyond what we thought we were capable of. The yoga was outdoors either poolside or roof terrace with the stunning backdrop of mountains and sea. Christina was on hand to offer shiatsu or aromatherapy massages at the end of the day. The programme was very flexible to meet our needs.
Whilst the house is ultra high tech and modern, no expense has been spared, yet is still homely and comfortable. Every room has its own bathroom and offers views of the mountains and the sea with a beautiful outdoor garden and floor to ceiling patio doors.
Spyros was the perfect host. He has travelled extensively and has also lived in the area for over 40 years. He is the man who knows the local history and can also recommend places to eat, where to visit and where you can buy local artisan products.
We had some amazing meals with him and he was kind enough to extend his hospitality to us.
Ask him to show you the hidden beaches and the best places to visit.
There are so many things to see that it would be impossible to do all of these in a single visit, but is the perfect excuse to come back again and again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judith a
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect mix of relaxation & activity in a stunning setting”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We came for a yoga break to relax and recharge. The villa is as stunning as the photos, the views are out of this world and all we heard when waking up were the birds and a gentle breeze.
As we wanted to combine relaxation and activity, Spyros arranged yoga classes with Martha, an amazing yoga and pilates teacher. The program was shaped around our needs ... sometimes once a day, sometimes twice, by the pool or on the rooftop with 360 degree views, relaxing or demanding and we even got a taste of aerial yoga! I loved the combination of affordable luxury and high quality teaching - good workouts yet not too serious, followed by amazing massages with Cristina, which, again, were arranged through Spyros to fit with our plans.
Apart from yoga, Spyros introduced us to local cuisine, foods and sights, whether archeological or nature, where to buy the freshest fish, local honey or feta and even ice cream. Our experience couldn't have been better - the perfect mix of relaxation & activity in a stunning setting.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annikalar...
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
“Me and my husband had an unbelievable experience!”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Me an my husband liked the villa and decided to book it for a few days to relax. Because of our jobs we could not take a summer vacation. We decided to leave the kids home and go for a few days somewhere where we could have some quiet moments.
We arrived at the Athens airport where Spyros was waiting for us. He drove us to the villa and served us with Uzo (a greek traditional drink) Even though we just booked the villa after the Uzo appetizer he served us dinner. The food was lovely. We stayed on the terrace with the sea in front of us and chatted with the host for hours. The next days were also amazing. The host told us that he is running cooking trips and that he wants to test some new recipes. As a big fan of the Mediterranean food I was extremely happy with that :P My husband is very passionate about cooking and even helped our host a few times. The area is gorgeous. We were amazed to see a pine forest next to the beach. The trip was amazing. Good food, luxury villa with a panoramic view of the sea. Everything was extremely clean. We would definitely come back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The villa & the beach
Liked least: That we spend to few days.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thank you for all the beautiful words. We are glad you an your husband had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simona061...
Nice, France
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2018
Don’t know what to answer ....I am speechless!! :)
Thank you Simona and friends for your good words , “you was the best” and by the way one of the most structured group I ever had in Marathonblue !!!
I will be missing you
S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing