We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location only asset”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbourside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbourside Motel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Location only asset”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

For what we paid -rip off. Will consider camping. First. It might have Wifi but you can't actually connect...went to visitor centre and easily connected so crap that its the area. Secondly the cable to the tv gave only fuzzy reception - kid in front couldn't help that either, there 3 days never fixed. No coffee pot, kettle and with adjustments on bar fridge all food continually came out frozen. Room carpet dirty and felt like we where in an old cottage. At $150 plusa ngt. Ripped off
Honestly how this gets a 3rd rating is beyond me. The little things matter. Lol of course white carpeting on the hall walls was a scarey sign

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Pageofbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    66
    22
    9
    0
See reviews for
44
76
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Yes, the sheets are clean and the view is great. Other than that, there is nothing: no A/C, no closet, no safe, only two old lamps, the bathroom is tiny, everything is old and shows signs of decay and several repairs and coats of paint. The mattress was so bad...it reminded me of an old mattress I had when I was a student, actually the whole room feels like a dorm room.
I find the rate we paid ($107) too high and unjustified. After all, the view is free and accessible from anywhere in the city and I don't consider clean sheets a privilege.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ibtissem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our room was a basic motel room, but I loved the hardwood floors and the cross breeze from windows that opened on two sides plus the bathroom window making it three sides. Although kitchenettes are available, we opted for the room only (with a small fridge) because we were only staying one night. It's very clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in the downtown area of Tobermory overlooking the harbor. We were not on the harborside, but they provide plenty of seating and picnic tables to enjoy the view. I would recommend it and would stay again if I were to return to Tobermory.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemarym481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed for 2 night this week. It was great with our 4 and 1 yr old kids. Staff was friendly, room was clean (units 31 and 32) and had a mini-fridge that looked new. Didn't have a view, but it didn't matter since we were only in the room to sleep. There was also seating all around the motel so that you could watch the harbour. The washroom was tiny and not as updated as the rest of the unit, but perfectly functional. The motel location was awesome. Right on the harbour so that you could walk around the harbour to restaurants and also walk to see the Manitoulin Island ferry. The boats to Flowerpot Island were also at the back of the motel. We did not use our car for the entire stay. Our reservation also included 2 for 1 vouchers for any Blue Heron cruise. We used it for Flowerpot island which was good value since those tickets cost about $37 per adult. The motel also had bbqs for the guests to use. I might plan to do that next time. Overall, I would recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We loved this place overall. It is THE BEST LOCATED motel in Tobermory, being on a small hill right above the central boat harbor. Despite this location, it is a very, very quiet hotel. But is has a perfect back lawn space to sit and watch folks walk around the harbor docks and check out the boats.

I also love the fact that their website has a schematic showing a layout of the property and the rooms by number, AND you can reserve exactly the room you want. Very few motels/ hotels have these features, and being very picky about exactly what room I have, this sealed the deal for me. We looked at the Princess, which is right across the harbor, and are glad we went with this place instead, which is also a lot less expensive. Princess doesn't have near the ambiance that this place does even though it is a stone's throw away.

On the downside, however. No A/C, which is very clearly stated, and not an issue 90% of the year. Just know that there are definitely times you need it, even if you are from TX, like us. Fortunately, it was just cool enough to get by with the fans provided. Windows allow for a good breeze pass through, as they are on front and back of most units, but ours worked very poorly, were hard to open and close, and one had broken glass in it.

The biggest problem we had with our unit, #4, which, yes, is the unit I asked for, is that the hardwood floor sloped so severely that our bed would roll away from the headboard on the wall with the least bit of activity shall we say. In fact, it was not even possible to prop yourself up with a pillow against the headboard without sliding a foot away from the wall! But the mattress was very comfy, and sheets and bedspread were clean and high quality. Pillows sucked.

The shower is also pretty sad, with low water pressure and a crappy shower head.

But overall the HS was super clean and quiet, and even had a micro-fridge. Very nice staff. Probably best value in Tobermory. Everything we priced was higher, and no one had a better locale. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: avoid room 4 (sloping floor makes for rolling bed). see website for hotel schematic. all rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellinguy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Only spent one night but the motel was great. Right beside the ferry dock to Manitoulin Island and a number of local restaurants etc.
Our room was overlooking the ferry dock but it was easy to wander to the other side and see the harbour activity. It appeared our room had been recently updated and everything was great. The staff were friendly and most accommodating.
Expect to pay for your 1st night without refund but such is the way of a summer tourist destination.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinerbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had a wedding in Tobermory last weekend and booked over a dozen rooms for our guests at the hotel, as well as 6 of 8 cottages/apartments in Wireless Bay. The rooms were all scrupulously clean, the common area overlooking the harbor was a perfect place to mingle, and the hotel staff bent over backwards to accommodate our various requests for arranging extra items for our guests. Our guests were happy and we were thrilled to find rooms where the management made us feel special and wanted.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side overlook the harbor, rooms on the south end are further from the ferry dock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRCI1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.6 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourside Motel

Property: Harbourside Motel
Address: 24 Carlton Street | Ontario, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tobermory
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located on picturesque Little Tub Harbour. We are the closest motel to the Chi-Cheemaun ferry dock and just steps away from the downtown section of Tobermory. We have thirty-six units with a variety of water views and facilities, including some with kitchenettes. All units have cable TV, electric heat and several have air conditioning. (Please note that only the rooms specified have Air Conditioning.) The Harbourside Motel has several patio areas where you can enjoy watching the hustle and bustle of Little Tub Harbour. Enjoy a picnic under our shade trees or soak up the sun as you lounge in one of the motel's many wooden chairs. Blue Heron Cruises tour boats leave from the same property. Blue Heron Cruises offers glass-bottom and jet boat cruises of the Shipwrecks in Big Tub Harbour and tours though Fathom Five National Marine Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourside Hotel Tobermory
Harbourside Motel Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing