We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Friendly”
Review of Grandview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grandview
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Muskoka, Ontariio
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, Friendly”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Arrived very late. Owner was expecting us. Walked out to the car to greet us by name! (I suspect we were the last check-ins that night).

Room was clean and bright, and not the least bit crowded with two queen-size beds. I liked that we could park the car right outside our door for a very short carry-in of luggage.

Wish we had arrived early enough to have had dinner in the dining room overlooking the bay with view of the sunset. It is well-known in town.

Unfortunately, walls are paper-thin, and if you wish to go to sleep early or sleep in, it might be difficult if you have early-risers next to you or above you. The gentleman next to us had a loud voice and I could hear every word he was saying at 7:00 am, along with the muffled voices of the couple above us. If you sneeze, you may very likely hear a "bless you" through the wall!

If you are looking for a lot of amenities for an enjoyable longer stay, you may be disappointed. There are no conveniences such as coffee machine or telephone. (Although guests are welcome to help themselves to a morning coffee in the motel office). If you just want a clean room with comfortable beds for a good night's sleep before catching the ferry to Manitoulin Island, this is a great stop-over place.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room in the single-storey part of the motel. We had early-risers above us and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    52
    28
    10
    6
See reviews for
29
65
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed overnite at Grandview. We highly recommend this establishment. The motel room was clean, spacious and comfortable....no surprises. The dining room was amazing. It is very rare in Southern Ontario to have a good restaurant on the water, facing west, with a lofty sunset view. Grandview has it, what a well named spot! The service is friendly, prompt and believe it or not, they actually want to deliver good service which is a dying art. The food is delicious. The menu is seafood oriented which one would hope for in this location, but there is something for everyone. The wine list is not extensive but suitable. We would go back there in a second! F&M Collingwood

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I cannot speak highly enough of the service we received while staying at the Grandview in early May 2013. The managers were friendly, trustworthy and exceeded our expectations. They were able to book us over the phone and set us up in their nicest room (eponymously dubbed 'the Grandview Suite') with very, very little notice. The room was impeccable with a gorgeous view, bright and airy feel and ample space. The location is superb-- quiet and scenic but close to the main hub. Steps to fantastic sunset watching! I highly recommend this establishment, especially when I reflect on other Tobermory locations I've stayed. More than anything, the exceptional treatment we received from the managers will ensure this hotel is our destination each time we visit beautiful Tobermory!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank c8lintravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manasota Key, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Grandveiw lived up to my expectations with clean bright clean rooms within walking distance to the town center. We stopped over here before going on the ferry to South Baymouth in the morning. We had two rooms as we had guests from England and they too felt that this Motel offered good value. The only downside was that there are no phones in the rooms however who doesnt have a cell phone nowdays?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveandgaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Loring, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The rooms are small. The shower is very small, the rooms are clean furniture is well kept. Parking outside your door. Wifi is very weak could not get a good signal. Staff are in restaurant so press button in office to get service. 10 minute walk to town centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilsonlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

the Grandview was a good value and price. The motel options in the area are limited, and the Grandview while plain and very much looking like a motel, was clean, and well kept. The room was basic, but had a nice TV, good bathroom, very comfy bed, and blankets, and heat and a/c in the wall, both of which were well maintained and worked good.
Staff was nice and friendly.
Location is excellent, and easy walk to anywhere in Tobermory

Room Tip: No real tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happenchance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I booked 2 rooms, one for myself and one for my friends. When we checked in my friends room had air conditioning and mine didn't. The web site states that the rooms are air conditioned. I spoke to the manager aobut this and the false advertisng and she said "I only work here". There was no offer to adjust the price or move me to another room! She offerd to give me my money back but that was of no use. I wanted to stay in the same hotel as my friends plus all the better hotels in Tobermory were sold out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tobermory hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.8 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#10 of 12 in Tobermory
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview

Property: Grandview
Address: Earl Street | PO Box 35, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grandview 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grandview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview Hotel Tobermory
Grandview Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing