We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is better than the service”

Restaurante La Marmita
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Alquezar
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food is better than the service”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Had excellent, tasty starter dishes (pasta with truffles !) but main course was a bit less "inspired". It is certainly a good restaurant, only the service could be a lot better.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Buck-antwerpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    116
    43
    9
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“An surprise”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Sublime cuisine in Alquezar, one of the best restaurant in the region!

I eat here a lot, and I am always impressed by the quality of the food, service and the kindness.
Recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
330 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Jeckyll & Hyde”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Upon entering this restaurant it didn't seem like anyone there wanted to talk to us. After a few minutes one of the waitresses recluctantly came over, and found a table for us. The table was just across the small road in front of the restaurant giving us great views of Alquezar. Unfortunately for us (not the restaurants fault) there was quite a lot of mosquitos outside, which had us being on the alert for most of the meal.

There seemed to be two women running the restaurant, whit one of them being very friendly and the service minded and the other one the strict opposite. Unfortunately we had mostly to do with the latter of them (the same that "welcomed" us) meaning that we had to do a lot of waiting and not feeling very appriciated. This is very unfortunate as the other one really knew how to make someone feel like av valued guest.

The food itself was just ok, so all in all this then ended up as a disappointing experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Spain”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My wife and I and our traveling companions lucked onto a table at La Marmita in April. When we arrived in Alquezar and inquired about a dinner reservation the restaurant, which is quite small, was fully booked, but a group of three travelers who were staying at our hotel told us they were giving up their reservation and were kind enough to negotiate for us to take their place. We will be forever grateful, because this little restaurant in this out-of-the-way hill town provided the best meal that we ate during more than two weeks in northern Spain -- including five days in Barcelona. We returned the next day for lunch at an outside table, and it also was superb.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hughstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sublime cuisine in Alquezar, probably the best restaurant in the region! what a finding!”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I must admit that I was impressed by the quality of the food, service and the kindness I was treated with in la Marmita, great location and atmosphere, a traditional and yet surprisingly creative cuisine in the middle of the Pirenees, the village and views are just mind blowing ! must see and must eat at, one of the best meals I ever had in Spain, best boneless lamb ever, they cook it for 16 hours at very low temperature in a specially designed owen, smashing softness and taste! voila !

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante La Marmita also viewed

Alquezar, Province of Huesca
Alquezar, Province of Huesca
 
Alquezar, Province of Huesca
Radiquero, Alquezar
 
Alquezar, Province of Huesca
Alquezar, Province of Huesca
 

Been to Restaurante La Marmita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing