We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great new addition!”

Tubby's Lounge and GastroPub
Ranked #9 of 20 Restaurants in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto
Level Contributor
135 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A great new addition!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Finally some really excellent food that's just a short 10 minute walk from the main area off of Bay Street. As others have mentioned the Lodge this is in is in has seen better days, but this place is a hidden gem that shouldn't be missed.

The owner was also our server and she was really friendly. The food is the best we've had in the area. None of the freezer to fryer stuff you'll get everywhere else. Everything was fresh, creative and really great.

Don't miss the grilled watermelon salad feta and toasted pistachios. The ingredients seemed a bit odd but it totally worked and was delicious, as was all the food we had.

It was fairly quiet when we were there while we noticed the other locations after the walk back to our motel were fairly busy. This place should be much busier than it is. Well worth the short walk over, don't miss it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank abigllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    34
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
“Great Fish & Chips!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

While in Tobermory you can order fish & chips at any restaurant. I tried a few while there and Tubby's was definitely the best. The service was great, very friendly!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmarie8411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very nice meal in a Kitschy town”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Let me start by saying I am not really a fan of Tobermory. I love the national parks on the peninsula, but the town itself is just a little too kitschy and touristy for me. And dining was never one of it's strong points. How nice it was to stumble across Tubby's on our most recent cottage trip. I read about it on Tripadvisor prior to leaving home, and decided it would be where we would celebrate my birthday. We started on the patio with drinks and appetizers. The charred watermelon salad was amazing, as was the bruschetta. The calamari was good, but a little dull. I didn't try the other entrees so can't comment on them, but my chicken curry was very good also. Be forewarned, though, that even the mild curry packs quite a punch! Dessert options were limited, but tasty.
What truly makes Tubby's special is the service. It was not rushed, and even when things started getting busier, the owner (who also works as the only server) still took time to show an interest in all the customers individually instead of dropping food and running off. It's not a place for people who want to eat and be done, but rather people who enjoy taking their time and savouring the food and atmosphere.
They were even going to get out the guitar and sing me a birthday song until it got too busy! I would love to go back to Tubby's again, and it makes a trip to Tobermory worthwhile. It's a little off the beaten path and their street sign was unfortunately stolen, so just follow the one way street along the harbour all the way to the end and look for the big TL on the building. You won't regret it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VacationerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“La cucina fantastica”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The words above the kitchen's door are adequate. We ate a fresh fish and homemade potatoes that were delicious! The parking was crowded but we found a place near there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaClaudiaGermani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“credit where credits due !”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

thank you so much for satisfying our anchoring for fish & chips Tubby's !
great service - great food - loved it.
don't let the drive out of town and dodgy motel outlook fool you - it's so worth the drive.
wish I'd tried the curry as the chef had trained in an Indian restaurant for 6 yrs and makes everything from scratch. wow !
discovered this on our last day :(
be back next year to try the rest of the menu yay !!! :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miyakado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tubby's Lounge and GastroPub also viewed

 
Tobermory, Bruce County
Tobermory, Bruce County
 

Been to Tubby's Lounge and GastroPub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing