We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy at its best”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this quaint resort located out of the town centre. We felt welcome from our arrival to departure. The staff were so friendly, food was great. The only downside was they did not serve breakfast. We will definitely return

Room Tip: Reserve early. End rooms are wee bit small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    32
    17
    6
    10
See reviews for
31
54
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Big Tub Resort over the September long weekend. For the price you are missing some of the amenities that you are used too / would expect but the general accommodations in Tobermory seem to be on the expensive side anyway. This was a very quiet resort since it wasn't in the middle of town which we saw as a plus. All the boat tours are willing to come and pick you up so you don't even need to worry about trying to find parking in town. While the pub was expensive, on the whole we found the food on the expensive side at all the restaurants. The plus for the pub was that the service was very fast.

The floors on the upper level are noisy which is the downside to this place. The people above us seemed to do an awful lot of walking!!!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room on the upper level if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lumlui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed two nights this August with a family of 4 and the location is great. There was a double
mast tall ship anchored in the harbour that was a probably a 100 feet long, kids thought it was a
pirate ship . People are nice restaurant and motel are clean and comfortable, loved are stay

Room Tip: Ask the people who work there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carleton Place, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed two nights at Big Tub Harbour Resort and really enjoyed it. The place itself is older but the rooms have been renovated and were very clean and spacious. The owners are very accommodating and the Bootleggers Pub/Restaurant right at the Resort was a plus for some. We ate there once during our stay but found you get better value in the village, just a 5 minute drive away. They charged $13 dollars for a chicken quesadilla and it came with no fries, salad or any side at all, just a large tortilla with minimal amount of filling. Not my idea of a great meal. The french onion soup was very good but very small portions. The food was overpriced for what you got. The resort in itself was very relaxing, very clean, and in a great location. I would recommend Big Tub Resort to others, but just go elsewhere to eat. There are some great restaurants in the town of Tobermory that provide some good food and variety.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floor as they are more quiet. Also the rooms that face the harbour are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 64ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden ON
Level Contributor
208 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here while on a motorcycle trip. This place was by far the most expensive accommodation and meal on our travels, but far from the best. The room, and dinner at the Bootlegger Pub was worth about half the price that we paid. I realize that businesses in Tobermory only have about three months to make a years worth of income, but the reputation of being a tourist trap is a hard one to shake.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Although the setting was beautiful the hotel was sub-par! We paid $160.00 with taxes for the night. Our room was clean, but missing the "normal" hotel niceties, there was no coffee maker, no ice machine, no phone and no hair dryer. Someone thought it was a good idea to put a small, roll-away bed on poorly laminated flooring, very noisy! The walk upstairs to the room was dicey!! The corridor floors where thin and in spots you could see the deck below!! Not worth the money!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Booked just one evening here on a recent trip through the area. I had reserved a water-view room for extra cost (totaling about 150.00 including tax). We arrived shortly after a check-in and were given a room on the bottom floor of their two-floor building. We quickly decided the "premium" room was not worth the cost.

Positives: Very welcoming, friendly desk staff (family owned); the room seemed very clean; the general atmosphere of the location was serene and away from the hustle (about 1.25 miles from the village); the adjoining harbor is quite scenic; firm but comfortable bed, hot shower with good PSI.

Not so positive: hard, uncomfortable side chairs and no small table to place drinks /snack while enjoying the view, no holder for an open suitcase, squeaky floors above with every footstep heard below; terrible, thin bed pillows; no hairdryer; no AC (though it appeared that all the non-premium rooms did have AC), a sliding door toward the harbor but with no step-out balcony (one needs to walk down to the lawn below to enjoy the scene), harbor view obscured by trees, outdated CRT TV, no coffee maker (though coffee available in AM at reception), a simplistic push/twist-to-lock door knob that a ten-year old could compromise, no safety lock, and no parking area reserved for guests (in the evening the small lot fills with restaurant patrons). Certainly, these shortcomings are of themselves not deal killers, but taken together, we found the experience to be quite a disappointment for the price.

The adjoining restaurant/pub is owned by the same people and it seemed to do a good business, but I cannot offer much comment here since our schedule did not allow time to eat/drink there. I did notice that a draft beer was expensive ($6.75, I believe). That is quite up there for a Yank, but perhaps in the normal ball park for a Canadian tourist.

Room Tip: I do not recommend the extra expense of a water view room, at least in the two-floor building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.6 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
17.5 mi away
Dreamland II Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Tub Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Tub Harbour Resort

Property: Big Tub Harbour Resort
Address: 236 Big Tub Rd, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Tub Harbour Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Big Tub Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Tub Harbour Hotel Tobermory
Big Tub Harbour Resort Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing