We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience”
Review of MS Chi-Cheemaun

MS Chi-Cheemaun
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The M.S Chi-Cheemaun provides an excellent alternative to hours of highway driving and spectacular views of Georgian Bay. Gourmet Sunset Dinner Cruises are also available.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great experience”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Friendly staff, fairly priced, clean and comfy boat. Highly recommend this transportation method to and from Tobermory. Saved great amount of drive time

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank djw1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    125
    26
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Reliable transport to Manitoulin”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The service was easy to reserve and there were no problems with our travel to Manitoulin Island. It would be great if you could pre-pay online.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kitty_karate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It was a good trip - wife had never done it and it'd been years since I did. Our kids (3 and 5) found the experience pretty cool. I would suggest going up top immediately so you can see the coast as the ship heads out of port - the water is so clear and clean you get a really neat view into the water from up top for the first bit of the trip, particularly around the coast areas.

There is a cafeteria on board which is decent but is a long wait for food. Prices were reasonable in my opinion, but frankly I'd suggest bringing your own food on board and enjoying the trip from another vantage point.

The whole boarding/unloading process is pretty organized, they obviously have it down to an art form. Even though we were fairly middle of the pack getting on or off didn't feel like it was a crazy drawn out process by any means.

It's a bit pricey (we had our mini-van plus tent trailer, two adults and two children (one was free because he's only 3) - but it's not like you're going to do this trip year after year so for the experience it's worth the cost I'd say.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, MI
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great ferry”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I recently spent a week traveling around Ontario. We want to go to Manitoulin Island and this ferry service was an excellent was to get there. The ride was very smooth and fun. The operation was very organized and efficient. Would definitely recommend using this ferry service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tornadomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Colborne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“to Manitoulin and back”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

the ferry was a means of transportation from the Island to our home.It was a quiet trip .We had lunch, but very very expensive, so maybe you should eat before boarding.On schedule bonus

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank willjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MS Chi-Cheemaun also viewed

Tobermory, Bruce County
 
Tobermory, Bruce County
Tobermory, Bruce County
 

Been to MS Chi-Cheemaun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing