We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appearances can be deceiving”
Review of Molinari's - CLOSED

Molinari's
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Appearances can be deceiving”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Molinari's sits at the end of the docks in Tobermory looking out over the harbour and beautiful Georgian Bay. Great location but, as others have noted, the interior isn't pretty... the school cafeteria picture wasn't completely inaccurate. But my cafeteria never fed me anything near this amazing food. Authentic Italian cuisine beautifully prepared and presented. Server was helpful and the chef (open kitchen) made some great recommendations. Was with a group that required both vegan and gluten free portions and everyone left having been graciously accommodated and satisfied with tasty meals. And dessert... creme brule or cheesecake both made on site and delicious with that last espresso of the day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rmc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    29
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
1 review
“FIFA World Cup and Perfect Pasta”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Thanks to the skilled staff at Moli Nari's for a fun afternoon with sublime food for the World Cup.
We had a perfect split of supporters for Germany and Argentina. (GO GERMANY!!!!!)The great casual surroundings right on the dock and great food and service put a cap on a most enjoyable afternoon. We appreciated the hospitality-no TV at the cottage-would definitely go back-a very deft hand with the pasta Chef--sorry for your luck(Argentina supporter) Great desserts-cheesecake and creme brulee, super coffee. Thanks for a great afternoon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HolstFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“BAD IMPRESSION”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Location was perfect...but that was it.
Don't like to bad mouth any place and won't here either, just our honest appraisal. Had heard about the place and stopped in for supper. FIRST impressions mean a lot, this place did not leave a good one. Interior was very stark, glorified stools were not too comfortable. Checked the menu and as it did not interest us with their selections we left without ordering. Did notice that a small open kitchen was at the rear of the smallish interior dining room, which was not of interest to us at all.
I am happy that other reviewers gave some favourable reviews, however I am submitting this as ONLY our impressions and observations.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank retiredcarnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Came late..stayed for great food”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were told it gets busy between 6 & 8:00, so we arrived at the restaurant at 8:30. Unfortunately a lot of the items on the menu weren't available. The chef came out and spoke with us. He guaranteed what he prepared for us would be made with love and well worth it. The meal was delicious....chicken Parmesan , seafood pasta, bruschetta, the meatballs ..even the wine was good. We did feel rushed as they were closing so we didn't have coffee or dessert. I would recommend this restaurant but would suggest going around 5:00.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zkatharine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Fantastic Panini”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My friend and I stopped at this little Italian restaurant for lunch. We ordered chicken Panini and salad. It was fantastic!! Best I have had in a very long time. The wine was delicious too. Great coffee and the service was wonderful. Good views of the harbour entrance.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KitchenerJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Molinari's also viewed

 
Tobermory, Bruce County
Tobermory, Bruce County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing