We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third stay at this lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa de Alquezar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa de Alquezar
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alquezar
Certificate of Excellence
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Third stay at this lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Alquezar is one of our favourite places - we love the walking in the hills and canyons that surround the fortress town, as well as the choice of bars and restaurants. We also love the small village of Asque a few kilometers away where you can find hidden gems - we spent a lovely afternoon in one bar drinking bottled Heineken in the sun at less than a Euro a bottle! - though the walk does involve some steep hills.

We have stayed at the hotel Villa de Alquezar three times and would recommend that you ask for room 31, a luxury room on the top floor with the best views of the castle as well as the largest balcony. The room has been recently redecorated in a stylish mix of old and modern. You will find everything you need in the room, including flat screen television if you can drag yourself away from the spectacular views from your balcony that is.

My only gripe about the hotel is breakfast. The food is already on the table no matter what time you arrive and is nearly always the same combination. As someone who prefers croissants to cake I was disappointed to only have that option one day out of a five night stay. You are restricted to one glass of orange yet it is concentrate and not fresh. On the table is a plate of tomatoes, a plate of the 'fruit of the day', a plate of meat, a bowl of cakes and so on. The only warm option is some toasted bread that is brought to your table. So much waste when I would be happy with a few slices of toast or a couple of croissants. I don't understand this approach except that I imagine it is just the way they have always done it and they have never asked guests what they think of the arrangement.

A big plus for the hotel is the on-site car park as space is tight in this old medieval town. Room prices are reasonable, staff are friendly and the hotel also has wi-fi as well as a separate bar area, lounge area and pretty garden.

Room Tip: Room 31 has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubadoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    88
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
49
149
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed for two nights in this wonderful hotel. excellent location, on site car parking, friendly and helpful staff. room was great, clean and comfortable and view from balcony was amazing.breakfast had a good selection and hotel had a bar. lovely garden which our 4 year old enjoyed, great public pool just 5 mins walk up the hill to cool off !

Room Tip: ask for room at front with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had two nights here (will probably do four or five next time) which we really enjoyed. A very comfortable room, very clean, good sized windows giving loads of fresh air and a great view. Excellent breakfasts. very good and helpful staff (and owner) make this an excellent place to stay. There are plenty of restaurants around so getting supper is not a problem and all of them looked really rather good.

This is an excellent base from which to explore the beautiful area and also to undertake some reasonably strenuous walks

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBear54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villadealquezar, Propietario at Villa de Alquezar, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you very much for your nice and friendly comment.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time here in our hotel ant the village!
Really looking forward to having you another time.
Mariano, Merche and the whole team of Hotel villa de Alquézar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Oh my oh my oh my...I love this place and hospitality welcome received! We came here as part of a 7 day walk and I must say, it doesn't get any better than this. Situated in a really lovely looking village amongst the mountains, this place just radiates warmth (and I'm not just talking about the temp). Unfortunately we went there at the start of the low season which meant that is was really quiet. However, it's really not hard to imagine how busy and cosy it can get during the summer.

Getting carried away here, the rooms at the village are super cosy, with their own bathrooms and super power showers. The rooms that we stayed in had their own tv and good wifi signal. Overall it was a really comfortable stay. A real welcome, especially after a long walk. The people who works here were very nice. There is one Dutch lady's who, as well as fluent Spanish, also speaks Dutch and I'm sure also English too. The rest no Englais, but I guess that's the charm of it eh? I can't say how much the rooms cost as it was bundled in with the package but from the looks of things, quite reasonable (brekkie was also included and was yummy. Do be aware of lack of fresh bread though if your used to that).

I give it twelve thumbs up for everything, rooms, breakfast, hospitality, warm fireplace (yes!). a great palace and. Nice substitute to your home away from home!! I miss you already!!!

Room Tip: Eat the free sweeties in the room...they are yummy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jason-ho-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villadealquezar, Propietario at Villa de Alquezar, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you very much for your nice words!! It has been a pleasure having you!!
Kind regards, Mariano, Merche and Ela (the Dutch lady)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlaar
Level Contributor
129 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

In fact to write a review one should have stayed at other nearby hotels as well. Although the village of Alquezar is simply fantastic, the hotel itself doesn't reach the same level as the village itself. Rooms are rather basic and above all too warm. Some may like the breakfast at the table but we again thought it was basic ( and cramped with 4 at a small table ). Good excercise for your car parking skills. A charming detail were the church bells of 2 competing churches ringing every 15 minutes all night long.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilsBerlaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights on our way back to France. We picked this location because we are birders and there are a number of good birding sites fairly locally. However, we weren't expecting such a delightful location. The village is full of history and interesting buildings one of which is this hotel.
We were greeted by a Dutch lady in reception so we could all speak in English! Our room was a little small but very comfortable with a nice view over the roof tops of the surrounding area.
The hotel doesn't do evening meals but there are a large number of somewhat 'touristy' bars and restaurants in the nearby town square which is a three minute walk away from the hotel.
The breakfasts at the hotel were very good indeed with the table being set out for you with a very varied selection of continental fare. You won't go hungry here! The service (some English spoken) was also very good indeed.
Had we had the time we would have willingly stayed here for a week as the local birding was very good despite the lateness in the season and, just down the road at Barbesco, there is the wine area of Somanto to explore.
What a discovery!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GiffLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in June 2012. We had a wonderful time. When we arrived at the hotel something was wrong with our reservation (the hotel made this mistake). Fortunately, they corrected it and we finally got the room we booked: a beautiful room with a fantastic view over the village and the surroundings...The hotel apologised for this mistake and in the evening, when we arrived back in the hotel from diner, we found a nice cooled bottle of very good champagne in our room....Breakfast is great and the hotel staff is friendly. The hotel has its own parking garage, although rather small, but very convenient. The village is very nice and you can make beautiful walks through the surroundings canyons. Very nice hotel in a lovely village!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazytraveller1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alquezar
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria de Alquezar
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castillo
Hotel Castillo
#4 of 5 in Alquezar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alodia
Alodia
#1 of 5 in Alquezar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Maribel
Hotel Boutique Maribel
#5 of 5 in Alquezar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hotel & SPA Pena Montanesa
18.4 mi away
Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa de Alquezar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa de Alquezar

Property: Villa de Alquezar
Address: Calle Pedro Arnal Cavero 12, 22145, Alquezar, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Huesca > Alquezar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alquezar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa de Alquezar 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa de Alquezar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Alquezar
De Alquezar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing