We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Piccolo Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Pizzo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

with no booking and after a 4-5 hour drive we ended up in Pizzo at 8pm and somehow found this amazing hotel. Our mood went from exhaustion to excitement. Hotel is clean with a great design and probably the best shower

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SamRahmanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

and the winner is:........holiday in Pizzo. Thank you very much for coming and for your nice words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Although we were prepared for a really positive experience by other reviews, it took us a while to come to terms with how wonderful this little hotel really is. Architecture, interior design and amazing staff make for a truly exceptional holiday experience, at the end of which you will be faced with two problems: 1) you really truly do not want to leave; 2) it is VERY likely that, no matter how well and frequently travelled you are, you will struggle to find anything that compares to Il Piccolo Grande. We can't wait to come back. Graze a Cala, Sandra, Vincenza, Gustavo e gli altri. Siete meravigliose!!

Room Tip: We stayed in both 9 and 10 - totally amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnotherTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Buongiorno e buona domenica. Thank you very much for your kind words and experience with us. It wasn't hard to understand that your departure with us was hard as you had extended your stay. It was great to have you with us and hope to see soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I travelled to Calabria to visit the birth towns of my parents and we wanted to stay at a seaside town. We chose Pizzo. After looking at reviews on trip advisor we settled on Piccolo Grande hotel as it was getting rave reviews and the photos looked great. All we can say is the photos don't do the place justice. It is an amazing little hotel with great staff to attend to all your needs. Meticulously clean and modern rooms.We stayed on the top floor with doors opening to a small balcony with beautiful sea views. Breakfast on the terrace is a highlight with the lovely Carla making us bacon and eggs on top of the traditional breakie buffet. Nicolette answered all our local travel queries with great enthusiasm. They even hired us a small car so we could get to my parents towns. If you are travelling to Calabria we highly recommend Piccolo Grande.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AussieFrank2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

we are pleased that you have chosen our hotel for your Calabria holidays. We hope also we have left a good memory of the land of your parents :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Piccolo Grand Hotel, Pizzo, Italy, is one of the jewels of southern Italy. Located a block from the town square, the facility is new and is kept exceptionally clean and the staff goes above and beyond to tend to your every need. Enjoy a private dinner on the roof top or walk 3-4 minutes to shop or eat in town. Nice views of the Mediterranean! If you stay for a week, they have several wonderful suites with kitchens that overlook the ocean and have great sun terraces. To get to Pizzo, it is a quick 20 minute train ride on a local train from Lamezia or jump in a taxi and within 25 minutes you are enjoying a "welcome to Pizzo" drink in the bar.

Room Tip: Don't let the train station sell you a ticket to Vibo-Pizzo. Buy a ticket from Lamezia to Pizzo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayhawkfromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiccoloGrandHotel, il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest, thank you. As eco friendly hotel it is a pleasure for us to help the guest if they choose to travel with train. with our electric car we take the luggage and help to buy tickets once in Pizzo.
tanti saluti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here in October 2013 just before the close of season and, as other reviewers have already stated, Piccolo Grand is truly outstanding in every way. We stayed in one of the apartments which is in a separate building. Breathtaking views of the sea and so peaceful! The apartment is huge and we spent many pleasant evenings on the terrace, sipping wine and enjoying a meal cooked with fresh local ingredients bought from the little grocery shop around the corner. Breakfast was taken on the hotel terrace with delicious home made cakes baked by the lovely Carlie. All the staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful. Pizzo is a charming little seaside village and very Italian. It is a good base if one does not have a car. There is a little train station which runs up and down the coast and a bus which goes to the wonderful town of Vibo Valentia. The hotel organises local tours with brilliant Nicolette who speaks perfect English. The trip to the olive farm was excellent. Another day she tailor made a trip for us to the nearby countryside with a specialist guide and Nicolette translated for us. Piccolo Grand looked after us so well. It is the perfect place to refresh both body and mind.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maudesjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiccoloGrandHotel, Il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

we thank you very muchf for your message. if after a few months you still remember us this is the best gift that you can do for our teamwork.
saluti sinceri da Pizzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

It says a lot that the highlight of our trip to this breathtaking region was the hotel. Every detail and comfort has been well thought out by the owner. Truly an embodiment of casual elegance. I will never forget the views from the rooftop terrace. The colourful cushions and beautiful china made me so happy. I could have sat at breakfast all day. It was relaxed, healthy, and meticulously home-made by Kala. Vincenza, Sandra, Massimo, Gustavo were unbelievably helpful and accommodating. Hotel very easy to get to. You must have a small car. We did not, as we were travelling with 2 seniors; but Vincenza made sure things worked out for us, shuttling my elderly mother back and forth in the trusty golf cart. Pizzo grows on you. You will have it scoped out in one afternoon. Do not expect much shopping. Follow the advice of staff when choosing local restaurants. Memorable meals to be had. This is a very special place. I selfishly hope it won't get so popular that bookings become difficult, but I think this will be unavoidable given the quality of the stay. Would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There are only 8. I imagine they are all good. We had adjoining rooms that were perfect for a fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobeachmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiccoloGrandHotel, Il Team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh thank you very much for your review. It's very important for all of us. We love our job we love our hotel, we love Pizzo and a friendly Guest too :-) grazie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

the staff of this hotel is very friendly and accomodating, the hotel is lovely, and breakfasts and dinners there were memorable. Eating upstairs on the deck w views of the Calabrian coast are not to be missed. John and I did a month anniversary tour of Italy in 2011. We stayed here a week on recomendation of my calabrian girlfriend. We discovered the charming bakery on the right hand side at the end of the same street too late. Don't miss his Baba au rum. Location is great and the lobby and decorations are wonderful. In a town famous for tartuffo (the gelato) not the mushroom, this place is a charming wonderful find.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiccoloGrandHotel, il team at Piccolo Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

we thank you very much for your nice words. We hope to see you again here in Pizzo where we can eat a big tartufo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pizzo
15.3 mi away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#1 of 20 in Tropea
293 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Marinella
Hotel Marinella
#6 of 10 in Pizzo
107 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Esperia
Grand Hotel Esperia
#7 of 10 in Pizzo
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Residenza L'Antico Borgo
Residenza L'Antico Borgo
#1 of 1 in Filadelfia
184 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Gullo
Hotel Gullo
#1 of 2 in Acconia
228 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Residence
Hotel Piccolo Residence
#7 of 14 in Parghelia
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Grand Hotel

Address: Via Chiaravalloti 32, 89812 Pizzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Pizzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pizzo
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pizzo
Price Range: £106 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Piccolo Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Piccolo Grand Hotel, located in the heart of Pizzo Calabro, is a four star hotel, small but elegant, consisting of 9 spacious rooms with balcony or terrace, including eight doubles and one suite. Comfortable and quiet , are all equipped with bath or shower, Flat TV, safe, direct dial telephone, free internet access. To enjoy the view and the fresh morning air, if time permits, we serve each morning a rich buffet breakfast on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays and Agoda so you can book your Piccolo Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Grand Hotel Italy/Pizzo, Calabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing