We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable room with stunning view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grandview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grandview
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable room with stunning view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay there. The bed was super comfortable and the housekeeping service was great. Free coffee in the morning is always a perk. The shower in the bathroom was pretty tiny, but can't complain for the price. Overall, really enjoyed our stay and may come again when we visit Tobermory sometime in the future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J0nWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    49
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
24
60
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was one of the nicest hotel/motels we had stayed at on our vaction, given the price. Our room was clean and recently remodeled. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was awesome too. Nice view from the decks. We were not able to eat there, so I can't comment on the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and it was very nice. Staff were very helpful and pleasant and the rooms were clean. Rates were reasonable considering it was festival weekend. We took full use of the deck just outside our room as we were a large group. Location was beautiful overlooking the lake. Short 10 minute walk to town which was perfect. Really enjoyed my stay and would go back again for sure.

Room Tip: If you want to go here in the summer you need to book now. It is a seasonal lcoation and very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen68_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location was perfect. Breathtaking view of the sunset over the water from the dining area!
It's just a few minutes walk or drive to the harbour, shopping and hiking trails. The room was very clean, spacious and the staff was very friendly. They had a coffee machine, and ice in the main office that we always had access to. There was wi-fi in the rooms. The walls were a little thin but luckily we didn't have rowdy neighbours - we could just hear their television in the morning. :)
Check-in time was after 3 pm, but we arrived earlier than we thought (around 12 pm). Early check-in, was not possible but they did accommodate late check-ins, as long as we gave notice,
(9 pm or later) which was helpful.
Overall, no complaints!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeksfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskoka, Ontariio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Arrived very late. Owner was expecting us. Walked out to the car to greet us by name! (I suspect we were the last check-ins that night).

Room was clean and bright, and not the least bit crowded with two queen-size beds. I liked that we could park the car right outside our door for a very short carry-in of luggage.

Wish we had arrived early enough to have had dinner in the dining room overlooking the bay with view of the sunset. It is well-known in town.

Unfortunately, walls are paper-thin, and if you wish to go to sleep early or sleep in, it might be difficult if you have early-risers next to you or above you. The gentleman next to us had a loud voice and I could hear every word he was saying at 7:00 am, along with the muffled voices of the couple above us. If you sneeze, you may very likely hear a "bless you" through the wall!

If you are looking for a lot of amenities for an enjoyable longer stay, you may be disappointed. There are no conveniences such as coffee machine or telephone. (Although guests are welcome to help themselves to a morning coffee in the motel office). If you just want a clean room with comfortable beds for a good night's sleep before catching the ferry to Manitoulin Island, this is a great stop-over place.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room in the single-storey part of the motel. We had early-risers above us and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed overnite at Grandview. We highly recommend this establishment. The motel room was clean, spacious and comfortable....no surprises. The dining room was amazing. It is very rare in Southern Ontario to have a good restaurant on the water, facing west, with a lofty sunset view. Grandview has it, what a well named spot! The service is friendly, prompt and believe it or not, they actually want to deliver good service which is a dying art. The food is delicious. The menu is seafood oriented which one would hope for in this location, but there is something for everyone. The wine list is not extensive but suitable. We would go back there in a second! F&M Collingwood

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I cannot speak highly enough of the service we received while staying at the Grandview in early May 2013. The managers were friendly, trustworthy and exceeded our expectations. They were able to book us over the phone and set us up in their nicest room (eponymously dubbed 'the Grandview Suite') with very, very little notice. The room was impeccable with a gorgeous view, bright and airy feel and ample space. The location is superb-- quiet and scenic but close to the main hub. Steps to fantastic sunset watching! I highly recommend this establishment, especially when I reflect on other Tobermory locations I've stayed. More than anything, the exceptional treatment we received from the managers will ensure this hotel is our destination each time we visit beautiful Tobermory!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank c8lintravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.8 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
16.8 mi away
Dreamland II Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview

Property: Grandview
Address: Earl Street | PO Box 35, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grandview 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grandview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview Hotel Tobermory
Grandview Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing