We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reservation cancelled but not by us”
Review of Grandview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grandview
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“reservation cancelled but not by us”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had booked this hotel over a month in advance for the last week of July.
Our reservation was cancelled but not by us. This left us scrambling for a place to stay. Upon calling this motel I was informed by the manager that there were no rooms available. After reading the reviews I am not surprised by there actions I hope that people realize how poor the customer service at this location is and choose an alternative place for their stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    51
    28
    10
    6
See reviews for
29
64
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is the worst place we have ever stayed! Sink that didn't drain, water that leaked from the pipes under the sink onto the floor, huge mold stain in the cabinet under the sink, Light over the sink that flickered and then went off, the only outlet in the bathroom was over the sink (attached to the light that didn't work and you could end up standing in the water that leaked) The only plus was that the bed was comfortable

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grantlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tobermory hotels

Toronto, Ont.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The motel had a great location (about a 5 minute walk to the harbour/downtown), the rooms were very clean and the staff were very friendly. The only downside was when mosquitos got in our room while it was being cleaned, we must have killed about 15 of them each night. Thankfully we brought insect repellant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margarita118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Nice clean room, a pleasant five minute walk from "downtown" on a boardwalk along the waterfront. Nice to be away from all the traffic. Our room was on the second floor, close to a deck overlooking the harbor. Beds were good and room was very clean. Only downside was spotty wifi, maybe it's better in other rooms but my wife kept getting booted out of her bridge games, the signal was not strong enough. Great place to stay for divers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_peck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

During our two-night stay, we were very happy with the motel. The beds were exceptionally comfortable, as were the pillows. A few qualms: there were few wall-plugs in our unit (#7) and the toilet paper was sheer one-ply. Bring some with you, and you'll thank me for the time you save. Otherwise, the staff was friendly with great local recommendations. The ice-machine and Keurig coffee maker were both very handy, as they were located just a few doors down in the motel's office (almost always open).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Im not sure if we just happened to be unlucky this time, or if its a regular thing... but Im not going here again.
The outisde looks quite inviting. The rooms are ok. Not too bad. I didnt have high expectations from this motel. We arrived an hour after our check-in time... and the room wasn't ready (the lady didnt even apologize or anything).
After it was ready, the shower backed up; so did the sink.
They used a plunger and some draining liquid to get rid of it all. Room was left stinking; smelled like an open sewer.
Like I said, its possible that we just got super unlucky.
I still wouldnt go back to those showers though. There's no space to do anything, but stand.
Even the largest (King) rooms have the same cramped showers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rounak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I loved the hotel and the whole place at Tobermory its really great but the only problem i had there are no gas stations open after 7pm i had 1/4 tank i had to leave at 9 pm for an emergency to go to toronto i drove for 105km to fine a gas station in owne sound city another thing you don't have so many options for food, i saw some ppl they brought their own food with them other wise the nature is so beautiful .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ofjalazzawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.8 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#10 of 12 in Tobermory
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview

Property: Grandview
Address: Earl Street | PO Box 35, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grandview 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grandview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview Hotel Tobermory
Grandview Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing