We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and ambience”
Review of Cueva Reina

Cueva Reina
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Alquezar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Stamford Lincs
Level Contributor
133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We found the restaurant by chance and what a find. With poor spanish we were a little confused by the choice of starters and would have liked not to wait for a pre dinner drink. However the food was excellent value and superb. It was very varied with an good choice. For €25 per person we has appetisers followed by 3 courses; a bottle of very decent red wine and water. Good value. The clientele were all French so not a Spanish atmosphere but what a lovely evening. Well recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JandrewStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    59
    22
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful people”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We ate with Cuerva Reina twice during our stay. On our first night we stayed to watch the FIFA World Cup match in the bar and made friends with Sergio and Sally. Even though we do not share a language, we found ways to communicate (Google translate and pictures!) and became friends with these folks. So much that I went out canyoning with them the next day! Sergio is a fantastic chef. They make the best mojitos as well! Try the salad with goat cheese ice cream...yeah...wow. He is scheduled to be filmed for a pilot show on Spanish television TODAY, and if it becomes a hit he may become the Spanish/Aragon equivalent of Chef Ramsey (but much nicer). Have a few drinks and try ot talk Sally into singing for you. What a voice! If she wasn't such a good cook and bartender, I would say she had missed her calling. Great experience....don't miss it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank EvergreenDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azille, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a terrible experience! Firstly, we were only offered the most expensive menu . Secondly, the next menu was explained but very badly. We waited ages for the waitress to come and take our order. She offered a salad with the menu. We said yes. However, when it came it was mashed potatoes , yes I kid you not mashed potatoes with a few lettuce leaves and about four minute pieces of cod. This salad cost us 12€ and was as well as being dreadful was so so small.The main dish was ok but that is about all I could say. I detest being ripped off and this restaurant does that very well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A memory to savor”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We just spent two lovely weeks in Spain, and had many fine meals throughout. Our dinner at Cueva Reina stands out as the very best and most memorable--truly a feast for the senses. Each of the dishes we sampled was beautiful to behold and delicious to taste. The menu celebrates local cuisine and products, but presents each with a creative flair-- as indicated, for example, by the salad adorned by dollops of goat cheese ice cream (yes, sounds odd-- but was amazing). The service was excellent and it was a delight to meet the chef herself. If all of this weren't enough already, the panoramic view of the medieval village and canyon made it all an unforgettable evening. And contrary to the comments by some of the other posts, we thought it was underpriced. Bottom line: don't miss it. I can't wait to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“interesting Spanish cuisine”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This little restaurant has an excellent range of Spanish cuisine, very tasty, well presented. Lovely views across the gorge.The staff do not speak English, but some do speak French. This was our second visit in two years and on each occasion we have enjoyed the food and ambience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cueva Reina also viewed

Alquezar, Province of Huesca
Alquezar, Province of Huesca
 
Alquezar, Province of Huesca
Alquezar, Province of Huesca
 
Radiquero, Alquezar
Alquezar, Province of Huesca
 

Been to Cueva Reina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing