We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“motel stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“motel stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

great place to stay very clean and well located near the bay and near the market is advisable for stay for people who want to invest more on cruises then in stay.very clean with all the basic amenities like microwave , barbecue and toaster

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    91
    30
    8
    9
See reviews for
86
84
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed two nights in a room with two double beds that faced the water on the second floor (entrance at parking lot level on the other side). I was pleasantly surprised with the quality as my earlier impression of the area was that most things felt like highway robbery. Free wifi was great (we brought our laptop and hooked it up to the tv for movies), the coffee in the main office was always fresh, and the staff were friendly.

Only two things I wish had been different: 1) the beds need new mattresses as they are getting very tired, and 2) they *must* get light-blocking curtains for the sliding doors out to the balcony, particularly given that there are very bright street lights outside. We wound up throwing our comforter cover over the curtain rod.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurmont, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to Tobermory and our 6 night stay at the Bruce Anchor Motel. We found this to be a great motel to stay in during our visit. We had the King room with the Jacuzzi which was a nice bonus to have after a day of hiking. The room was very pleasant and clean with a nice ambiance. Since we were on vacation, we didn't really miss the lack of a phone in the room and too busy exploring the area to worry about anything on the tv.
The staff in the office was always very friendly and helpful. The location is great, you are about a 5 minute walk to the shops and restaurants. Since you are staying at the motel, you also get a discount on the Bruce Anchor glass bottom boat tours which is just a short walk across the street from the motel. We went to Flowerpot Island which I highly recommend to visit. It is also very convenient to the Chi-Cheemaun, the ferry boat that takes you to Manitoulin Island. The dock to board the boat is also just a short distance around the corner from the motel. We did not have a view of the water from our room, but, it was nearby. When we return to Tobermory, we will definitely stay again at the Bruce Anchor Motel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonidus54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Of course, due to it's location we paid $168 per night staying in a standard room. Very clean, basic hotel room. What I didn't like was there was no land line phone, no movie channel and when cleaning the room on day one they only replaced the towels. They didn't make the beds, who doesn't make the beds.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CubainMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We heard from friends that the Bruce Anchor Motel is great, therefore we decided to give it a try. And it was just an excellent experience. We arrived quite early (11:30am) on the check in date, the staff was very nice and suggested us to check out the business district around first (which was just 5 mins walk away) and we could parked the car in the motel parking lot, and she would give us a call once the room was ready (check in time was supposed to be 3pm, we just arrived way too early). We went to the business district and had a nice lunch, surprisingly they called us in about an hour and said the room was ready. We went back to check in, it's a nice little room with one Queen bed, not much view as it's on the bottom level but we are okay with it, as we went across the street to the Bruce Anchor Cruise office to watch the sunset. The room is very clean, I must say it's probably the most tidy and clean room (including bathroom) that I have been to in motels. The carpet is very clean as well that you don't need your slippers, and we feel bad if we would dirty the carpet when came back from the beach, so we dusted off our shoes before we stepped into the room. There are more than enough of towels to use, shampoo and conditioning are okay as well as the soap. They don't have the hairdryer in the room, but you can go to the office which opens till 2am and ask the staff for it. Wi-Fi is a bit weak - may be due to our room is at the far end corner, but it's usable and above all, we don't use that for much as when visiting Tobermory, 90% of the time should be outdoor instead of using Wi-Fi in the room. Our room has a portable air conditioning, we didn't use it for much either as it's kind of cool by the evening, it's a bit noisy but acceptable. The bed is comfortable, pillows are a bit soft so if you may want to bring your own if can't sleep well with soft pillow. However their cushions are pretty hard and comfortable to sleep on, so if you forget to bring your own, cushions would be your another option to replace the soft pillows. Door is locked from outside at all time, even though our room is located on the bottom level and facing the other side (not the parking lot side), we still feel very safe and have very good sleep. Very convenience location - business district with all the shops and restaurants are just 5 mins walk away, boat ride to flowerpot island from Bruce Anchor Cruises is just right across the street, and you can get discount if you take the first ride of the day (I think it's 8:55am). Check out time is 11am, we checked out around 10:45am, it's very casual, all you have to do is to drop off the key in the office. No one would knock on your door before 11am to wake you up or remind you the check out time is 11am. We will definitely go again, and may be bring our families along so we can rent the cottage - which I am sure with this management, the cottage will be as good as the motel. It was a good 3 days 2 nights stay. Strongly recommended to stay in Bruce Anchor Motel!

Room Tip: Room at the far end corner is quieter, bottom level doesn't have a good view of the lake, but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, central to everything. Great service and clean rooms. Can't go wrong with this place. And you are directly across the street from the stunning water that drew us in the first place. And if you are keen to take a trip on the glass bottom boat then you are able to get a discount as guests of Bruce Anchor motel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodVanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

I really loved staying here being it was our first time in Tobermory. This was a good choice for our family of 3. We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds waterfront view. The only downfall was the mattress were pretty hard and the noise level coming from the rooms next door was a tad loud, but after 10pm things start to quiet down a bit. We stayed here during the week so it might be louder during weekends. Over all it was good for a 2 night stay :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisha_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.4 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals

Property: Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
Address: 7468 Hwy #6 | PO Box 160, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Bruce Anchor Motel And Cottage Rentals Hotel Tobermory
Bruce Anchor Motel And Cottage Rentals Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing