We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalet Alpage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Alpage
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a magnificent time during our week at Chalet Alpage in February 2014.
Nothing was too much trouble, and our group of very mixed ages and abilities (including a large dog) was looked after superbly - some flexibility was required to get us to and from the slopes at times.
The food was quite excellent, and the little touches, such as the cake after skiing and the marvellous cheese courses, made our stay memorable for all the right reasons!
The chalet was spotless, and Richie and Nadine were faultless hosts - they certainly treated us as much more than simply "paying guests"!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chowster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had the pleasure of spending one week in this unique lodge in February 2014 - and - to make a long story short - this is the best holiday experience we ever had ! From the very warm welcome by Nadine and Ritchie, to the departure on a snowy Sunday morning - everything was just perfect. The rooms are nice and big, all of them with an en-suite bathroom, the food is just FANTASTIC (by the way, forget about forking out excessive money for Michelin star restaurants in the area, Ritchie's food is better ! The always positive attitude of Nadine and Ritchie, always ready to accommodate any special request one might have, made our stay a life time experience, a holiday we will never forget. The wines provided with the meals - presented by Nadine every evening, were just out of this world, so good that we just had to bring some cases with us back home !

Thank you again, Nadine and Ritchie, hope to be back soon !

Warm regards

Paida and Svein

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaidaSvein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Thank you, Nadine and Rich for a wonderful stay in the lovely Chalet Alpage. As has been said before, the personal touches set it apart from usual chalet holidays with the big operators. Having injured my leg on the first day and so spending a lot of time in the chalet rather than on the slopes, I can truly say it felt like a home from home! I also appreciated the pretty village of St Martin, only a short hobble away, with it's selection of cafes, restaurants and bars for coffee, a beer or a long lunch in the sun. A great little museum explaining the history of farming and development of skiing in Belleville is definitely worth a visit too! We also appreciated the friendly Piano Bar just up the hill with its live music 3 times a week - great fun!
Rich's meals were always delicious and beautifully presented and the accompanying wine, specially selected by Nadine, was good quality and very enjoyable. All in all, an experience to be recommended!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elaine304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

...Nadine and Ritchie provide a fabulous experience which far exceeds what we've found on chalet holidays from the so-called big tour operators. Goodbye Ski Total and Skiworld, hello Mountain Lodge Adventures. They were very welcoming and helpful, the food and wines were excellent and the company (which admittedly they're not responsible for...) superb too. A lift to and from the slopes was a godsend as anyone who has had to walk 400 metres in ski boots before will attest. I loved the sauna too after a tough(!) day on the slopes. St Martin de Belleville is the rarest of rare mountain villages, it's quaint, authentic and welcoming and unlike many of its neighbours, not an architectural monstrosity. There are some excellent bars and I believe restaurants (although we only tried one on Ritchie and Nadine's day off)and St Martin is in our opinion the perfect location to tour the 3 valleys with Courchevel to the West, Val Thorens to the East and Meribel just next door... we'll be back, definitely a cut above.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Where do i start... Firstly, a massive Thankyou to Richie & Nadine who are such perfect hosts in such a beautiful chalet. The Breakfast, Cake, Dinner & Wine all such a treat...everyday! The attention to detail and their attentiveness was second to none. The daily ski lift run in 'The Beast' (Defender) each morning just made it so simple ...and they even supplied the weather - powder followed by blue sky days - absolutely perfect. Eat.. Sleep.. Ski.. Repeat..! Counting down the days to next year already....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Our family had a great Christmas (2013) at Chalet Alpage. Richie and Nadine really can't do enough to help and that really makes all the difference. From advice on the day's skiing, lifts to the slopes, restaurant recommendations, their attention to detail is second to none. Richie's cooking far exceeds anything else we've experienced on a chalet holiday and the Christmas Day dinner was a lovely touch. Can't recommend this property highly enough but we've been telling everyone about it since we stayed here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed with a group of friends in Feb 2014 and had an amazing time. Richie and Nadine were fabulous hosts. The food was fantastic and loved how they paired the wines. They picked up on small things in our conversations about food (which we all love) and catered to those comments. The cakes after skiing were also amazing. As for the chalet - their small touches made it feel more like home rather than a somewhere you are for a week. The chalet was immaculately clean at all times. All the rooms are beautiful and have plenty of storage space. I would say what set them apart from other chalets we stayed were their attention to details - from getting us to the lift in the morning to the homemade jam for breakfast. It definitely made our trip alot of fun!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Martin-de-Belleville hotels
6.7 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alp Hotel
Alp Hotel
#19 of 64 in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#21 of 64 in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Bouitte
La Bouitte
#10 of 64 in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edelweiss Hotel
Edelweiss Hotel
#32 of 64 in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Alpage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Alpage

Property: Chalet Alpage
Address: | Route du Chatelard, 73440, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Alpage is perfectly located in the traditional Savoyard village of St Martin de Belleville - within short walking distance from all restaurants, shops & bars as well as the closest ski lift that connects right into the huge Three Valley ski area! We offer a free shuttle service, in-house sauna, delicious 4 course evening meals, matched complimentary wines, a truly personal service & much more! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing