We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but a gorgeous location!”
Review of Grandview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grandview
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Ontario. Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pricey, but a gorgeous location!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

It is located overlooking the harbour of Tobermory, and we sat outside our room and watched the boats coming & going; the heart of the harbour is short walk away. The room was very nice, well-appointed and comfortable. It was pricey at $120, with breakfast not included. A bonus is that the award-winning Grandview restaurant is adjoining; we had a gorgeous supper on the patio overlooking the harbour at sunset - it doesn't get any better!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisOntario.Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    49
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
27
62
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

i first went on tripadvisor for a recommendation for hotel/motel/inn for our Tobermory trip and since this hotel got good ratings- we booked a weekend at this accommodation

upon arrival, we were disappointed to find that our room (queen room) is a shoe box where all the amenities are old and have stains on them.

after going to the reception (if you can call it that) and wanted to change rooms cause of loud noises near ours, the owner didn't even bother to give us a look and brushed us away. the only nice staff were the cleaning ladies who were smiley and professional.

we went back home after the weekend feeling used after paying a ridiculous amount of $140 per night for that horrible place.
worst experience ever.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shorty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tobermory hotels

Port Dover, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My husband and I booked 2 nights as a romantic getaway to Tobermory. Motel is pretty much as indicated by the pictures. The location is great -- a pleasant walk into town, but far enough away from the "main drag" to be quiet. The view from our room was quite nice if you looked at an angle towards the bay.... otherwise all you get is parking lot. Anyway, very clean room, king bed with nice linens and bathroom with shower only (albeit a big one with a seat). The rooms are on the old side, but they have obviously spent some time and money updating them. Biggest complaint: the front window vertical blind was hideous, as people walked by our room all night and there were huge gaps... we ended up putting a blanket over the window to keep out the light and for privacy. Just felt it was expensive for what we got. We ate at the restaurant our 1st night. Thought is was OK, but after eating at other places in town, good by comparison.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollytodd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Sainte Marie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were quite pleased with this little jem. We arrived on the last ferry and found our key on the desk as promised. The room was spacious, well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. The view of the harbour was spectacular!

We were disappointed that the breakfast promised in their brochure was the make-it-yourself coffee maker in the office. There was no staff around to ask about the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepherdswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in an upsatirs room with 2 queen beds. It was spotlessly clean, if a little dated, but had everything that you might need (en suite, free wifi, aircon). Great views from the restaurant deck, especially of the sunsets.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagheera60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My wife and kids and I very much enjoyed our stay at the Grandview. We stayed in an upstairs 2 queen bed room. They have free wifi and it was nice and quiet. The drive to the ferry dock was only a few minutes, around the bay from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manitoulin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We planned to spend 3 days in Tobermory diving and sightseeing.
We choose the Grandview mostly because of the pictures and the Tripadvisor reviews but I must say that I was a little disappointed with the view. I mean, the only nice view you get is sitting on the restaurant deck (where you can stay during the day, they only serve dinner). The rooms (mine at least in the lower floor) have virtually no view at all, just a typical motel view: your car or others in the front window and a lousy backyard in the other.
One good thing about the room: the bed and the linens were superb. Also, it was clean, comfortable and had a nice and big flat-screen TV. They also have 24/7 coffee service in the office (make your own in a Keurig machine) and also free internet service.
The motel location is great, just a few walking minutes away from town through a boardwalk by the water and the marina.
I guess the main feature of the Grandview is its restaurant but it was too pricey for our budget.
In sum, a nice and clean motel to stay but a little overrated.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reefcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.8 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Forest House B&B
The Forest House B&B
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview

Property: Grandview
Address: Earl Street | PO Box 35, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grandview 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grandview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview Hotel Tobermory
Grandview Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing