We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Although the setting was beautiful the hotel was sub-par! We paid $160.00 with taxes for the night. Our room was clean, but missing the "normal" hotel niceties, there was no coffee maker, no ice machine, no phone and no hair dryer. Someone thought it was a good idea to put a small, roll-away bed on poorly laminated flooring, very noisy! The walk upstairs to the room was dicey!! The corridor floors where thin and in spots you could see the deck below!! Not worth the money!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    31
    17
    6
    10
See reviews for
30
54
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Avon, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Booked just one evening here on a recent trip through the area. I had reserved a water-view room for extra cost (totaling about 150.00 including tax). We arrived shortly after a check-in and were given a room on the bottom floor of their two-floor building. We quickly decided the "premium" room was not worth the cost.

Positives: Very welcoming, friendly desk staff (family owned); the room seemed very clean; the general atmosphere of the location was serene and away from the hustle (about 1.25 miles from the village); the adjoining harbor is quite scenic; firm but comfortable bed, hot shower with good PSI.

Not so positive: hard, uncomfortable side chairs and no small table to place drinks /snack while enjoying the view, no holder for an open suitcase, squeaky floors above with every footstep heard below; terrible, thin bed pillows; no hairdryer; no AC (though it appeared that all the non-premium rooms did have AC), a sliding door toward the harbor but with no step-out balcony (one needs to walk down to the lawn below to enjoy the scene), harbor view obscured by trees, outdated CRT TV, no coffee maker (though coffee available in AM at reception), a simplistic push/twist-to-lock door knob that a ten-year old could compromise, no safety lock, and no parking area reserved for guests (in the evening the small lot fills with restaurant patrons). Certainly, these shortcomings are of themselves not deal killers, but taken together, we found the experience to be quite a disappointment for the price.

The adjoining restaurant/pub is owned by the same people and it seemed to do a good business, but I cannot offer much comment here since our schedule did not allow time to eat/drink there. I did notice that a draft beer was expensive ($6.75, I believe). That is quite up there for a Yank, but perhaps in the normal ball park for a Canadian tourist.

Room Tip: I do not recommend the extra expense of a water view room, at least in the two-floor building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathroy, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We spent our anniversary in Tobermory. Big Tub Harbour Resort was in a perfect setting on the water with beautiful cottages to look at. The rooms were basic with hard wood floors, but they were clean. There was the Bootlegger Pub attached to it with great and friendly staff. Good entertainment and great food. The patio looked over the water . It was a short walk to the Big Tub Lighthouse with swimming going on. I would recommend this place to everyone planing a trip to Tobermory. Thank you for a fantastic time.

Room Tip: Water side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12tyeadisappointment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
494 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Big Tub is listed here only as a hotel/place to stay. But it should be listed separately as a restaurant/pub. A great outdoor patio overlooking the water and cottages. A super menu and a nice selection of beers on tap. Bravo!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We just returned from 4 blissful days at the Big Tub Harbour Resort. We found our room to be newly renovated, meticulously clean, and very quiet and peaceful. The owners were extremely hospitable and friendly, and very knowledgeable about area attractions. The food in the Bootleggers Pub was delicious, and the "Three Men in a Tub" live music on Saturday night was a perfect way to relax after a day of hiking. The location of the resort was perfect, just a short 2 minute drive to town or a 2 minute walk to the Big Tub lighthouse to enjoy the sunset or watch the Chi-Cheemaun come in. The grounds and gardens were beautiful, and perfect for relaxing in a lounge chair to read a book and enjoy the view. We rented AquaBikes, kayaks and Paddle boards for a short ride to view the Big Tub shipwreck. Our new favorite place!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

As some of the other reviews have said. Request a room on the top floor. The floors are paper thin. You can hear people walking and can be quite loud and disturbing when you are trying to sleep. The rooms are clean and relatively large given there is no real seating 1 small chair not even a love seat or something. There was no dresser. Our clothes stayed in our suitcases the whole time. There was a cabinet where the TV was but it had no shelving. The staff were definitely nice. It's a family run establishment. Pricing was not the best, far from "downtown". Had to drive in to town or walk for 15-20 min.

Room Tip: Request the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoGuy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls Ontario
Level Contributor
182 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stopped here on our journey further north. The resort is geared to the summer season with marina and outdoors activities. The room was comfortable, clean and with a plesant view of the harbour. It is the first hotel that we've stayed in that had bare hardwood/laminate flooring with no carpets. It did make the room rather noisy. The moment sounds in the room above were somewhat annoying. The bed was also on a platform that made it rather high off the floor. Wouldn't want to fall out of it. The staff are very freindly and helpful and there is the very fine Bootlegger Pub on the premises. Good food, drink and entertainment.
You are only a 5 minute drive from the Tobermory Business Distrct where you can shop, dine and pick up variuos cruises and the ferry.

Room Tip: Request an upper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Locksley9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.6 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
17.5 mi away
Dreamland II Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Tub Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Tub Harbour Resort

Property: Big Tub Harbour Resort
Address: 236 Big Tub Road, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Tub Harbour Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Big Tub Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Tub Harbour Hotel Tobermory
Big Tub Harbour Resort Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing