We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good food, comfortable rooms”
Review of Grandview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grandview
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
London, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed at the Grandview this spring with a group of hikers. The hotel has a wonderful view of the harbour and has the best restaurant in Tobermory. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean and comfortable although not very large. I have stayed here before and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    49
    28
    10
    6
See reviews for
27
64
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The Grandview has clean and bright rooms. Our group occupied 4 of them and everyone was pleased. The people are ever so friendly and helpful.

It is a perfect location with "grand views" and easy to walk everywhere along the boardwalk to the ferry or into town.

We dined in the restaurant and it was perfect. Excellent service accompanied outstanding food. Don't miss the whitefish.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gene1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Great Location- Just on the shores of the Bay. Rooms are so so , Just ok for backpackers for a day. Bathrooms are so narrow reminds you an Airline toilet. Resturant is good. Breakfast is just a workiing type. A good photographic location. Nothing great ... but nothing bad ...for this place

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babujijacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

My husband and I spent a night here recently. First off: hands down best view of the harbour and especially of the ferry. Spectacular sunsets too!

Room was small but nice. Air conditioner worked well, but located too close to the bed so that the cold air blows to the unlucky person laying closest to it. Would have been better if there was a way to switch the airflow to blow upwards, but there wasn't.

Appreciated the computer in the office for customers to use with internet.

The continental breakfast is okay. Only fruit available was melon. Sticky buns yummy but not very nutritious. Cold boiled eggs, cereal, toast, bagels with cream cheese, some yoghurt. Juice and coffee.

Had dinner at the restaurant, too. Loved the appetizers but was not particularly impressed with the main courses. Menu is overpriced, for sure. ($28 for a plate of whitefish, rice and veggies: ouch!) Wait staff very friendly.

Overall, would go back. Way better than the Bruce Anchor Inn which was horrible. (see review).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yowza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Rooms were very clean, the service was a bit odd with the pager system to call to check in, but after paging the owner, she showed up right away and explained thoroughly how the doors worked and what time breakfast was at etc.

Blinds were the one sticking point, definitely not private enough, additional drapes would have helped keep light out and increase privacy.

Overall it was a nice stay, free parking and free internet and breakfast was quite good, excellent coffee!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbar_designer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Location: Hotel looks out over harbour can see Chi-cheemaun loading dock from hotel. Nice view but noisy as Chi-cheemaun's loud horn echoes over the water as early as 6:49 in the morning. Hotel is walking distance to all of Tobermory's shops, & restaurants.

Hotel Room #8: most rooms including this one were about 4 feet from the parking lot which made it convenient to unload but also made it noisy and not private. The room was clean, and small. There were no drawers so unless you wanted to use the 4 hangers provided on the wall rack there was no where to unpack your clothes. The bathroom was tiny which would have been fine except you couldn't even shower properly as even turning around in it you would bump your elbows and the floor would flood with water - it reminded me of a tent trailer shower. I didn't know 1 ply toilet paper still existed but it does here. The toilet was also not flushing properly during our stay and on the last morning almost overflowed. There is no phone in the room. There is wireless internet but the further you are from the office the less likely you are to be able to connect - sometimes we could sometimes we couldn't. There is no smoking in the rooms however, this causes another problem with people smoking right outside of their rooms and the smoke coming in other people's windows.

Dining: The Grandview Restaurant serves wonderful food at dinner (very pricey but worth it). The continental breakfast included in the hotel stay was the same for the 3 mornings we were there: sticky buns, toast, raisin bagels, raisin bran cereal, Vector cereal, oranges, cantaloupe, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, orange juice, coffee and tea. Not really what I expected when the dinner was so fantastic...We also ate dinner at The Mermaid's Secret - we had Nachos & a chicken Quesadilla which were just okay. Deleroca pizza was just okay too - not much flavour in sauce - nice cracker crust.

Site seeing:

Cyprus Lake hiking trails are excellent. The Blue Grotto is very beautiful and the hike to boulder beach is a good work out. Singing Sands on Dorcas Bay is a great spot to take kids for swimming - long stretch of sandy beach with very shallow water.

Blue Heron V trip to Flowerpot Island...not really worth the $$ if you have been to New Brunswick's Hopewell Rocks you will likely be disappointed as there are only 2 flowerpots on Flowerpot Island to look at.

If you are expecting any birdlife perhaps August isn't the best time as the spots we went to were practically lifeless with the exception of sea gulls and crows.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonny & Cher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We had the last room here so it was small with no ac. It was also very noisy as the walk ways were narrow and beds near the windows. The other rooms looked nice, but at $120 we paid purely for location. The room appeared clean but as the decorative bed cover and cushions weren't washed reguarily I spentmost of the night awake with dust allergies. The bed itself was old and creaked. Breakfast was good but there was a confusing shortage of crockery and no one to ask for help. We were going to talk to the owner on departure but she was no where to be found.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Octoclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tobermory hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.8 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Forest House B&B
The Forest House B&B
#2 of 12 in Tobermory
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview

Property: Grandview
Address: Earl Street | PO Box 35, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grandview 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grandview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview Hotel Tobermory
Grandview Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing