We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”
Review of Cedar Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cedar Vista Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Hamburg, NY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a well maintained budget motel and perfectly located for visiting the charming harbor village of Tobermory. The owner is friendly and generous with information about where to eat and what to see. He even gave us an alarm clock set for the time we'd need to wake up to be sure to make the 7:00 am ferry departure. There are no frills, but if you need a clean, comfortable place to spend the night, this is the best value in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillo131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    23
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I was there off season.I really didn't think much about the very basic room I was in, although it was clean and everything I needed. As I was talking with the owner, I grew to admire him. He spends his summers in Tobermory and his winters in St Vincent. I went to St Vincent for a month next winter. I loved it. I've been back four times for a month each winter. Next year I'm hoping to spend four months there. It doesn't get many tourists and it has a perfect climate. I love it there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We ran out of options as all the other places were booked. We booked Cedar Vista for one night and didnt expect much. We found the owner, Kevin, very friendly and recommended what to do when to do and where to eat. All these things are important for travelers like us who just want to spend a good weekend.
About the place: It is an old and a bit dated place. The room we stayed in had a TV with remote, AC/Heater and a clean and comfortable bed. This motel is located not too far from the restaurants and harbor. You also get brewed coffee in the morning in the motel office. The things we didnt like were:
1: The standing shower unit is made of tin which makes lot of noise while in use and is little too small. The shower head is at around 6ft height and is 3x3 ft in dimensions. So if you are big size, this is going to be a problem.
2: If other guests are also using water (bathing, washing face etc), you will get cold water and if you are bathing at that time, you will have to jump out of the shower as the water would get cold all of a sudden.

Rest all was good considering the price of room. You will definitely like the owner, Kevin, as he is very friendly and honest man.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Cedar Vista had rooms available as everything else in town was booked...lucky for us. The owner was very gracious and showed us the last two available (Diver's who cancelled at the last minute) and suggested we choose what we wanted. Large room (for 4) with Kitchenette and a bathroom with tub. Somewhat dated but clean, comfortable and well maintained. I can see how it may be noisy during the high season (they are only open then) but that would be no fault of Cedar Vista. Easy walk to town (under 10 minutes) and conveniently located in Hwy. 6. Very good rates.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a Kitchenette, two double beds and tub in the bathroom, table for 4 to sit and play cards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is an old property, and it has not been updated much, if at all. It must be difficult to own a motel that was built in the 1950's or early 1960's. Kevin is a great guy and is very accommodating. Wifi is in the office, so if you are in a room at the far end, you will not have Wifi service. The beds were okay to fair. The sheets and bedspreads were in good condition, but look very dated. The room was quite clean. The TV was an old 19" tube type, but it did have cable. Kevin's great attitude does not make up for these deficiencies. Minor complaints include: no shampoo, no coffee maker (coffee is available in the office) and strong mildew odor in the room. All of this does not add up to a room that cost $103.00 including tax.

I hate to leave a negative review for such a nice guy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickys-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This was our base for a three day stay in Tobermory. Housekeeping room was a great value for a family stay, especially if you want/need to be able to prepare some of your own meals while travelling. Room included a refrigerator, toaster, microwave and coffee maker (brewed coffee and tea were also available in the office in the morning), some dishes and use of gas BBQ. Very clean and comfortable. Not fancy, but who wants to stay in the room when the whole Bruce Peninsula is waiting to be explored! :D

As others have said, the owner's are super friendly, knowledgeable about the area and helpful with anything and everything. Forgot the mustard? Just ask.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiker_Dad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed in a room with a queen size bed on a Saturday night for on 84 bucks plus tax. The room is fairly clean and the bed is comfort. I've checked the pics for the motel before our trip. However, it's not the one attached to this motel. But it definately better than it. If you are NOT looking for a fancy room, with LCD or a nice fridge in the room, but simply a clean place to stay, Cedar Vista is a good choice. And Kelvin is very nice and friendly to all his guest!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 00Flora00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
1.0 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
116 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Forest House B&B
The Forest House B&B
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Vista Motel

Property: Cedar Vista Motel
Address: 7370 6 Hwy, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Vista Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cedar Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Vista Hotel Tobermory
Cedar Vista Motel Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing