We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location... with a view”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2011

A couple weeks ago we stayed at the Bruce Anchor Motel on our trip to Tobermory.

We had requested a waterview room which was about $149.00 plus tax. Since it was during the week, it seemed a bit steep but we thought we would check it out anyways. The staff were very friendly, which I always appreciate when coming to a motel. The rooms were clean but nothing fancy. Unfortunately we were on the ground floor and didn't get to take advantage of the waterview with the trees and stuff in the way. However, we really liked all the patio area. In front of our motel room, they had chairs where you can sit outside and enjoy the fresh air. As well as an upper deck which was really nice.

Two of the best things for us were the sunset view and the location.

In their ads they boast the best sunset view, so we knew we had to check it out to see for ourselves. Just across the street from the hotel (about a 1 min walk) there is a huge deck overlooking the water. Even though it was a bit cloudy, the view was still absolutely stunning!! Was so romantic, especially if your there with your significant other. In a way, this made up for the fact that we couldn't see much of the water from our room. Was a stunning view! Although there was another couple on the deck as well, it still felt very romantic and the deck was large enough that we still had our own space.

The location was amazing. Walking distance to the water and the sunset deck, walking distance to the boat to Flowerpot Island (you get a discount on the boat to Flowerpot Island if you stay at the hotel) and a short walk to the harbour with all the restaurants, shoppes and LCBO. We found everything was within a 5 minute walk, which was fantastic!

If your going to Tobermory and looking for a great location and sunset view, worth checking out.

Room Tip: If you're getting a waterview room, make sure to get one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrismedia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights during a weekend, the hotel was very well located, however, we were disappointed because we paid a very high price for it, and we were expecting much more. The hotel is ok and probably due to its premium location it is expensive. Room was not well equipped, cheap linens, noisy air conditioner, smelly bathroom, and just coffee in the morning. We will definitively look for other options next time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Bruce Anchor Motel & Cottage is arguably the best place to stay in Tobermory in terms of its location as well as its pricing and amenities

We stayed in a 2 double bed bedroom cottage - it has a living room with couch and AC, 1 bathroom, kitchen with stove, fridge and basic utensils and some surrounding space to relax and barbeque! Although the place doesn't offer luxury, it is quite neat and clean

The boarding point for Blue Heron tours to Flowerpot island is at walkable distance. The sunset point is just opposite to the cottage and has a great lighthouse view. The downtown or better defined as local market is at 200metres with reasonably good food and drink options. LCBO and Foodland are in nearby vicinity as well

In addition to a personalized charcoal BBQ, it has a common BBQ area in its backyard and a free parking

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank Raveesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Saw the most beautiful sunset from our room. Not in the heart of town but within a short walking distance. Stayed two nights, room was cleaned daily and all the kids' things arranged neatly when we got back. Take a walk opposite to the deck in the evening - the view is lovely.

Plus points:
1. Room is spacious and clean
2. Nearby to tobermory town centre, Bruce peninsular national park (and the visitor information centre) and beaches.

Not so plus points:
Kettle, microwave and toaster are located together with the BBQ pits at the back. Inconvenient if you want to boil water or heat up stuff especially at night. However, there's free coffee and tea in the main office downstairs in the morning!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeJalan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We had the king bed/jacuzzi room. The motel room was nice and had a nice balcony off of it. No phone in the room but most people have a cell so no big deal. For 2 adults we were given 3 towels and face cloths (smelly and worn out). Bedding was torn, not fresh and pillows were totally flat. So....bring your own pillows and towels. The room is supposed to be cleaned daily but ours wasn't. Overall, I would definetly suggest staying in Owen Sound. The town of Tobermory is not managed well and everything is over priced to the extreme. I can't name one place we ate at that I would recommend. You can also rent tents in Bruce National Park, they'r called "Turks", looked really cool. Have your own deck, barbeque and its situated right next to the water, looked really peaceful. Would also suggest going to Foodland to buy your food.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cobalt1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

i stayed in this wonderful motel for three nights during a visit to Tobermory. It wasn't my first choice, but I was quite impressed overall, especially with the cleanliness. That cleaning girl just doesn't stop. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Clean and efficient. Small picnic area with microwave, BBQ, toaster. The seaside deck is nice, but few chairs and need to walk 200 meters to get there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omeldahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tobermory hotels
0.7 mi away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
59 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Forest House B&B
The Forest House B&B
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals

Address: 7468 Hwy #6 | PO Box 160, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range: £34 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the most spectacular view in Tobermory from the Bruce Anchor Motel's "sunset deck". Our deck overlooks Georgian Bay and the entrance to Big Tub Harbour. The Bruce Anchor Motel is located within walking distance of the Chi-Cheemaun. It is a convenient place to stay overnight before boarding the ferry in the morning! All 37 deluxe motel units have balconies or terraces. Step out for a relaxing breath of fresh air, or to enjoy the scenery. A two-bedroom suite will comfortably accommodate a family of four, or two couples, or a small group of divers. All units have a mini fridge with freezer, except the king units, which have a mini fridge. All rooms have air conditioning, free wi-fi, cable tv, and a coffee maker. We serve coffee and tea in the office from 5 am until 2 am. We have a pavilion behind our motel complete with microwaves, toasters, kettles, charcoal bbq's, and picnic tables available to all guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bruce Anchor Motel And Cottage Rentals Hotel Tobermory
Bruce Anchor Motel And Cottage Rentals Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing