We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Tobermory
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Coach House Inn(Tobermory)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bay Motel(Tobermory)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grandview(Tobermory)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
151
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutter tartsthe parkersymphony suitehot tublake huronb bwonderful hostsensuite bathroomgourmet breakfastpaddle boatingpositive memoriesfabulous roomquiet covefrench toastbruce peninsularoom upstairsgrounds are immaculate
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We chose Bearcove Bed & Breakfast not only because of the remarkable reviews previous guests wrote, but that was crucial AND - what can we say - it's still understating. Jim is a great chefs (have lots of breakfast baskets and Pecan Butter Tarts if you can-I'll take the recipe with me, when I'm going back home to Germany), Doug is a wonderful entertainer (Jim will help to convince Doug to play the piano) and both are the best hosts we've ever met - they opened their home for us! We stayed in the bedroom upstairs, which is equipped with two comfortable queen size beds, an ensuite bathroom and has a private balkony. We sat oustide at the dock with an amazing view of Lake Huron and relaxed in the hot tub outside on the patio during a perfect Easter weekend. We hope to come back one day! Thank you Jim & Doug, once again!

Room Tip: The two rooms on the main floor have a queen size bed and share the bathroom. The bedroom upstairs has an private, ensuite bathroom and two queen size beds.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaMily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearCoveBB, Owner at Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

We feel very fortunate to have international guests come to Bear Cove. The reviews have been great. We love to have our guests feel as comfortable as they would be in their own homes. We have met so many great people so far and truly love what we do. Thanks kindly, for all the great reviews and look forward to your return visits. Cheers ... Jim and Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My wife and I have been to Bear Cove B&B a few times and will continue to visit again and again. Bear Cove B&B is a beautiful bed and breakfast located just far enough off highway 6 near Tobermory Ontario that the crazy world seems to be a million miles away. The hosts, Jim and Doug are two of the nicest gentlemen you will ever meet. They go over and beyond to ensure you have a wonderful, enjoyable experience while you are there. Located on Lake Huron with a board walk and a dock right to the waters edge and a wonderful view to die for. The 4 person hot tub is always the right temperature to sit, relax and enjoy a glass of wine or a early morning coffee. The rooms are tastefully decorated and pleasant. I have given Bear Cove a rating of 5 out of 5 based on the location, cleanliness, pleasant atmosphere, five star meals, natural beauty and the awesomeness of the hosts, Jim and Doug. Geraldine was very pleased with the spa services. Bear Cove also has a well equipped fitness room. We will be back there again soon. Steve and Geraldine.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

This was our second stay at Bear Cove. We had another wonderful stay. Jim and Doug are amazing hosts. Dinner was fabulous and breakfast was simply amazing. Bear Cove Breakfast Baskets are a culinary delight. Wow. The rooms are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. The bedroom was like heaven, sleeping on a cloud. We can't wait for another repeat visit. Thanks again Jim and Doug.

Room Tip: Choose the Symphony room, if it hasn't been spoken for already. :)
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valleyjean45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

This was our first visit to Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast. Hosts Jim and Doug were awesome gentlemen who go to great lengths to make your stay memorable. The rooms are simply beautiful and comfortable with a Bear theme. The food was delicious and served with elegance. Definitely 5-star rating. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone.

Thanks Jim and Doug. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank painterjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Let me first start by saying this was our first time staying at Bear Cove Bed & Breakfast and it WILL NOT be our last!
Jim & Doug are definitely the 'Hosts with the Most'! They opened up their home to us for a romantic weekend like no other.
Their home is beautifully decorated with amazing art, and It has the most cozy feeling any home could have. Being that we were here before Christmas. The home was filled with Christmas trees in every room, beautiful lights, holly and everything else you could imagine to help celebrate a wonderful holiday.
The room we stayed in was the upstairs room with the en suite bathroom that has its own Jacuzzi tub. The room has its own balcony with a beautiful view of Lake Huron. Beautifully decorated and a bed so comfortable, that you can just melt into when laying on it.
The grounds of Bear Cove are amazingly kept. Wonderful statues, beautiful trees surrounding the property, Christmas lighting, and they have board walks that take you right down to Lake Huron. Can't wait to come back in the summer to take advantage of the lake, the hammocks and paddle boat they have to offer for summer time fun!
The food they served was simply amazing. The meats are from one of the local butcher shops and were cooked to perfection as was the rest of the meal. The jams were homemade, the raisin breads were from a local bakery. Everything was just perfect!
Also when spending time at Bear Cove, we took advantage of the awesome hot tub they have on their back deck. Beautiful breezes off of Lake Huron made our evening and morning soaks so relaxing and very peaceful!
For the music loving guests who visit. Don't forget to put in your requests for Doug to play you a tune or two on his piano. With the raised ceilings in their home. He will have you feeling like you are sitting in any prestigious concert hall.
Whether it be a one night stay or a long weekend visit. Jim & Doug will take care of every need you will have to make your stay more pleasurable than any high end hotel in Ontario!
Thanks Jim & Doug, we cant wait to see and stay with you again!
Rob & Monica S

Room Tip: Any room in their house is beautifully decorated, tons of space and filled with love. You will not go wrong with any room you choose.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews