We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location; great place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Friendly owners; beautifull lodgings; wonderful scenery! Can't wait to go back in the summer. Breakfast was a culinary delight. I highly recommend that if you're travelling in the area that you make the Bear Cover Bed and Breakfast your place to stay!. Just a short drive to the tourist locations.

Room Tip: Stayed on the upper level, but all rooms looked great!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Starting from the moment we drove into the driveway we knew it was going to be an unforgettable weekend! The grounds and the atmosphere of the Bear Cove B&B are spectacular, then you walk into the beautiful home of these two incredible people Doug & Jim and everything from the decor to the outstanding welcome is above and beyond. Our incredible room was upstairs with the balcony overlooking the outstanding grounds...what more could you ask for? In the morning we had a fantastic breakfast created by two amazing hosts...thank you guys for making the special Bear Cove B&B breakfast baskets filled with quiche and bacon...yummy! To sum it up if your looking for a great hideaway with awesome food and wonderful hosts this is the place to go to, there are not enough words to describe what a great place this is. Doug and Jim thank you again for making our weekend UNFORGETTABLE! p.s. thanks for making the "besssst" buttertarts!!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are incredible but the one upstairs with your own private balcony is outstanding!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our two nights stay at the beginning of September at your amazing B&B will not be forgotten. It certainly deserves more than 5 stars. The serenade Doug gave us at breakfast on our last day made us feel very special. We have never experienced a breakfast like it. There was even a chipmunk sat on the decking!
We found the stay very relaxing and peaceful - and no traffic on the roads!
Will be recommending you to friends - thank you Jim and Doug.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Where to start??? The house and grounds of Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast are beautiful, as is the setting-- a quiet cove on Lake Huron. The charming hosts, Jim and Doug, spare no effort to make their guests' stay memorable and pleasurable. My partner and I arrived late in the afternoon after a hard day's drive. We stowed our bags and freshened up in our rooms, then we got a grand tour of the place. The house is chock full of art, including collections of bear sculptures and bird decoys. Fresh baked pastries are laid out for impromptu snacking (butter tarts especially recommended!). Jim, a former restauranteur and trained physical therapist, noticed the stiffness in my walk and promptly prescribed a "tune-up" in Bear Cove's well appointed gym. The kinks in my back, shoulders and neck were quickly ironed away with a miraculous device called a Jeanie-Rub, a sort of a two-handled vibrating pad. Pure bliss! (I ordered one of these things, myself, as soon as I got back home.)

We drove into Tobermory for a light supper before turning in for the night. We were lodged in the luxurious Parker-Bateman Suite, the master bedroom with two sinfully comfortable double beds, a private balcony overlooking the lake, and a sumptuous bathroom with a family-sized Jacuzzi. Our hosts even provided a laptop which I used to catch up on my emails.

Jim's formidable cooking skills were on display the next morning with a lavish breakfast buffet featuring shirred eggs, french toast, bacon, sausage, orange juice, tea and coffee, and a killer fruit salad. Jim's special creation... he calls them his "Bear Cove Breakfast Baskets"... must not be missed. In a word, scrumptious.

We spent the day hiking in Bruce Peninsula National Park. The rocky coastline and crystal clear waters of Lake Huron are quite beautiful. Doug and Jim know the park intimately and can gladly direct you to its best spots. After supper in town our hosts offered us the use of the hot tub out on the house's side deck. This was the perfect ending for a perfect day... that hot tub boasts an incredible array of specialized jets to take care of any sore muscle you might have. And as a bonus, the stars were amazing! Because of Tobermory's remote location the night sky has absolutely no light pollution. I have not seen so many stars since I was a kid (and that was quite a while ago).

After another spectacular breakfast the next morning, Doug, who is a classically trained musician, regaled us with keyboard renditions of ballads and light classics from the balcony overlooking the great room. A person could get used to such royal treatment very quickly, let me tell you.

Admiring the decor, I asked Doug if Bear Cove did a Christmas tree during the holidays. He laughed and said, "No... we do NINE Christmas trees!" I daresay that has to be an amazing sight, one I hope to experience some day.

Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast is geared for grownup guests-- no children are allowed. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the location is very secluded. Besides the gym and spa facilities, there is a dock on the lake for swimming and kayaking (clothing optional).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenzoid-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

There should be a rating beyond five star because Jim and Doug would rate. If you are looking for a serene, beautiful, relaxing, B&B the home of Jim and Doug comes highly recommended! For some of us, it was our first B&B experience. It will be difficult to top this find! Everything about our stay was amazing! Their home is nestled in amongst tall pines with a lake view that just begs you to find one of the many, inviting sitting areas, perfect for taking in a spectacular sunset. Once inside, you are warmly greeted by Jim and Doug and it is not a secret it is their passion to make you feel at home. The rooms are extremely well appointed. Their gourmet breakfast is DELICIOUS!! and seriously, where will you be experience a musical interlude while you indulge in the decadence. Truly a Hidden Gem!!! Jim and Doug, thank you again for your wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: No matter which room you choose you can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This little BnB is tucked away from the main street giving you a sense of peace and quiet which is what most travellers look for in this beautiful little town of Tobermory. There's an amazing lake view and gardens with hammocks and a gazebo so pray you have good weather to enjoy the outdoors. Theres also a really nice hot tub to help you unwind after a long day of hiking. We were booked in the Symphony suite and I must admit every little detail had been taken care of from decorating this beautiful home with a great theme to catering to our specific dietary needs. We were fortunate to have great hosts like Jim and Doug. You really have to meet them to know how amazing they are specially Doug! We also ran into one of the other couples at the observation tower and were so happy to be living with such genuine people which made this getaway all the more enjoyable. If you really want to do this place some justice book the Bateman suite with the jacuzzi and bring some friends along for an extended stay over two days at least.
Doug, keep doing what you're doing: you're a Terrific host and we really wouldn't survive a long day without Jim's delicious breakfast! Thank you. :)

Room Tip: Parker Bateman suite: It has its own bathroom with a jacuzzi on the top level of the house: Maximum...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TorontonianFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Had to comment on what a superb B&B Bear Cove is. We were treated to the exquisite tasteful home of Jim and Doug. The breakfasts were not only different, and delicious but also decadent. (also, butter tarts available all day.) Their accommodations left no detail to chance, and they really do think of everything. Charming hosts who take great pleasure in the enjoyment of their guests. Lots of advice on where to eat, and sights to be seen while in Tobermory. Their location (away from the maddening crowd) right on Lake Huron, allowed for swimming, sunset watching, and they have several sitting areas outside, which gave a sense of privacy, so the only time you see the other guests are at breakfast. Hope to return soon.
Sharon (Oakville)

Room Tip: For full on luxury stay in the upper suite if you can.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 909Sharon_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
5.6 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#10 of 12 in Tobermory
121 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Forest House B&B
The Forest House B&B
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
110 reviews
4.7 mi away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
105 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Purple Frog Bed and Breakfast
4.8 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast

Address: 197 Eagle Rd, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range: £105 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear Cove welcomes you to enjoy a private and secluded adult only getaway on the crystal clear shores of Lake Huron. Luxurious rooms, with free WiFi, Satellite TV in common area, and full hot Breakfast. Stroll through the beautiful perennial gardens, pause at the frog pond and swim, snorkel, kayak or paddle boat right from our docks. Do some great star gazing under the dark skies of Tobermory while sitting in the 8' Arctic Spa Hot Tub on the main deck. Wake up to a full hot breakfast and tour the many attractions Tobermory has to offer. Fifteen minutes to The Grotto, Boat Tours and the Ferry. Open year round. Your hosts: Jim Brewer and Doug Orr B.Ed., B.Mus. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Cove Bed And Breakfast Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing