We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love Chamois Lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chamois Lodge - The Alpine Club
Reviewed 4 January 2014

What made this ski holiday different to others is the level of service that we received. There is nothing too little or trifling for Charlie the truly fantastic chef, Pipa the great Chalet host and knowledgable sommelier, Sandy the chauffeur who makes great salted porridge on Charlie and Pipa's day off and lastly Helen the owner who has created the best chalet we've stayed at in the Alps. Things we liked about Chamois Lodge: the welcome; the individually tailored service (ski school lessons were switched resorts by Helen with no fuss for the first week of the season when we were there to take advantage of better snow conditions); Charlie's food is possibly some of the best we've tasted day in day out over the week. He is inventive and loves his work and this shows in his cooking; everything being ready in the morning so that we are out and in the back of the Land Rover with the minimum of fuss; Sandy making suggestions on where to ski for the day and then coming and picking us up or even just turning up without us needing to call to pull us from the bar in St Martin to whisk us back up the hill to a gourmet delight; a hot hot tub; being able to immediately relax and feel at home thanks to the unobtrusiveness but perfect hosting skills of Pipa; lastly, hunt the reindeer - if you want to know what this is you'll just have to book this season. As you might have guessed, we are fans and will look to return next year. The only shame will be that Pipa and Charlie will be back in the UK. Oh, the skiing is really good too with the snow cross in Meribel and les Menuires a favourite of mine.

Room Tip: If you are a child, go for the bunk beds. All three double rooms are spacious. The downstairs fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben_and_Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thealpineclub, Owner at Chamois Lodge - The Alpine Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you Debbie & Ben for your fabulous review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Chamois Lodge next winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

We spent xmas week at the chamois lodge. We had never been to st martin and usually stay in hotels. The Chamois is five star hotel luxury all to yourself. It exceeded our expectations on every level. The chef charlie and host pippa were really superb. We ate like kings and were totally pampered. As full time working parents with young children we needed to switch off and have a break. We certainly did! Didn't lift a finger all week. The food in particular was a real experience. Every night got better! The rooms are immaculate and well laid out. The bedding and pillows were strangely perfect (unusual when away from home i find!). The driver Sandy took our constant calling to be carted about the place with amazing humour. I felt like the dowager countess of grantham every morning when my skis and boots were all ready loaded in the Landy. Helen is one of those people who doesn't just go through the motions of service. She really thinks about thesmall things that might just make your holiday a little more perfect. On the last morning the kids locked themselves in the loo and refused to come out until they were liberated by Pippa. They didn't want to leave. Nor did we. I only wish helen had a larger empire of properties around europe to visit.

Room Tip: All gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thealpineclub, Owner at Chamois Lodge - The Alpine Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience & for such a wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

It was all we wanted and more. A chalet where we could stay all day if we didn't fancy skiing. Amazing food, beutifully decorated and comfortable. Serving supper for the kids at a time we wanted and then dinner for everyone else was great. Scott and Lucy were great hosts and nothing was too much for them.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy_S_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

In over 10 years of chalet holidays in the Alps, this has to have been the best. The chalet was beautiful - 3 good sized bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms, very comfortable beds and lovely bedding (so often a let down in "luxury" chalets). The living space had lovely views, fantastic light and spacious and comfortable sitting area with delightful wood stove. As others have said, Lucy and Scott were superb. Scott's cooking was divine, really special without being overfacing, complemented by a good selection of wines. Lucy definitely had the knack of looking after us in a way that felt very caring, thoughtful and natural, without being in any way intrusive. The standard of cleanliness in the chalet was second to none. I must also mention Sandy, our driver, who was very much part of the team and looked after us to the same very high standards. The driver service definitely meant that we enjoyed all the advantages of a position a little out of and above St Martin with none of the disadvantages of having to find our own way to lifts, bars etc. I can not think of anything which could have been done better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LGill05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Finishing up a great stay at the Lodge and I can't recommend it more highly. Everything has been of the highest standards. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed. A definitely highlight he been our hosts Scott and Lucy. I'm super impressed with them both and they made our stay better than we could have ever imagined. Scott is a very talented chef with a bright future ahead of him and Lucy makes sure everything is running smoothly. I'm sure she even has a hand in the delicious food we were being served. I wish them the very best for their futures.

Helen has done an amazing job bringing the lodge and service together. We will definitely be back.

Thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heaven00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We recently stumbled across the Chamois through oxford ski company and what a stumble. It was an amazing experience from the start. The lodge is a great find. Helen the owner couldn't do enough to help you. But what made it extra special was the staff. Scott the chef......is second to none. The food is out of this world. Lucy has been a tremendous host. And sandy has been the ultimate driver etc. but it does have to be said that Scott and his cooking has made this trip something special. Him and Lucy are a true find! Thanks guys for an amazing trip. What do we do Monday night for dinner....it will never be the same

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

After 16 years of Chalet holidays, our stay at Chamois Lodge is definitely the best. The chalet is beautifully furnished and immaculately clean. The service that Helen, Chris and the team offer is second to none. Scott the chef was amazing, the food was delicious in perfectly sized portions, we all managed all 6 courses each night! plus the wonderful carefully selected wine. Lucy, the chalet hostess was wonderful too. Sandy our driver loaded our skis onto the car each morning while we ate breakfast, then put them away at night while we ate the delicious cake Scott had baked for our return from the slopes. All in all, the Alpine Club really do go out of their way to ensure you have a stress free, luxury holiday, I can not recommend them enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny E Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Martin-de-Belleville hotels
5.3 mi away
Le Chalet du Mont Vallon Spa Resort
7.1 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
400 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#11 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
7.1 mi away
Club Med Val Thorens Sensations
7.3 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamois Lodge - The Alpine Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamois Lodge - The Alpine Club

Address: The Alpine Club | Villarabout, 73440, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Price Range: £1,170 - £2,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chamois Lodge is part of The Alpine Club's collection of luxury chalets. For a magical mountain holiday, Chamois Lodge combines spectacular views with light-flooded rooms and a tranquil location. The style is contemporary mountain chic, with the upmost attention to detail and service from a professional chef, housekeeper & chauffeur. With 3 luxury en-suite bedrooms, & a triple bunk bedroom, Chamois Lodge sleeps 6-9 guests. The chalet can be booked exclusively for 6 guests during off peak weeks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing