We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Italy at its best!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pizzo, Province of Vibo Valentia, Calabria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

denis551
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italy at its best!”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Pizzo is the jewel of the tyrrhenian coast and this is its most elegant palazzo, Peaceful location overlooking the azure sea but only 2 minutes from the main piazza offering good selection of restaurants, cafes and shops. Short walk to the pretty and very clean white sand beach. Friendliest people you could ever meet and surrounded by the stunning scenery of the costa d'egli dei. Loved it!!!

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything exceeding our expectations
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your nice review. I will share it with my team! We are very happy that you loved it in Pizzo!
Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara G
Tenafly
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Something Special!”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful property with lovely people (Susan and Angelo) managing it! My husband and I so enjoyed our 4 night stay here. We were very comfortable and everything that we needed was provided. The view out of all the windows and from the outside terrace were just amazing! We will have those views and all the memories of that special little town for years to come! Thank goodness for cell phone cameras to keep those memories with us! Thanks for a great stay!

Date of stay: June 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Thank you, we are happy to hear your stay with us was special! You are welcome anytime to refresh your memories!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clio47
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our second stay at Palazzo Pizzo — as good as we remembered and more!”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Palazzo Pizzo twice. The first time was in December and it was lovely. The second time as in April, and it was fantastic. The weather was beautiful, the markets were full of fresh produce. You could hiking, and you could even go to the beach. This apartment is in a wonderful location with breathtaking views and an amazing terrace overlooking the sea. It is minutes from some wonderful restaurants, and only hours away from Reggio and the National Park of Aspromonte. There are some great museums nearby, especially the one in Vibo Valentia. The apartment itself is really lovely. Some new artwork was on the wall and some new furnishings. Otherwise everything was as we remembered it: spotlessly clean, modern, and decorated with great taste. It's a very functional apartment with great wifi and TV reception. One of the great pleasures is watching the light and the sea from the apartment. It's a very relaxing environment with plenty to do nearby. Stay on the balcony and read a book or go to the beach. Walk up to the piazzo for an aperitif or a gelato at any one of a number of great bars and cafés. A friendly town in a fantastic part of Italy. A great apartment. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: staying in a very comfortable apartment with fabulous views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Dear Eileen, it was a great pleasure and honour to welcome you back in Pizzo and meet you in person! Thank you so much for your lovely review (again) and the various recommendations for travellers. You have become an expert in Calabrian history, culture, food and activities. We are looking forward to your next stay ... MILLE GRAZIE!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eivetsred...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“fantastic apt with great views”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

stayed for 5 nights the apt is fantastic, as is the host susan she meets all your needs spotless all round with a very nice terrace with great views would go back in a heart beat thank you susan

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
Thank you so much, you were great guest - sunny greetings from Pizzo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripsearc...
Gorinchem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best place to end our holiday in Calabria”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I cruised the Calabrian coast in 10 days, spending the last 3 in Palazzo Pizzo. And we're very happy we did!

Communication through email with Susan, the owner, is very easy. She already sent a house manual and city guide beforehand which gave me the chance to familiarise with it prior to my arrival. Although Susan wasn't in the country, her father-in-law Angelo, was. He called me a few times to ensure our meeting time and place. Upon arrival, Angelo was waiting for us at the main square, gave us a warm welcome, showed us the house, the garage and a bit of the town. There was a cold prosecco waiting in the refrigerator which my husband and I shared while watcing the sunset.

The house is old, beautiful and large for 2 persons. It is built on a cliff overlooking the Tyrrhenian sea and the Stromboli in the far distance. I love the whole set-up of Palazzo Pizzo especially the high stone ceilings, light shining through the glass windows and doors with views to the sea and our own private terrace. Yes, our own private terrace where we spent all late afternoons, sipping apperativo, watching the setting sun and the changing colors of the sky, taking pictures of it and sharing them online. (Wifi is fast!).

The kitchen is a plus esp. for long stays. We didn't really use it coz we lacked the need to cook as we were out evryday till late. And there are a lot of good restaurant recommendations in Susan's city guide, all within 2min-10min on foot. We ate out all 3 nights, and we ate very well.

Check the website of Palazzo Pizzo. The photos and infos don't lie.

Thank you, Susan and Angelo, for making our holiday in Pizzo a memorable one. We hope to return in the near future.

Warm regards from cold and wet Netherlands.

Date of stay: October 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2014
Dear Maya, thank you for your kind review on airbnb and here! We are pleased that you have chosen to end your Calabrian holiday with a 3 day stay at our guest residence in Pizzo. Your photos of the evening skies in Pizzo are bellissimi! Grazie!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C
London, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fabulous experience - highly recommended.”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

In order to relax after our daughter's wedding in Ravello, Amalfi coast, my wife and I decided to stay in Italy to soak up the atmosphere before heading back home. We wanted to travel from Salerno to Palermo by train but felt it necessary to split our journey due to the duration.
I searched the internet for a mid-way location and came upon the town of Pizzo and from there, had the good fortune to stumble upon the Palazzo Pizzo Residence, owned by Susan Croseto.
From the moment I contacted Susan, she could not have been more attentive and I knew I was dealing with a hospitality professional. Having booked the property, she arranged for us to be picked up at the train station on arrival and dropped back on our departure. On arrival in the apartment, we were met by Susan's father-in-law, Angelo who presented us with a chilled bottle of wine and water and once settled, treated us to a tour of the town and an espresso, hospitality at it's best.
As can be seen from the photos, the property and location are fantastic. For once, the photos may not do justice to the splendid accommodation.. The privacy of the apartment, the layout, the facilities and the detail to attention are the best I have ever come across.
The town of Pizzo is charming and quaint and to have found such a wonderful accommodation added to the delightful experience. What a wonderful five days we spent here.
I cannot thank Susan and Angelo enough for the wonderful reception on arrival and for the experience of staying in such a wonderful location/accommodation.
I would highly recommend this property to anyone intending to stay in this area.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the actual property
Liked least: Nothing - everything was fantastic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Wow, mille grazie, Michael for this awesome review! Pizzo is indeed ideally located for a stop over when travelling between Amalfi and Sicily, with only a 2 1/2 hours train ride from Salerno. We are thrilled you and your wife enjoyed everything!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
364gill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment with wonderful views in a lovely old Italian town.”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A really lovely apartment which is renovated beautifully in a fabulous location. The town of Pizzo is amazing and has a really good choice of places to eat and drink all of which are on the doorstep of the apartment. The locals were also some of the friendliest we have met. Very enjoyable and recommended.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location / town
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience in Pizzo. So happy to hear you liked it :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.