We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harbourside Motel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Tobermory
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bay Motel(Tobermory)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grandview(Tobermory)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coach House Inn(Tobermory)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
68
77
24
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
77
24
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspicnic tablesgreat locationflowerpot islandthe blue herontub harbourwould definitely stay here againlawn overlookingroom was cleanfoodland grocery storeferry dockshops and restaurantschi cheemaunliterally stepsair conditioningthis past weekendmini fridgemuskoka chairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Washroom is super super small. Even can not have a regular shower.
Location is ok, but this is a small town, other hotels are just several meter s away. With this price, it's better to pick another motel. Never come back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank atcc198 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueHeronCo, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the facilities in the room you booked with us. We do have a variety of room types with different facilities available. We would be happy to find you a more suitable room should you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel is in a great location with easy access to the ferry system, restaurants had has a great view of the harbour.
On the down side, the toilet had trouble flushing, the shower was small and the room did not come with a coffee maker or a hair dryer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

From the moment we checked in we were very impressed. Very friendly staff, clean rooms, great views and awesome location. We stayed in room 40 which has two double beds, pull out sofa and kitchen. We were impressed that everything we needed to cook with was provided and there was even a BBQ right beside our room provided free of charge. You also receive a ticket when you check in for a discount on the Blue Heron Boat tours which we enjoyed on our second day in the town. A great place to stay close to all attractions and very clean comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torontolifeforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Perfect for seniors. Clean, humble nice size room. Great to make your own beverage or soup and light style meal, we were tired of pub style eating. Right across the road is a great restaurant for breakfast, lunch or supper. Walk to the Ferry. Walk to the shops right behind the hotel. Sit outside and enjoy watching the boats in the marina coming and going. A highlight of our holiday. Friendly, helpful stay, the best. They will do anything they can to be of service. We were there off season, October so it was quiet, I understand it gets very busy in the summer, making parking challenging therefore this location is even better. Enjoy.

Room Tip: The rooms all seem ok we had room #40 would love to do this again.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst travelling around Ontario and although we loved our visit to Tobermory we did have a few issues with this motel.

Yes, the price ($157) was a bit steep but then it was August and we did have a prime location overlooking the water.

Our room (UNIT 38) was easily accessed from a corridor (whose walls were covered with carpet !!) and it did have air con but we didn't in fact need to use it so no idea how efficient it was - it looked as if it came out of some museum ! The furnishings were OK but there was a distinct lack of attention to detail - creased curtains and bed valences, sticky marks on the door, dust on the headboard. There were no coffee making facilities provided which I found very unusual in this day and age although we did get included 4 plastic "throw away" glasses. Mind you, we used these on day one and they were NOT replaced for the next - how cheap can you get !

We were able to walk to all the "must see" attractions in Tobermory with ease including Foodland for grocery shopping and a choice of restaurants. A plus for the motel's location.

We made use of the "buy one get one free" offer for the boat tours offered by the motel - a good perk.

We did have 2 main issues with the motel which we did bring up with the management.

One - the motel was 100% no smoking (another plus) but then they allowed smoking on the balcony running past our room. We had opened our window to let in fresh air rather than having to put on the air con but when the people staying next to us sat virtually outside our room smoking we had to close the window to stop the smell of smoke from getting in. Also this meant that if we wanted to also sit on the balcony to admire the harbourfront view we were subjected to their cigarette smoke if they were also around.

Two - and this again was about the balcony use. The key to our room only worked on the door from the passageway not from the balcony - not an issue - we thought this a good idea as it would mean that the area in from of our room could only be accessed by ourselves - BUT NO !! We found that a large group from another room nearby would come out from their room onto the balcony and with no "excuse me" proceed to clamber around us as we sat eating breakfast so that they could walk down to the waterfront. Not impressed.

To sum up - difficult to beat for location but ...........

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews