We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Tobermory”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Tobermory”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Bruce Anchor Motel & Cottage is arguably the best place to stay in Tobermory in terms of its location as well as its pricing and amenities

We stayed in a 2 double bed bedroom cottage - it has a living room with couch and AC, 1 bathroom, kitchen with stove, fridge and basic utensils and some surrounding space to relax and barbeque! Although the place doesn't offer luxury, it is quite neat and clean

The boarding point for Blue Heron tours to Flowerpot island is at walkable distance. The sunset point is just opposite to the cottage and has a great lighthouse view. The downtown or better defined as local market is at 200metres with reasonably good food and drink options. LCBO and Foodland are in nearby vicinity as well

In addition to a personalized charcoal BBQ, it has a common BBQ area in its backyard and a free parking

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Raveesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    97
    30
    8
    9
See reviews for
90
89
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Saw the most beautiful sunset from our room. Not in the heart of town but within a short walking distance. Stayed two nights, room was cleaned daily and all the kids' things arranged neatly when we got back. Take a walk opposite to the deck in the evening - the view is lovely.

Plus points:
1. Room is spacious and clean
2. Nearby to tobermory town centre, Bruce peninsular national park (and the visitor information centre) and beaches.

Not so plus points:
Kettle, microwave and toaster are located together with the BBQ pits at the back. Inconvenient if you want to boil water or heat up stuff especially at night. However, there's free coffee and tea in the main office downstairs in the morning!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeJalan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We had the king bed/jacuzzi room. The motel room was nice and had a nice balcony off of it. No phone in the room but most people have a cell so no big deal. For 2 adults we were given 3 towels and face cloths (smelly and worn out). Bedding was torn, not fresh and pillows were totally flat. So....bring your own pillows and towels. The room is supposed to be cleaned daily but ours wasn't. Overall, I would definetly suggest staying in Owen Sound. The town of Tobermory is not managed well and everything is over priced to the extreme. I can't name one place we ate at that I would recommend. You can also rent tents in Bruce National Park, they'r called "Turks", looked really cool. Have your own deck, barbeque and its situated right next to the water, looked really peaceful. Would also suggest going to Foodland to buy your food.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cobalt1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

i stayed in this wonderful motel for three nights during a visit to Tobermory. It wasn't my first choice, but I was quite impressed overall, especially with the cleanliness. That cleaning girl just doesn't stop. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Clean and efficient. Small picnic area with microwave, BBQ, toaster. The seaside deck is nice, but few chairs and need to walk 200 meters to get there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omeldahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Rooms were top notch (like New condition). Julie and Brent were super friendly and spent time with us explaining many of the local attractions Tolbermory had to offer. We were right around the corner from the Ferry Chi-Chi-Man and had no problems boarding from this location. We had originally planned to spend only one night in the hotel, but stayed for both nights because we were pleased with all services and amenities that were within walking distance from hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jynxshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This motel at the top of Hwy 6 has lots of curb appeal with landscaping and lights. I opted for the least expensive room: 2 double beds with older mattresses. No fridge or ceiling fan. TV was older, but fine. New bed comforter and accent pillows. Light tweed carpet had stains, but I was there end of season. There are penalties for smoking, pets, or steam bathing in the room.

No phone in the room. The furnishings are similar to a Comfort Inn: ight wood with brass accents. Old generic art prints on the walls. There's a table and 2 chairs next to a long 4 drawer unit. I could hear my neighbour's TV and muffled conversation.

Heat/air conditioner wall unit - but no digital thermostat. Separate dehumidifier in the open closet. Sliding glass doors (with newer drapes but no sheers) lead out to an open patio with chairs. A street is there, then trees and the lake.

Washroom a little bigger than expected. It has a baseboard heater with wall thermostat. Tub surround, large mirror, and homey gold-coloured towels. Hot water was slow to come through in the early morning - but it did come.

Regular office hours begin at 7am, but they have a mailbox for dropping your metal room key if you're leaving early. What makes this place special is the outdoor pavillion with microwave just past the parking lot, and the seating area across the street. Checkin advice about the community very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.4 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals

Property: Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
Address: 7468 Hwy #6 | PO Box 160, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Bruce Anchor Motel And Cottage Rentals Hotel Tobermory
Bruce Anchor Motel And Cottage Rentals Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing