We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pizzo Calabro resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Pizzo
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in the hotel with my parents and my small brother for 12 days. The hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere so you have to rent a car (75-90 eur/day) or take an excursion to go outside. There weren't always enough cars so we had to spend more time in the hotel than we expected. The wi-fi in the hotel is not working in the rooms - only reception, restaurant and pool. Our room was clean but too humid as it is situated on the ground floor - sometimes it was difficult to breathe because of the humidity. If you don't buy "All Inclusive" be prepared to pay 3 euros for 0,33 bottle of beer. The breakfast every day was the same - scrambled eggs and bacon (sometimes with too much salt), some muesli and pastries. The sea part was good though - after 10 minute walk you reach the equipped beach with the beautiful wavy sea.
Calabria all in all seemed to be too boring and more of suburban area, so if you're looking for the sun and sea - it's a good choice for you, but if you want to see around I don't think it makes sense to stay here for long.

Room Tip: Ground floor is too humid - when irrigation system is on it's impossible to breathe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna_german_anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOIhotels, Direttore at Pizzo Calabro resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Anna,
thanks for choosing VOI PIZZO CALABRO resort.
Our hotel is situated 15 km from Lamezia Terme airport and only 6 km from Pizzo a nice and characteristic village with beautiful views.
The resort is also close to the motorway and so is very easy to reach a lot of interesting places, but it'is not located quite in a centre. This is the reason why we offer excursions for all needs (half day, full day, by night, by bus, by boat), and a rent a car service directly in hotel.
We describe very well the hotel both in brochures and web sites, and so it's a surprise if a Client arrives at the hotel without being correctly informed about the place where to spend his holidays.
We wish you a great summer. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We (family with 9 yr old) stayed here for one night en route through Calabria. In short I would avoid this place at all costs. It is a run down approx 200 room resort style complex. Our room was very musty and the air conditioning was ineffective, Room was poorly sound insulated so every move by neighbours above and next to us woke us in the early morning. Breakfast and dinner is buffet style in a hall that holds 200 plus and reminded us of a scene from one of those B grade American summer camp shows.....and the food would have fit right in to such a movie too. Dinner was a very poor meal and a rip off at 25 Euro per head (same rate for our 9 yr old) as we did not book this as part of the accom package - mainly because this option was not available when we booked via booking.com. One of the main attractions for us was the pool but it shut at 7.30 pm which is pretty early in a European summer. We used it the next day and the pool and the late Check out were about the only plus of the whole joint.

Perhaps most disappointing was the lack of Wi Fi which " has been broken for a bout a week but the resort can provide a card for one hours use." We declined this at check in as we wanted a swim and a meal so went back to reception at 10 pm to be told the card was with another customer - yep, one sim card to be shared amongst potentially 200 rooms.....great solution to no Internet!!!!! So we went back again an hour later to pick it up but nope, "still not back from the other customer and no, we could not reserve it for 8 a.m." doubtful it even existed.

That's my rant over.....avoid this joint at all costs. We went against our gut feeling when we booked and paid for it!!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andrewgY5950OM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOIhotels, Direttore at Pizzo Calabro resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014
Google Translation

Gentile Andrew,
grazie per aver visitato il nostro resort. La durata del Suo soggiorno (poche ore) non Le hanno consentito sicuramente di apprezzarne le caratteristiche e di questo siamo veramente spiacenti.
Arrivare nel tardo pomeriggio, e ripartire al mattino successivo è certamente un tempo troppo stretto per una recensione così severa.
In merito alla ristorazione, precisiamo che il giorno in cui ha alloggiato da noi con la Sua famiglia avevamo circa 400 Ospiti in casa (e non 200 come da Lei indicato); da quanto ci dice è chiaro che avrebbe preferito una struttura di dimensioni più modeste e raccolte.
Con l'occasione ci permettiamo di ricordarLe che aveva prenotato una notte con trattamento di pernottamento e prima colazione, che si era accomodato al ristorante senza aver nè prenotato, nè informato il ricevimento o il maitre che ha dovuto raggiungerLa al bar, dopo che si era alzato da tavola, per effettuare l'addebito in camera. Le auguriamo un felice prosieguo di vacanza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zaniah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Хороший номер с видом на горы
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olganikola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maurifilippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Urto71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pizzo
0.4 mi away
Porto Ada Village - TH Resorts
5 mi away
Piccolo Grand Hotel
Piccolo Grand Hotel
#1 of 10 in Pizzo
228 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Ipomea Club
Hotel Ipomea Club
#2 of 2 in Santa Maria
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Residenza L'Antico Borgo
Residenza L'Antico Borgo
#1 of 1 in Filadelfia
181 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Marinella
Hotel Marinella
#6 of 10 in Pizzo
107 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Gullo
Hotel Gullo
#1 of 2 in Acconia
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pizzo Calabro resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pizzo Calabro resort

Address: Localita San Giorgello 1, 89812 Pizzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Pizzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pizzo
Price Range: £83 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pizzo Calabro resort 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the beautiful stretch of the Tyrrhenian coast, not far from the picturesque town of Pizzo Calabro, the VOI Pizzo Calabro resort is located by the sea and offers direct access to the beach cover a surface of 40.000 sqm, with about 450 sqm of fresh pine-wood and eucalyptus trees which divide it from the wide beach. There is a lagoon style swimming-pool which is about 1500 sqm, a Hydro-massage and a children's pool, as well as a well-equipped gym, sauna, Turkish bath and wellness center, not to mention tennis courts. Area attractions also include Terme di Laconia and Piedigrotta Church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pizzo Calabro resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bravoclub Pizzo Calabro Hotel Pizzo
Pizzo Calabro Resort Italy - Calabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing