We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Forest House B&B
Ranked #4 of 12 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My girlfriend and I just spent 2 nights at Molinari's for her birthday and our stay was fantastic.
We were greeted like old friends and immediately felt welcome.

We were given a quick tour of our room and separate, private bathroom and shown the nice modern kitchen where we would have a delicious breakfast the next day.

The first morning we were served what I can easily say is the best coffee I've had in Ontario, followed by 3 amazing crepes with blueberry sauce and maple syrup. I can't say enough about the coffee and crepes, they were absolutely fantastic!!!

After breakfast, Maria sat with us and showed us some of the must-see/do activities in Tobermory and let us in on some not so well known, but just as beautiful, spots to check out. She was exceptionally helpful and more than happy to do so.

I would come back here in a heartbeat.. and plan to!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rigante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    13
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
66
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Its not difficult to see why Molinari's Bed and Breakfast has such good reviews and a certificate of excellence form Trip Advisor because its simply superb.We stayed for three nights in the East Burgundy Suite. Best breakfast at a B&B? well I don't think we have enjoyed better. Maria knows a thing or two on producing the perfect breakfast with plenty of choice and the finest coffee. Breakfast is served at a large single table in the kitchen where the company of fellow guests can be enjoyed along with the food. Our suite was beautifully and tastefully decorated, everything was spotless too. Maria gave us excellent travel advice of where to go and what to see in the Tobermory area. We both loved it and if we return to Tobermory we will be staying at Molinari's Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneAlan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Great breakfast with the best scones ever with fresh fruit and followed by choice of main breakfast, wonderful hospitality and very nice room, what else could you ask for. Vey convenient to restaurants and the great hikes on the Bruce Trail

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clif2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The perfect place to ensure a memorable holiday. Sincerely gracious hosts ensures you get the best out of Tobermory. Breakfast was prepared to our liking. They are really keen to get a feedback on our experience to further improve their business. Without hesitation, I would recommend Molinari's when in Tobermory.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doc_rcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My husband and I recently went on vacation for our one year anniversary and we spent our last two days in Tobermory at Molinari's B&B. We stayed in the Captain's Room and absolutely loved it. Both the bedroom and bathroom were not only beautifully decorated but absolutely spotless! Bob makes great coffee and Maria's breakfasts are amazing. Everything we had was great, but the crepes were fantastic!

Maria gave great tips on where we should kayak, hike and told us the fastest route to get home. It was great getting to know Bob and Maria. If we go back to Tobermory, we will definitely be staying there again!

Amy

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My partner and I visit Tobermory once a year, and frequently camp there when we do. This year our plans were made relatively last minute, and we decided to go the B&B route.

I will admit I am not very experienced staying at B&B's so I will stick to the basics.

PROS:

- The owners have a ton of knowledge of the area, and gave us advice on places to check out we had never heard of, even after being to the area many times. The hospitality in general was fantastic, and this was something very important to us.

- The food was amazing. Others have mentioned that you eat in an open 'industrial' kitchen, and referred to that as a downside. We personally loved it. The kitchen is very nice, and clean. We could talk with the owner and other guests about the area while eating breakfast, which we really enjoyed. It was very social and fun. I guess if that is not your thing though, you could see it as a 'con'. Personally, this was the type of experience we were hoping for staying in a B&B rather than a motel.

- Our room was very clean and had everything we personally would want from a room including a fridge, microwave, coffee machine, small TV, clock radio etc.

CONS:

*I don't really see this as 'cons' in some cases but some people might, so I am posting them for for information purposes.

- There is no air conditioning, which was not an issue the time of year we went. There is a nice breeze at night for sleeping, and temperatures drop at night to a comfortable sleeping level. But, this may be an issue for some people especially depending on the time of year.

- This may be based on being unfamiliar with B&B's, but there was no sort of 'tidy up' service. They supply dishes to the room and a coffee machine, so we thought at a minimum the dishes may be collected and the bed turned up. But again, this may not be common at B&B's. An option to leave the dishes outside the door to be exchanged would be a recommendation for the owners at a minimum.

- While our room was very nice, it was right above the kitchen (we had one of the rooms on the South side). This was no issue for us whatsoever because we woke up early each day to hike etc. But, you will hear guests below you in the kitchen and kitchen patio staying in these rooms.

As a side note, the owners seem to use the reviews here for feedback and have addressed issues people have raised. They are clearly working hard towards creating a great business. We would recommend it (with the 'warnings' above), and would return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torndownunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Background: Were are world travelers in our late 20's who enjoy staying at different types of accommodations. We have stayed in over a dozen bed and breakfasts in the US, Central America and Europe. So we feel like we have a good background with our review.

We arrived in Tobermory after a 4 hour drive from Toronto. Maria greeted us in the parking lot and another couple had also just arrived for check-in. After getting the previous couple settled, we were shown to our room. The captain room is located on the left side of the building. It is sandwiched between Maria's home with her family and the other rooms. We had our own staircase that headed up to a landing. Our room was spacious with a large closet (microwave, dishes, fridge). There was also a nice table and chairs in front of the window.

The bathroom is located across the hall. It is a private bath and is separate from the other rooms. Two other doors lead off this hallway. One door leads to the owners home and the other door (I assume) leads to a hallway for the other rooms. It was locked during our stay.

The view from the room overlooks the parking lot and the slope of ground up to the owners home. Just be sure to shut the blinds at night, otherwise you can clearly see into the windows. The bathroom window overlooks the large backyard.

After we settled into the room, Maria met all the couples staying for the night (three couples) in the kitchen. She quickly gave us some information about the area, marked trails on a map and gave us some great insider secrets. Even though we had completed our own research, her advice was very much welcomed. She also prepared maps for us to keep for our stay.

We were able to hike the Bruce Trail, visit the Grotto, take a boat tour to the flowerpot island, walk along the boardwalk into town, visit "singing sands" beach, hike around in the local parks and enjoy some great food.

Breakfast: Maria served breakfast between 8am and 10am. We are early birds, so we usually arrived for breakfast right at 8am. Maria made the most WONDERFUL scones! Both mornings she made cranberry scones. They were delightful! My husband enjoyed the coffee choices and fresh fruit, yogurt and orange juice was provided. Maria was able to do dual task with making conversation and preparing breakfast. She also offered us fresh crepes (with fruit), french toast or omelets. We loved all three choices over the two breakfasts.

Maria was able to quickly serve us one morning, due to an early morning cruise to the flowerpot islands. We were sad to rush breakfast, as we thoroughly enjoyed the other guests staying at the property and all the conversation. I don't believe that we have ever sat over breakfast for over an hour just talking with the guests. Everyone was so friendly and Maria would even come and sit with us.

NOTE: If you are looking for "common area" and other amenities, this isn't the place. This "bed and breakfast" is nontraditional in its approach to "self-serve" for towels, etc. The breakfast area is located in a converted garage and it is open to the large commercial kitchen. I believe that the food is the most important, so it didn't bother us one bit! It was the perfect access point to the things to do in the area. We walked down to the harbor every night and were a quick car ride away from everything else.

Molinari's was a busy place. I made reservations one month is advance and there was only one room available with our dates. One of the couples staying was only able to get one night and thus they made camping reservations for the rest of their visit.

This is the place to stay! The value was amazing and the food was perfect! Having a friendly experience is worth every penny!

Room Tip: We liked the Captain Room. If you want more privacy, pick one of the other two rooms. They are locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvkevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
1.0 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#10 of 12 in Tobermory
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forest House B&B

Property: The Forest House B&B
Address: 68 Harpur Drive, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada (Formerly Molinari's Bed and Breakfast)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Forest House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tobermory's premium bed & breakfast. Located a very short walk going along the waters edge to beautiful downtown Tobermory and Little Tub Harbour. The house is nestled into the beautiful conifer forests, backing onto 100s of acres of natural park land. Featuring two 1 bedroom queen suites, and one 2 bedroom king suite. All suites feature private entrances & private bathrooms. While we love children, this is an adult focused B&B to ensure the guests enjoyment of this peaceful & tranquil forest setting (12 yrs and older please). We feature a buffet breakfast with hot plates 7 days a week in our beautiful commercial kitchen. We also can arrange rental of bikes or kayaks if you want to get out and explore all Tobermory has to offer. Come stay with us and make the forest your home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Forest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forest House B&B Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing